We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Comfort Inn West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn West
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Very clean, great price, lots of amenities and location was ok as this city is extremely easy to navigate. Continental breakfast was awesome. Staff was very pleasant and the pool and hot tub were great. We had a wonderful time and would stay at this hotel again the next time we visit Duluth, MN

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 447 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

Clean hotel well kept. Outside looks older inside is updated. Perkins across the street. About three miles from the pier. Staff is friendly. Nice clean pool area with sauna and hot tub. No work out rooms on site.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nascardad101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Great value! The staff was very pleasant. The room was beautiful, clean and large. Bed was very comfy. We had a room with a whirlpool which was very nice, clean and worked well. The breakfast was good. The microwave in the breakfast area should be replaced. The only other negative is the location because it's not on the waterfront, it's in an industrial area. Would definitely recommend this hotel unless you heart's desire is a lakeview room.

About a week after we were there, we got a thank-you note with a certificate good for a complimentary stay good for several months! That was a lovely surprise! Will certainly go back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrannyJules218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

A notch above the typical Comfort Inn. It is a new facility and well run. We stayed for two nights and found it very convenient to the harbor attractions, although its freeway and industrial location has some noise. Staff was helpful and efficient. Good breakfast. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank victoria s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Ended up there on a busy weekend in Duluth. Was hesitant by it's location but ended up being perfect for our family. Clean hotel with helpful staff and perfect breakfast for the little ones without having to leave. Would stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wils5604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed here one night while traveling to the North Country. It was a delight to stay here since the staff was very cordial and helpful, and the room very clean and just the right size. It appeared to be well updated and was very comfortable.The breakfast room was a bit crowded in the morning but the staff kept it neat and well-supplied. Overall it was a delight and we wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hatfloater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I have been staying here 3 or 4 times a year for both business and pleasure for the past 10 years. The rooms are always clean, the beds are comfortable, and the breakfast is good. Plus, they are constantly updating and improving the property so it does not get out-of-date. It is a bit farther to the tourist features in Duluth, but you will save big bucks compared to the hotels in Canal park. Yes, some of them are nicer - but not enough to warrant the higher prices. Some folks complain about truck noise, but this is not a problem unless you are a very light sleeper. This property is a little out of the way, but worth the effort.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
3.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
3.1 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 31 in Duluth
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
4.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn West

Address: 3900 W Superior St, Duluth, MN 55807-2834
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#7 Family Hotel in Duluth
#11 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range: $100 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn West 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13 consecutive Gold Hospitality Awards make Comfort Inn - West your perfect choice for lodging. All 81 guest rooms are newly renovated and offer 42" LED TVs, a refrigerator and microwave, coffeemakers, makeup mirrors, hair dryers, irons and free Wi-Fi. Start the day at the free hot breakfast buffet, where you'll find a build your own waffle bar, scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, hard boiled eggs, yogurts, hot & cold cereals with a toppings bar, fresh baked goods, fresh fruit, toast and juice. Monday-Saturdays, you'll want to hit the hotel happy hour, with a fully stocked cash bar and complimentary apps during the business week. You'll also find free seasonal treats (like lemonade, lemon infused water, hot apple cider and fresh-baked cookies) awaiting you at check-in. There's also a large indoor heated pool, hot tub & sauna and free WIFI. All common areas and the lobby have been renovated in 2016! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Inn West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn West Hotel Duluth
Comfort Inn Duluth
Duluth Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing