We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Budget Friendly and in a great downtown location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Downtown Duluth Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Downtown Duluth Motel
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Waseca, Minnesota
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Budget Friendly and in a great downtown location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We just spent 2 nights at this motel and we were pleasantly pleased. Rooms were updated and clean, and it was very quiet. We enjoyed the downtown location as it was with in walking distance to most shops, bars etc. There were some homeless people as reviews had stated but they were harmless. There was enough parking the first night but the second night we had to park in the back lot. It was well lit and I felt comfortable leaving my vehicle there. The motel was one of the nicer ones I have stayed in. The flowers out front were very pretty and the staff was nice for the most part. Watch out for the brown haired lady that works the front desk, she was very rude and had the personality of a stick when we checked in. It was a busy labor day weekend and pride in Duluth so I could see how you could be over whelmed. We had issues with our TV and the night staff came right over and was very helpful. I mentioned the checkin and she apologized and said that wasnt the first complaint she had recieved that day and that the lady was the assistant GM. She was way more helpful in offering suggestions in the downtown area and canal park. You are about 3/4 of a mile from Canal park but can take the walk way through the Holiday Inn. We explored the crap out of Duluth so we were rarely in our rooms. I would stay here again. The breakfast looked decent but we did not have it.

Room Tip: Room 246 is where we stayed. By stair way was noiser in am but otherwise a great location and would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snoopy2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    96
    78
    36
    29
See reviews for
67
107
30
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend went on a weekend trip to Duluth and stayed at the Downtown Bestwestern. We had a wonderful stay, the room was extremely clean and well maintained. The beds were very comfortable. The main lobby was great and the people working the front desk were very helpful! There was enough parking provided for all guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deephaven, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This has been our 4th trip/stay in Duluth at this hotel & each time the experience has been the same; clean rooms, friendly & helpful staff & a great value for our money. Location allows us to leave our vehicle parked & walk to most of the sights that we want to visit. This hotel is easily in walking distance to many fine eating establishments & bars. The rooms have always been clean & everything in the rooms have worked, ex.: TV, showers, lights, a/c, etc...! The breakfast is simple, but good. It's a nice way to start your day. Plus it's fun to interact with some of the other guest in the cozy setting. As long as there are rooms available here when I visit Duluth, I'll be staying again at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Robert J,

Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your many stays, and look forward to welcoming you back and serving you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, Ny
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

clean, quiet and comfortable -good value for convenient location with a quick start breakfast and internet access. Good beds, clean rooms overall good atmosphere. Give it a try!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Dean O,

Thanks for staying with us and posting your nice comments and 5 star rating. I'm glad you found us to be a good value and that we met your lodging needs. I hope we can serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cantwell, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Not the best hotel in Duluth, but it ranks way up there for value and helpful friendly staff. Parking is really tight. Breakfast is marginal, but the rooms are tidy, clean and comfortable. Stayed at the Holiday Inn the following week b/c that was where my travel agent booked me. Cost 40% more, did not have breakfast, and the rooms frankly were not 40% more comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Tom P,

Thanks for staying with us during your recent visit to Duluth. I'm glad our service and accommodations met your needs and expectations. We appreciate you recognition of jobs well done by our team and hope we can serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Although the hotel could use an update, we found it to be clean and comfortable. We would stay here again. The staff was very helpful. The only real problems were the shower head installed extremely high, and the ice machine was right outside our door and was very loud.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Connie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Judiegirl,

Thanks for choosing our hotel and posting your remarks. I'm sorry about the shower head location and noisy ice machine and offer my apologies for the discomfort and disturbance they caused you. We want all our guests to be happy they decided to stay with us and really appreciate your kind words about our team. We look forward to welcoming you back and serving you again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Awesome place, near downtown and canal park. Great place to crash but yet great area for walking distance to everything! Came down to see the Tallships and it was great being able to walk to the event and back with only being 6 blocks away from the event! Also countless bars are nearby which makes it convenient to get to!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear James S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to make your very first TA review about your recent stay with us. We're happy that you enjoyed your time in Duluth and that we fulfilled your lodging needs. I hope we can serve you here again soon.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
0.4 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
#17 of 34 in Duluth
4.0 of 5 stars 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Downtown Duluth Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downtown Duluth Motel

Property: The Downtown Duluth Motel
Address: 131 W 2nd St, Duluth, MN 55802-2193 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Downtown Duluth Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A convenient location is what draws many travelers to our Duluth hotel, but it's the hospitality and top quality that brings return guests to us. Duluth hotels are already known for great hospitality, but we go the extra mile to make you feel right at home. Our North Shore hotel has everything you need for a spectacular getaway, like luxury bedding, spacious rooms that are comfortable and cool, and a free daily breakfast. Canal Park and the Lakewalk along the shores of Lake Superior are minutes from our hotel located in downtown Duluth, making it easy for guests to enjoy the beauty of the region. At our Lake Superior hotel, the best of the city is right around the corner. Enjoy downtown shopping or head to Miller Hill Mall for a wide selection of favorite shops. The Blues Festival is a local favorite, but the Grandma's Marathon has runners of all ages coming to town. The Reggae Festival and NorthShore Inline Marathon(R) are also popular events near our Duluth hotel. Whether you're here for Bike MS(R)150 or to visit Bentleyville, a great location can make all the difference. We're also close to hospitals like Essentia Health, St. Luke's, St. Mary's and Miller Dwan, which is convenient for medical patients and healthcare workers in town for business. We cater to a wide range of business travelers at our Duluth hotel. Events at Duluth Entertainment Convention Center (DECC) and AMSOIL Arena draw in tradeshow attendees and presenters from around the country. Local schools, colleges and universities also bring those looking for an extended stay to the property. St. Scholastica, the University of Minnesota Duluth, Lake Superior College, Duluth Business University and the University of Wisconsin Superior are all close to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Downtown Duluth Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Downtown Hotel Duluth
Duluth Best Western
Best Western Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing