We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn West(Duluth)(Great Value!)
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Point Marina Inn(Duluth)(Great Value!)
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Canal Park(Duluth)(Great Value!)
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark(Duluth)
$118
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn on Lake Superior(Duluth)(Great Value!)
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
$125
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park(Duluth)(Great Value!)
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
$118
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Pier Inn on the Canal(Duluth)(Great Value!)
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canal Park Lodge(Duluth)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveler rating
194
4
4
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
194
4
4
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuperior suitebarnum suiteenclosed porchhomemade cookieswonderful homejacuzzi tubbeautiful roomspent two nightsnorth shorejoyjimbrooksidehostscomfortlake
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 206 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We absolutely love the Firelight Inn. This was our 4th stay; each time we have been there we have stayed in a different room. This time we stayed in the Barnum Suite. It was WONDERFUL; we truly enjoyed the morning sun in our cozy suite with the patio were we could also enjoy the calm of the Oregon Creek. The Fireplace and Jacuzzi made the room so tranquil. Joy and Jim are such gracious hosts. They are so willing to accommodate any needs or special requests. Massages with Lynn we so relaxing. Your stay here will not be disappointing, the scrumptious breakfasts and all the special amenities make this B&B so inviting. Thank you, Joy and Jim, you continue to be blessed by the gift of giving your guests the best of everything! Looking forward to our next stay!!!! :-) Bruce & Deborah

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNdeborahW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I spent one fun and relaxing night at the Firelight Inn while going to view the hawk migration in Duluth. The ambiance at the Inn was friendly, the accommodations delightful, and the surroundings sublime. The weather over the weekend was perfect which made our stay of one night feel like a refreshing week away. Next time we plan to invite a group of friends so we can enjoy more of the commons areas including the wrap around porch and luxurious living/dining areas. Can't wait!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank astrotravel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

If you like rules and order this one has an ample supply
with instructions for everything. I decided to post when
I heard no response from Jimmie the Innkeeper regarding
my feedback from the stay 2 days ago. #1 rule is no shoes in the
home so be prepared to walk in stocking feet while your hostess
shows you around wearing a comfy pair of tennis shoes.Luke warm
reception tainted our stay and ability to relax combine this with carb
loaded breakfast and you have an average B&B

Room Tip: Do consider all options before booking here
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert43118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J&JFischer, Owner at The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

We are bit perplexed to read Robert's review as he hasn't had any contact with us since their stay but the glowing review left in the guest journal in the Brookside Suite. We inform all our guests about our shoe policy in an email and most guests are happy to remove their shoes as they do so at their own home. The host and hostess do wear indoor shoes while they work.

We are happy to accommodate special diets when guests inform us. But we were glad Robert and his wife enjoyed and ate all the breakfast we served them.

We were also pleased you felt at home enough to take flowers out of our living room bouquet to your suite for the evening!

We ask every guest when saying goodbye how their stay at The Firelight Inn was and this is an opportunity to give us feedback. Robert left to get in the car without saying goodbye and left his wife to sign their credit card receipt for their anniversary stay. She commented what a wonderful stay they had on their 15th wedding anniversary.

Come and experience for yourself why TripAdvisor has awarded The Firelight Inn with a Certificate of Excellence for the Year 2012!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Barnum Suite at the Firelight Inn. It was beautiful and luxurious! We had a scrumptious breakfast on our own little patio in the cool morning breeze. If you are looking for the number one B and B in Duluth, this is it! Thank you, Joy and Jim, for a wonderful, relaxing stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinnesotaMomMpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We've stayed in several B&B's in southern Minnesota and that was our first in Duluth. A wonderful 1910 mansion that has been beautifully maintained and updated while keeping it's original grandeour. We loved the Barnum suite, private jetted tub/shower, dressing room and access to the private deck overlooking the Oregon Creek as it trickled down the hillside to Lake Superior. The main living areas of the home are open to guests and very inviting and cozy. There is a four season wrap around porch with a great view of the neighborhood and yard where you can cuddle up with a good book, visit or play games while still being close to the outdoors. We visited in July but I can only imagine how cozy it must be on chilly fall/winter days with the fireplaces going. Jim and Joy are the hosts and eager to share the history of their home. They also provide coffee and freshly baked cookies all day as well as a fabulous gourmet breakfast delivered to your room every morning. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Barnum and Brookside rooms share access to private outdoor patio where we enjoyed our breakfast and evening snack. There is a two room suite on the third floor with a great view, but no outdoor access from the room. Rooms are spacious, clean and comfortably decorated.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn_Dixi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews