We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“first rate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Va Bene Caffe

Va Bene Caffe
Ranked #4 of 245 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family owned and operated, fresh Italian. Not your nonna's trattoria. Pastas, salads,pizzas, staek,fish, fresh baked desserts and gelato. Full bar, fantastic wine list and specialty cocktails. Perched over looking Lake Superior with the best view of the lift bridge and harbor.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“first rate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Both the food and the service are excellent. The atmosphere is bright and cheerful, and the wine list extensive.


Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank debald1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    126
    38
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Incredible salads”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We went for a walk on the Lake Walk and were tempted by the signs for soup and bread, so we went back for lunch. We ended up with salads, and they were incredible. The Pesto Verdura was amazing! Warm pesto mixed with kalamata olives, tomatoes, asparagus, and artichoke over fresh spinach. My husband was equally impressed with his Nicoise salad. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MN_traveler_JC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, MN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“European bistro in Duluth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My wife and I have lived in Duluth for almost 20 years, and have seen several restaurants come and go in that time. The Berarducci's Va Bene is our favorite place. The restaurant literally hangs out over the lakewalk, and the views in the evening are spectacular - especially when there is a full moon rising over Lake Superior. There is a small bar in the main room with a mostly young crowd. The decor has a modern European feel. There is a Gelato case with a huge assortment of flavors, and European foodstuffs like pasta and candy are for sale.
The food is always great. Most dishes are pasta based and include very fresh seafood as well as more traditional fare (meatballs, Italian sausage etc.). The salads are excellent (Nicoise with salmon, beef tenderloin tips on romaine are my favorites). Mary Kay Berarducci makes the best cakes in the world. Don't miss the Italian cream cake.
I just wish the place wasn't quite so popular, and that they had some parking available, but that's the price of success.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kelvonius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
191 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good Italian and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

A little eclectic but the food and service was good. Sat in the sun room overlooking Lake Superior which was nice. Both of us had pasta dishes. I liked the meatball dish best spouse liked my sun dried tomato dish best. Would eat here again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Meet Us Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We stop in at VaBene to enjoy a fine meal with good wine at the perfect pace. Bonus if we can get seated in the enclosed deck overlooking Lake Superior. Make a reservation if you don't want to be disappointed. It's not a big place and can be busy. My only small complaint is the noise level in the main dining area. There are no soft textures so sound bounces everywhere - it gets hard to hear conversations without nearly shouting and that only makes the problem worse. Even so, it's such a great place to spend an hour or so, it's worth it.
The salads are fresh, creative and perfectly dressed (meaning, not swamped in dressing as is so common in NE MN). We usually split a salad but here we can each choose from a short list of half portions and get different plates.
I could comment on the many dishes each of us has enjoyed but it's enough to say that every one of them has been nothing short of excellent. The menu descriptions are accurate and the servers are well trained to answer questions.
The wine list is just long enough to offer a fine choice for any price range and taste. Again, the servers are trained to know enough to offer suggestions to anyone who is undecided. Bonus - one night per week there is a 1/2 off the price of a bottle option.
We rarely order dessert but the times we have, they have been perfect and in a portion size large enough to share.
I must mention the gelato. This is a great place to stop during a bicycle ride around town or walk along the Lakewalk to "refuel" with a treat. Many flavor choices and as fresh as you could wish for if you were cycling around an Italian village.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ReCycle958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Va Bene Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing