We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Italian Restaurant in Duluth”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Va Bene Caffe

Va Bene Caffe
Ranked #4 of 254 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family owned and operated, fresh Italian. Not your nonna's trattoria. Pastas, salads,pizzas, staek,fish, fresh baked desserts and gelato. Full bar, fantastic wine list and specialty cocktails. Perched over looking Lake Superior with the best view of the lift bridge and harbor.
Duluth
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Italian Restaurant in Duluth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

The food and desserts always excellent. The pasta bar selection is my favorite menu item. My family from out of town always requests a night out to Va Bene when they are in town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ARR20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    137
    43
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

We eat at Van Bene every trip. Great, intimate Italian restaurant right on the lake. Everything is homemade and authentic.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A nice spot for Italian in Duluth”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

I'm Italian and enjoy cooking it but like eating out as well. However I'm always a bit nervous that it might not be authentic when trying to find a nice Italian restaurant. This cozy spot was a pleasant surprise.

Started out with the roasted red pepper spread on grilled bread. Yummy! They brought Italian bread with oil and a touch of vinegar too. This bread was different but just as yummy! I ordered the winter capresa salad which meant it came with roasted tomatoes, fresh mozzarella and homemade basil pesto (instead of fresh basil served in the summer). It was amazing and we all loved the pesto! Other folks had the misto salad (very good) and the caeser salad (good too).

Fir the main course I tried the pasta with Italian sausage and tomato sauce. The sausage was a little on the spicy side (I'm a big sweet sausage fan) but really good flavor. I couldn't finish it. Others had the gnocchi with Gorgonzola cheese (filling), salmon which was excellent, fettuccine carbonara (good too), and the kids had the pizza which huge and they could shared it (10 & 8). The kids meals came with gelato which is homemade and delicious. We were too full for dessert. I thought their prices were quite reasonable as well. And the best part of the meal was the bottles of wine were half price the night we visited!

It's a small place and we had to wait about 15 minutes for our table but there is a delightful shop two doors down that sells hand painted ceramics from Sorrento, Italy and we were lucky enough it was opened and Giuseppe was so much fun to visit with.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skimom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Can't beat the ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

The cafe is perched right by the lake, not far from Fitzgers and the Malt Shoppe. Make a reservation for a table in the back room for great views of the lake. The restaurant is pleasantly small/cozy, with very friendly staff, a nice menu and good food. I enjoyed the visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EllenLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This was an amazing Italian restaurant found along the shores of Lake Superior. The service was excellent, and the food was even better!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Niffy3am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Va Bene Caffe also viewed

 

Been to Va Bene Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing