We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn West
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn Park, MN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Very nice hotel. Our room was clean and well appointed with a nice large bathroom. Location was good for what we were in town for. We did not have any contact with the staff except for arrival and checkout and didn't participate in the Saturday evening happy hour, so I can't comment on that expect the front desk employee was friendly. Good complimentary breakfast with lots of options. We used the pool and hot tub; clean and well maintained. I would recommend Comfort Inn West and will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SueH420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    112
    14
    11
    7
See reviews for
99
93
9
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Easily accessible from I-35W. Friendly front desk staff. Helpful housekeeping staff. Great variety of breakfast items. Clean, comfortable rooms. The pillows are fantastic! Internet access quick. Indoor pool & hot tub clean and enjoyable. Few MINOR negatives - tub drains on the slow side so you're standing in water while taking a shower and the eggs & sausage were kind of cold (but microwave just an arms length away took care of that problem). With two teenage boys, the extra room space and two T.V.s was perfect. Since we'll be making more & more trips this way to visit our son in college...we'll definitely return here to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in a double queen suite...gave us the extra room we needed to with teenage boys PLUS the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
126 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I use this property 4 to 6 times per year. It is older, but very well maintained and they seem to be constantly updating the various areas of the hotel. Rooms always clean, breakfast always good, and the staff is friendly. An excellent choice with reasonable rates during the week. Weekend rates are high, but that is true of all the Duluth area hotels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Grove, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Me and my husband stayed in Duluth for our anniversary. The Comfort Inn West is clean, friendly staff, and a great complimentary continental breakfast. I would highly recommond this hotel to my freinds and family

Room Tip: Bring your own pillow. They only had little square pillows and I woke up with a neck ache
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I can highly recommend the hotel. We stayed there on New Year's Eve on our way home to Winnipeg. GPS found the destination without any problems. Plenty of free parking. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The King's room excellent with all the conveniences. The free breakfast includes a variety of options, both continental and hot buffet. There is nice swimming pool, which we did not use. On our road from Nova Scotia to Manitoba this was by far the best over night stay. We definitely will use the hotel again, when travelling that route. Unfortunately they do not have a restaurant, but we had the best ever pizza delivered from VIP Pizza restaurant.

Room Tip: We were offered a quiet room so we would not be bothered by possible noise from New years eve celebr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zemgale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

After spending last year at the edge water hotel for my hockey tournament, I wanted to try something different this year, since I was disappointed at the edge. Upon arrival I was given a complimentary upgrade to a king suite, which was extremely nice. It included an in room jacuzzi, which came in very handy after my tourney. It also had a very large and comfortable bed. The complimentary morning breakfast was fantastic, more than expected. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I also liked the location since its just off 35 as you come into Duluth. I will be returning here next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jikster14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nort Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I have stayed in Duluth many times, but this was my first stay at Comfort Inn West. It is right off I35, (maybe three blocks away). Yet I never heard a sound of the highway. The property is extremely clean and well maintained. The staff is delightfully friendly and helpful. My room was warm, quiet and comfortable.

I really couldn't recommend it more!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jburchil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
3.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
3.1 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 320 reviews
5.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
3.2 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#5 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn West

Property: Comfort Inn West
Address: 3900 W. Superior St., Duluth, MN 55807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Duluth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#12 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn West 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eleven consecutive Gold Hospitality Awards make Comfort Inn - West your perfect choice for lodging. All 81 guest rooms are newly renovated and offer 42" LED TVs, a refrigerator and microwave, coffeemakers, makeup mirrors, hair dryers, irons and free Wi-Fi. Start the day at the free hot breakfast buffet, where you'll find a build your own waffle bar, scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, hard boiled eggs, yogurts, hot & cold cereals with a toppings bar, fresh baked goods, fresh fruit, toast and juice. Monday-Saturdays, you'll want to hit the hotel happy hour, with a fully stocked cash bar and complimentary apps during the business week. You'll also find free seasonal treats (like lemonade, lemon infused water, hot apple cider and fresh-baked cookies) awaiting you at check-in. There's also a large indoor heated pool, hot tub & sauna and free WIFI. All common areas and the lobby have been renovated in 2016! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn West Hotel Duluth
Comfort Inn Duluth
Duluth Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing