We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice stay but needs updating.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Downtown Duluth Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Downtown Duluth Motel
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
hancock, michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice stay but needs updating.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for one night while on business. We choose it because it is a pet friendly hotel. The room was very clean and the bed comfortable. It is quite dated though and could use some updating. We were given a room with outside direct access. We like this because it's easy for our dogs and we like not having to walk a long distance just to get outside. The area to walk our dogs was behind the hotel and not that convenient as the grassy areas were hills. I made my husband go with me when they needed to go out because I didn't feel exactly safe. This is a downtown hotel and not in the best area, unfortunately. Overall though, our stay was fine and we had no problems. The staff were very nice and the continental breakfast was sufficient. Would we stay again? Probably not. If they had a pet friendly hotel down in Canal Park that would be my first choice. Canal Park Brewery allows you to bring your pets when you sit outside on their patio.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank suomilainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear suomilainen,

Thanks for staying with us and posting your candid comments. We love it when people bring their four legged furry family members with them, and we get a change to know them too. I appreciate your comments about the dog walking area, and wish we had something better to offer. I hope you will consider staying with us again on a future visit to Duluth.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    94
    78
    36
    29
See reviews for
66
106
30
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed at this Best Western hotel anf it was very clean, the beds were great and it was in a great location. Resonable rate and even had a nice breakfest. Would stay there again. The lady at the desk was very nice and helpfull. She gave us advice on where to eat and gave us information on things to see. Would have stayed longer but didn't have enought time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Patricia N,

Thanks so much for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us. We endeavor to give all our guests the best in service and accommodations and we appreciate your business and your compliments. I hope you will let us serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brookfield mo, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

bathtub rust stained, safety lock on door broke if no rooms availabe in the entire town, better off sleeping in car. staff will lie to you, not very helpful. it will be a very cold day in hell, when I stay in another best western. the staff really didnt give a damn. i booked a smoking room, many months prior, confirmed a few days prior, then upon checkin, said no smoking was state law not true, because i stayed in another motel, which was previously booked as smoking, and asked the desk clerk about the law, never heard of it. up yours best western!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ronald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Ronald B,

I am truly sorry we did not provide you with an excellent stay and offer my apologies. Please don't let this one bad experience reflect poorly on the Best Western family of hotels, which are all independently owned and operated. We would like the opportunity to discuss this personally with you and hope you will contact me via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com at your convenience. We value your business and your feedback and hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Duluth hotels

Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is not a very nice Best Western hotel. There is obviously a big difference in room quality at this hotel. My colleague and I have first floor rooms with outside entrance doors. These rooms are poor at best - no amenities and small. There are second floor rooms with internal entrance doors that must be better based on other's comments. Room 121 has a very small stand-in shower, not a tub shower. Breakfast area is super small. This hotel is very old and is in need of a makeover. Will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a second floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BetaGuardPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear BetaGuardPM,

Thanks for staying with us and posting your review. I'm sorry you were disappointed in us and offer my apologies that we did not meet your expectations. We value your business and appreciate your feedback. We are an older property and some of our rooms are small, with showers only. Our downtown location is the most important thing to most of our guests, and we endeavor to provide a clean and comfortable stay for everyone. If you would like to discuss this further, please feel free to contact me via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com. I hope you will give us an opportunity to serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernie British Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

First time stay at the downtown Best Western location in Duluth. Would definitely stay again. Continental breakie and -price of accommodation very good. Did not expect French toast and sausages at breakfast so this was a bonus.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Grandma037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams, Iowa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The parking was unhandy (steeply sloped), traffic difficult on a busy one-way street, and the room was so small that one of the beds was up against the heating/cooling unit. It was impossible to reach the window/ curtains due to the bed in the way. Definitely not the place for elderly or anyone with any sort of mobility issues. Won't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear KathPM,

I am very sorry you were unhappy with us during your recent stay and offer my sincere apologies for any discomfort you experienced here. I agree, we are not a great choice for folks who have mobility issues, understand your frustration. We appreciate your business and value your input, as it helps us improve in areas that need attention. We would like the chance to make amends and hope you will contact us via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com so we can continue this discussion personally. I hope you were able to enjoy other aspects of your visit to Duluth.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waseca, Minnesota
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We just spent 2 nights at this motel and we were pleasantly pleased. Rooms were updated and clean, and it was very quiet. We enjoyed the downtown location as it was with in walking distance to most shops, bars etc. There were some homeless people as reviews had stated but they were harmless. There was enough parking the first night but the second night we had to park in the back lot. It was well lit and I felt comfortable leaving my vehicle there. The motel was one of the nicer ones I have stayed in. The flowers out front were very pretty and the staff was nice for the most part. Watch out for the brown haired lady that works the front desk, she was very rude and had the personality of a stick when we checked in. It was a busy labor day weekend and pride in Duluth so I could see how you could be over whelmed. We had issues with our TV and the night staff came right over and was very helpful. I mentioned the checkin and she apologized and said that wasnt the first complaint she had recieved that day and that the lady was the assistant GM. She was way more helpful in offering suggestions in the downtown area and canal park. You are about 3/4 of a mile from Canal park but can take the walk way through the Holiday Inn. We explored the crap out of Duluth so we were rarely in our rooms. I would stay here again. The breakfast looked decent but we did not have it.

Room Tip: Room 246 is where we stayed. By stair way was noiser in am but otherwise a great location and would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snoopy2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
2.2 mi away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
0.4 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
#17 of 34 in Duluth
4.0 of 5 stars 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Downtown Duluth Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downtown Duluth Motel

Property: The Downtown Duluth Motel
Address: 131 W 2nd St, Duluth, MN 55802-2193 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Downtown Duluth Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A convenient location is what draws many travelers to our Duluth hotel, but it's the hospitality and top quality that brings return guests to us. Duluth hotels are already known for great hospitality, but we go the extra mile to make you feel right at home. Our North Shore hotel has everything you need for a spectacular getaway, like luxury bedding, spacious rooms that are comfortable and cool, and a free daily breakfast. Canal Park and the Lakewalk along the shores of Lake Superior are minutes from our hotel located in downtown Duluth, making it easy for guests to enjoy the beauty of the region. At our Lake Superior hotel, the best of the city is right around the corner. Enjoy downtown shopping or head to Miller Hill Mall for a wide selection of favorite shops. The Blues Festival is a local favorite, but the Grandma's Marathon has runners of all ages coming to town. The Reggae Festival and NorthShore Inline Marathon(R) are also popular events near our Duluth hotel. Whether you're here for Bike MS(R)150 or to visit Bentleyville, a great location can make all the difference. We're also close to hospitals like Essentia Health, St. Luke's, St. Mary's and Miller Dwan, which is convenient for medical patients and healthcare workers in town for business. We cater to a wide range of business travelers at our Duluth hotel. Events at Duluth Entertainment Convention Center (DECC) and AMSOIL Arena draw in tradeshow attendees and presenters from around the country. Local schools, colleges and universities also bring those looking for an extended stay to the property. St. Scholastica, the University of Minnesota Duluth, Lake Superior College, Duluth Business University and the University of Wisconsin Superior are all close to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Downtown Duluth Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Downtown Hotel Duluth
Duluth Best Western
Best Western Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing