We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tried it Again- Still Bad Service.”
Review of Midi Restaurant & Wine Bar - CLOSED

Midi Restaurant & Wine Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Experience the fusion of classic ingredients and colorful flavors from the Mediterranean. You'll find this heavenly mix at Midi Restaurant located inside the Fitger's Complex in Duluth, Minnesota. Whether it's a family breakfast, a working lunch, or romantic dinner, we offer the perfect blend of ambiance, service and exceptional cuisine with the best view of Lake Superior.The Cella Vinaria (Wine Bar) is a great place to relax with friends over wine and tapas.We look forward to seeing you!
macie017
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tried it Again- Still Bad Service.”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a place for dessert that overlooked the water and stopped into to Midi around 9pm on a weeknight. We had poor service the last time we were there, but this time I was 32 weeks pregnant and was tired of walking. We asked for a table near the window (the restaurant had 1 other occupied table) and the server said "Normally no, but I guess so." We ordered dessert and my husband ordered a couple of drinks- service was still slow despite being one of two tables in the restaurant. The server was very abrupt and unprofessional. Avoid this one!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank macie017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    48
    19
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
River Forest, Illoinois
Level 6 Contributor
375 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Good (if unimaginative) food - poor service”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Midi, in Fitger's Inn, is a restaurant with good, standard American hotel-type cuisine; nothing out of the ordinary, but all at a decent level. The service, however, experienced over two meals, was slow beyond the level of acceptability. For breakfast, we sat down at our table at 8:00AM. The food arrived (this is not hyperbole, but the real number) at 8:45! Dinner was a similar experience - a long wait for our order to be taken, and then another long wait for the food's arrival. The restaurant is not good enough to warrant putting up with the investment of time it seems to require.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Henry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa, United States
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food and to the south, a view of Lake Superior”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We ate on the patio. For 9/10, the weather was perfect: Sunny with a few clouds and a light breeze. The lunch special was garden vegetable soup [from the garden a few feet from our table] and sliced roast beef on toasted artisanal bread. They also serve fresh beer from their brewery. My wife had the Salmon and wild rice cakes and the Midi salad. Everything about our lunch was good.
We both recommend that you stop there if you are in Duluth.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good option at Fitgers”
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Great view of Lake Superior, nice dinner with very reasonable prices. Wine list was better than expected. Service was a little slow but didn't mind as view was great. Nice and convenient place to eat dinner when staying at Fitgers.

Helpful?
Thank MNpeppercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Location great food good service rotten.”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The positives? Midi has a spectacular view of Lake Superior and pretty good food. However, I went with my family-7 women, ranging from 12 to 86, and they essentially ignored us. We waited 15 minutes to order drinks-waiting,waiting-and then watched as other tables who arrived after us ordered, got their food, and left-all before we were served. We got the "we have some big parties" excuse-well, they didn't. We heard "the chicken takes time". Um. No. Finally the owner came out and offered free desserts-and then went to fifty percent off the bill. Honestly, I will not go here again-i discussed this with several people and they knew exactly what I was talking about.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gardengoddess54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Midi Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing