We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in Duluth” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn West to your Saves list
Comfort Inn West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3900 W. Superior St., Duluth, MN 55807   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
123 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great place in Duluth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I have been staying here 3 or 4 times a year for both business and pleasure for the past 10 years. The rooms are always clean, the beds are comfortable, and the breakfast is good. Plus, they are constantly updating and improving the property so it does not get out-of-date. It is a bit farther to the tourist features in Duluth, but you will save big bucks compared to the hotels in Canal park. Yes, some of them are nicer - but not enough to warrant the higher prices. Some folks complain about truck noise, but this is not a problem unless you are a very light sleeper. This property is a little out of the way, but worth the effort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights. It's close to downtown and is clean, comfortable and safe. But I have to say that the service was the best. When faced with a complicated check-in, the front desk clerk was efficient, courteous and helpful. After we checked out at 515am and got about 20 miles down the road, I realized I left my iPad behind. I immediately called and the staff had my pricey gewgaw out that afternoon and forwarded the tracking and insurance coverage info to me. The iPad arrived safe and sound today. Should I find myself in duluth again, I will definitely stay at this hotel. Just right.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank owcprleah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinelander, WI
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This motel features a clean, quiet, comfortable environment despite its proximity to the airport and franchise row west of Duluth. It is surprisingly accessible to the north shore despite being inland and on the southern portion of the city.

From the introductory enticements (chocolate chip cookies) to the easy checkout, this is a fine place to stay. We would come back here rather than downtown.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Northpith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Wing
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I have stayed at the Comfort Inn West in Duluth on nearly every trip to the area for the past six years or so. I chose to stay there again this year, especially since the hotel offered (on the internet) two free tickets from a choice of several attractions in the area (approximately $30 value). Our room was clean, very comfortable beds, flat screen TV, nice sized bathroom. I liked that there was a magnified mirror attached to the wall next to the hair dryer...much easier for me to see to apply makeup. The continental breakfast was also very good, although on our second morning there was a large group of people eating and it seemed that the woman tending the food/coffee was having difficulty in keeping things filled. The pool and hot tub area was also very nice...we enjoyed a soak in the the hot tub after a busy sightseeing day. We were given tickets for free drinks and nachos, but we were out and about during the time they were served. The staff at the desk were very nice and helpful in getting directions for me.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We were disappointed we were given a room that smelled of smoke. That's why my rating for room is poor. Even though this hotel was converted to a smoke free hotel it was obvious this room still had the lingering scent. Fortunately the girl at the front desk acknowledged this and gave us a better smelling room. It would have been better for us to avoid moving all our stuff out of the first floor room if the first girl at the desk would have given us a room she knew had never had smoke especially when I mentioned at checkin that I wanted a no smoking room. Barring all this the hotel was nice, they had great pullled pork sandwiches in the lobby for a quick supper especially when you are tired and hungry (which was a nice surprise). And the breakfast was good with lots of places to sit.

Room Tip: Ask to be sure sure your room never was a smoking room originally
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rocky1895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed here one night with my children and I have to say it was a complete surprise. The last Comfort Inn I stayed at was a complete flop, but this one was great! The kids enjoyed the pool while my mother and I enjoyed the "traveling bar" for a glass of wine. The rooms were very clean, quiet and the beds comfortable. We had an extra large room on the second floor (freeway side) The only complaint I have is the pillows. I needed 3 of them to sleep comfortably. I have noticed the Comfort Inns seem to have some teeny tiny pillows. I think they are due for an upgrade.

The continental breakfast the next morning was equally as great! Waffles (cinnamon and regular), eggs, sausage, assorted roles, coffee, cereal, juice, etc. It was EXCELLENT! It was close to closing time and there were a couple of things that were low, so we asked the lady if they could be replaced and she was all too happy to oblige. She was extremely friendly, as were all the staff we came in contact with.

I would definitely recommend this hotel. Good job Comfort Inn West.. 4 stars! Missing 1 star for the pillows.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor and had no problems with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dibella32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
3.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
5.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
3.1 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#10 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 554 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
3.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn West

Address: 3900 W. Superior St., Duluth, MN 55807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Duluth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#12 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn West 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn West is located off I-35 at 40th Avenue West Exit, minutes from downtown Duluth, Canal Park and Spirit Mountain. Business travelers will appreciate free wireless high-speed Internet access in all rooms. Guests will enjoy, indoor pool, hot tub/sauna and deluxe continental breakfast featuring scrambled eggs and bacon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Comfort Inn West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn West Hotel Duluth
Comfort Inn Duluth
Duluth Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing