We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Hidden gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Comfort Inn West
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

After spending last year at the edge water hotel for my hockey tournament, I wanted to try something different this year, since I was disappointed at the edge. Upon arrival I was given a complimentary upgrade to a king suite, which was extremely nice. It included an in room jacuzzi, which came in very handy after my tourney. It also had a very large and comfortable bed. The complimentary morning breakfast was fantastic, more than expected. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I also liked the location since its just off 35 as you come into Duluth. I will be returning here next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jikster14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    121
    17
    11
    8
See reviews for
125
106
10
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nort Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

I have stayed in Duluth many times, but this was my first stay at Comfort Inn West. It is right off I35, (maybe three blocks away). Yet I never heard a sound of the highway. The property is extremely clean and well maintained. The staff is delightfully friendly and helpful. My room was warm, quiet and comfortable.

I really couldn't recommend it more!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jburchil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed here for our daughter's hockey tournament. The staff was very unreasonable. They were yelling at the kids to get in their rooms and be quiet before 10pm. The pool was still open and they were all getting yelled at. They had a security guard walking the hallways yelling at kids before it was quiet time. We did not enjoy our stay here at all. The kids did not have fun and we all felt like we were walking on egg shells. We were told that our entire team would be kicked out if they didn't quiet down. Nobody was making any noise - the girls were in two rooms watching movies. Keep in mind, this was all before 10:00 p.m. on a Friday night. DO NOT STAY HERE if you are in Duluth for any kind of tournament.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Wonderful hotel with all the amenities you need for a pleasurable stay. Very friendly staff that went out of their way to make my stay enjoyable. Would highly recommend this hotel. If you stay here, you'll walk away as impressed as I was. If I were to give them a grade, I'd give them an "A". If they would have had a Fitness Room, it would have gotten an "A+" (although they offered use of a Anytime Fitness within 5 minutes from the hotel).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PackersFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Front desk staff very friendly pleasant & helpful.Great place to stay and with a short drive you are anywhere-Bentley ville,Canal Park,DECC,downtown Duluth ,Miller hill Mall etc. A clean comfortable atmosphere with some great amenities.One of my favorite places to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tug177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Arrived to hot apple cider and cookies at check in. Very helpful, friendly front desk staff. Comfy king size room. Large pool area. Happy Hour from 4-6 with adult beverages and hot soup. Will definitely stay here again. Reasonable rates, hot breakfast. Can't beat that!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJJ1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slough
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Nice clean hotel, great location, big size rooms , fast free internet, quick efficent check in & out,
complementry breakfast , nice powerfull shower. really had nothing to complain about. wold stay again.recently refurbuished rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank psb79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
3.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
3.1 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 32 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
5.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
4.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn West

Property: Comfort Inn West
Address: 3900 W. Superior St., Duluth, MN 55807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Duluth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#12 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn West 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eleven consecutive Gold Hospitality Awards make Comfort Inn - West your perfect choice for lodging. All 81 guest rooms are newly renovated and offer 42" LED TVs, a refrigerator and microwave, coffeemakers, makeup mirrors, hair dryers, irons and free Wi-Fi. Start the day at the free hot breakfast buffet, where you'll find a build your own waffle bar, scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, hard boiled eggs, yogurts, hot & cold cereals with a toppings bar, fresh baked goods, fresh fruit, toast and juice. Monday-Saturdays, you'll want to hit the hotel happy hour, with a fully stocked cash bar and complimentary apps during the business week. You'll also find free seasonal treats (like lemonade, lemon infused water, hot apple cider and fresh-baked cookies) awaiting you at check-in. There's also a large indoor heated pool, hot tub & sauna and free WIFI. All common areas and the lobby have been renovated in 2016! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Comfort Inn West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn West Hotel Duluth
Comfort Inn Duluth
Duluth Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing