We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Italian and service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Va Bene Caffe

Va Bene Caffe
Ranked #4 of 252 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family owned and operated, fresh Italian. Not your nonna's trattoria. Pastas, salads,pizzas, staek,fish, fresh baked desserts and gelato. Full bar, fantastic wine list and specialty cocktails. Perched over looking Lake Superior with the best view of the lift bridge and harbor.
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
209 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good Italian and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

A little eclectic but the food and service was good. Sat in the sun room overlooking Lake Superior which was nice. Both of us had pasta dishes. I liked the meatball dish best spouse liked my sun dried tomato dish best. Would eat here again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    135
    42
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Meet Us Here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We stop in at VaBene to enjoy a fine meal with good wine at the perfect pace. Bonus if we can get seated in the enclosed deck overlooking Lake Superior. Make a reservation if you don't want to be disappointed. It's not a big place and can be busy. My only small complaint is the noise level in the main dining area. There are no soft textures so sound bounces everywhere - it gets hard to hear conversations without nearly shouting and that only makes the problem worse. Even so, it's such a great place to spend an hour or so, it's worth it.
The salads are fresh, creative and perfectly dressed (meaning, not swamped in dressing as is so common in NE MN). We usually split a salad but here we can each choose from a short list of half portions and get different plates.
I could comment on the many dishes each of us has enjoyed but it's enough to say that every one of them has been nothing short of excellent. The menu descriptions are accurate and the servers are well trained to answer questions.
The wine list is just long enough to offer a fine choice for any price range and taste. Again, the servers are trained to know enough to offer suggestions to anyone who is undecided. Bonus - one night per week there is a 1/2 off the price of a bottle option.
We rarely order dessert but the times we have, they have been perfect and in a portion size large enough to share.
I must mention the gelato. This is a great place to stop during a bicycle ride around town or walk along the Lakewalk to "refuel" with a treat. Many flavor choices and as fresh as you could wish for if you were cycling around an Italian village.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ReCycle958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Va Bene Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Loved it!!! We loved it!!! The Alaskan Salmon was DEE-licious! The gelato was fantastic. God, we can't wait to get back to this place. The cuisine was an exceptional experience and spectacular ambience and service. FYI: My husband loved the Italian style bathroom ingenious design.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Croomism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food and view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We went to Va Bene for our anniversary - the food was excellent and the desert was amazing. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MN-BlueLoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stopped in at VA Bene while we were staying in Duluth over Labor Day. We sat outside on their small deck that overlooked the Lake. It was beautiful! The beet salads and pasta we had were excellent. Service was attentive and good. For such a "nice" place I was surprised they wanted us to keep our salad forks for the main course. They have a very nice greenhouse type area that over looks the lake also. The main restaurant inside seemed sterile. Would certainly go back again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Va Bene Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing