We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Comfort Inn West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn West
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Road Warrior
Level Contributor
138 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel many times and I really have never had a bad experience. I have stayed in both the Comfort Inn and the Comfort Suites in Duluth and while the Comfort Suites is an overall nicer hotel and in a better area I honestly don't feel it's worth the extra $$$'s over the Comfort Inn.

This Comfort Inn is a very solid hotel and they are usually a Choice Hotels award winner because they go above and beyond what the typical Choice Hotels do. The rooms while not huge are big enough, clean and comfortable.

Occasionally the hotel can be a little like staying at a Chucky Cheese as there are often a lot of kids staying there for sporting tournaments running through the halls and yelling but as long as it's done at a reasonable hour I don't necessarily mind that much. If you have a problem with noise you can call down to the front desk as the folks there don't mind telling the kids to pipe down....lol.

The hotel is located right off the Interetate and it's a short drive to downtown and canal park, the area around the hotel isn't anything to write home about, no scenic views or interesting places to walk to or anything but that's also the reason it's cheaper then a canal park hotel too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlCzervik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda K, General Manager at Comfort Inn West, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thank you for your kind review, Al! It’s great to hear that you enjoy your stays with us and I appreciate your continued business. You’re right – we are an award winning property for 8 years running due in no small part to our hard working staff! Again, thank you for your feedback and I hope you stay with us again on your next trip to Duluth.

Amanda Kasie
General Manager
Comfort Inn – West in Duluth, MN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    123
    17
    12
    8
See reviews for
129
107
10
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hancock, Michigan
Level Contributor
114 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

Front desk clerk was helpful. Good breakfast. Right off the highway and easy to find. Not impressed with the area directly around the motel but the motel is nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lockpak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern MI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

This was a very nice hotel. clean, helpful staff, great breakfast (waffles and scrambled eggs and bacon the day we were there). The hot tub was great, pool and area was spacious.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mom2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
196 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

Stayed at the Comfort Inn Duluth for 3 nights while in town for business. My company booked the stay. After arriving I remembered staying at this hotel several years ago, but thought it may have been a Hampton Inn at that time. The hotel is easy to find off the interstate. The lobby is very large with a seating area where they have breakfast until 10am. I was assigned to room 136; it had a king bed with microwave and fridge. The room was clean and comfortable. (I would have preferred firmer pillows; I'm not a fan of the lumpy marshmallow pillows that the comfort inns seems to have.) All the staff members I encountered were very friendly. Only negative is the only restaurant in the area is a Perkins across the street. This hotel is about 12 minutes from the Miller Hill Mall area. Nice pool if you have kids.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNSandSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

This hotel was awesome. My family and I stayed here, arriving late at night, and we were very pleased. The desk clerk was nice, the rooms were clean, the beds were so comfortable and big!!! We left early in the morning so we didnt get to enjoy the pool. The continental breakfast was really good. I had waffles! Delicious! I would definitely go back! The price was good and if you have an OFAH membership you get a discount! Stay here is you get a chance it was cozy!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlewes_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

I stayed at this property for a get away weekend with some friends. Typically when I am in the area I stay at the Comfort Suites in Canal Park, but they did not have any rooms available. Honestly I can't say what a nice surprise this Comfort Inn was. The hotel itself is quite nice with the recent renovations, and better yet, ever member of the staff we encountered were extremely friendly and happy to help. The only downfall is their location not being in Canal park, but a couple extra miles is worth it. This hotel just became my choice location when I am in Duluth. My recommendation:

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LLaSavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

Just decided to get away Christmas night and stay at a place close to home, so we could take our granddaughter swimming. What a surprise. This place was great. Clean, comfortable, great pool area and great breakfast. The whole experience here was great. We will definitely stay here again. Have to say the price for a Sunday night was a little high, but well worth it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pgrandys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
3.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
3.1 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
5.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
3.4 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
4.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn West

Property: Comfort Inn West
Address: 3900 W Superior St, Duluth, MN 55807-2834
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Duluth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#12 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn West 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13 consecutive Gold Hospitality Awards make Comfort Inn - West your perfect choice for lodging. All 81 guest rooms are newly renovated and offer 42" LED TVs, a refrigerator and microwave, coffeemakers, makeup mirrors, hair dryers, irons and free Wi-Fi. Start the day at the free hot breakfast buffet, where you'll find a build your own waffle bar, scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, hard boiled eggs, yogurts, hot & cold cereals with a toppings bar, fresh baked goods, fresh fruit, toast and juice. Monday-Saturdays, you'll want to hit the hotel happy hour, with a fully stocked cash bar and complimentary apps during the business week. You'll also find free seasonal treats (like lemonade, lemon infused water, hot apple cider and fresh-baked cookies) awaiting you at check-in. There's also a large indoor heated pool, hot tub & sauna and free WIFI. All common areas and the lobby have been renovated in 2016! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn West Hotel Duluth
Comfort Inn Duluth
Duluth Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing