We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic paninis”
Review of Va Bene Caffe

Va Bene Caffe
Ranked #4 of 260 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Family owned and operated, fresh Italian. Not your nonna's trattoria. Pastas, salads,pizzas, staek,fish, fresh baked desserts and gelato. Full bar, fantastic wine list and specialty cocktails. Perched over looking Lake Superior with the best view of the lift bridge and harbor.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic paninis”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

It was hot in the enclosed deck, so we asked staff to open the outdoor deck and moved there. Quickly others joined us for the beautiful view very close to Lake Superior. We each ordered a different panini and loved them. There are several, but we confidently recommend the caprese e pollo and bistecca! The staff was very accommodating.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Anniversary_minded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    147
    45
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pipestone, Minnesota, United States
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Will certainly eat at Va Bene again”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

After a day of looking at fall foliage, sitting on the beach, etc., we wanted a good meal in a nice atmosphere. We did not feel as if we were dressed properly for Va Bene but were warmly welcomed. Lucky for us, a table was available on the outdoor deck. Oh, my----- the moon, ariel lift bridge and a ship's lights reflected in Lake Superior!!! Beautiful! Our waitress was wonderful and our food delicious. Was a great meal experience. We will return----- but maybe dressed a little more properly :-)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Janelle503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, North Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Cute, good view, good food”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I had lunch here. We shared a caprese salad that was delightful and then each got a pasta dish. Our food was great. We sat out by a window that overlooked the lake and it was beautiful. Nothing over the top about this place but we would go back.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brillo6510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Terrible meal”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We ate here one evening during a day trip to Duluth while staying at the North Shore. We were seated in the balcony area, which overlooks the lake. We both ordered a pasta dish. The chicken in the one dish was rubbery and my husband could not eat it. I ordered a penne pasta dish and was expecting a red sauce, but it was very dry and had 2 small pieces of sun dried tomato in it. It looks like the pasta is pre-made and stored in the cooler at the front of the restaurant, and then heated up when someone orders. This was the worst meal of our vacation and we would not go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ckp025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerton, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Enjoyed!”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Large group showed up on a Wednesday night without warning! They handled us very well and we had great service. It was a little slow but with lots of wine and appetizers we did not mind the wait. Food was terrific and not the normal spagetti and lasagna type italian place. Dessert was perfect ending.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysAMomFirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Va Bene Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing