We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Downtown Duluth Inn
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice property, friendly staff”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at this property from Sunday, June 30 through Friday, July 5. The staff was friendly and helpful and the room was clean and newly rennovated. The flowers were beautiful, someone has a green thumb. Breakfast was good and I loved the popcorn and free coffee all day. Nice selection of channels on television and the free wi-fi a great plus. The only complaints are minor. As motorcyclists, the parking in the main lot was very hilly and during our stay, we saw many motorcyclists trying to park their bikes safely which was not easy. Reserving the first two flattest parts of the lot for bikes would be a good solution for this. We were able to park their the whole time, but the other bikers could not and they were very concerned. If you can't do that, at least provide metal plates for the kick stands - it protects your pavement too! Note that parking in the back lot is not an option because bikers like to be able to "see" their bikes.
Housekeeping could have been a bit more attentive when servicing our room. We had to ask for additional shampoo and conditioner and they never refilled our cups. On the last day they serviced the room, they shorted us on towels and bath mats. In summary, the housekeeping errors were small and easily overlooked and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tourismlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear tourismlady,

Thanks very much for staying with us and posting your comments. I really appreciate your observations and suggestions about motorcycle parking, and sincerely apologize for the poor job our housekeeping team did for you. I will use your review in discussions and training with them so this does not continue or recur. I hope you will let us know how we are doing the next time you stay with us.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Best Western Downtown Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    111
    89
    45
    39
See reviews for
89
128
33
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Clinton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is not a Park Avenue Hotel yet gets 5 stars because of the value. We've stayed in other motels in this area but this was the best for the money.

We had our family reunion in Dover and I had to find 3 rooms for a Saturday night. I checked a couple of places but they were booked. Got to Best Western and got 3 King Rooms. I was a little concerned after reading some of the recent reviews yet check in was friendly and quick and all three rooms were very clean and quiet.

I asked about the tree trimming trucks and work trucks parked in the lot and the clerk explained that there were a lot of oil & pipeline workers staying in the area and most motels were filled during the week and some on weekends. The tree trimmers were staying at BW during the week but went home on the weekends. Couple this with the tourists to the Amish country and this is one booming area.

Breakfast was the typical Best Western fare, waffles, biscuits & gravy, cereal, fruit and hard boiled eggs. All was good and we were on our way, well rested and ready for a few hours of driving.
Room Tip: Book Early or you may not get a room because this area is very busy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank pwberndt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Readers -

This review is not about our hotel, but for some reason TA has not yet put it where it belongs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This hotel was nothing special...that said, it was exactly what we paid for. For under 100 dollars a night we got a large, comfortable clean bed and a small but very tidy room with the basic amenities you would expect, toiletries, flat screen cable tv, coffee maker, etc. the staff was very friendly and helpful and recommended several good bars and restaurants in the area. It is conveniently located downtown and is within walking distance of many points of interest. The parking lot is a bit difficult to navigate due to the incline and small size, but overall a positive experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and posting your nice review. We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate your business. I hope we can serve you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

When we got to this hotel we thought it's not bad for short stay in this nice town specially with cheap price and free breakfast. However the room was noisy and old. We can't sleep until 4am because that radio make some strange sound, when we finally feel sleepy the bath tube make huge noise. It's not really a hotel for travelers. I would like to say you should pay more bucks to check in to Holiday Inn next to this hotel. Not recommend.

Room Tip: Guess what, you need to walk 30 second to Holiday inn next to this hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luyao Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
I'm very sorry you were so unhappy with your room on your recent visit, and appreciate your candid comments. We value all guest feedback and use it to improve our operation. I hope you will give us another chance to gain your trust the next time you are in Duluth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Duluth hotels

Oysterville, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This property served our needs for a overnight place to stay. The biggest downside is hot water. The clerk advised to due to their water system, one has to run the it for several minutes before the hot water kicks in which seems to be wasteful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ByTheCisG8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Bythecisgr8,

Thanks for your stay and comments. We are working on improving our hot water system so that we will not waste any of this precious resource. I hope you will be happy with the improvements the next time you are our guest.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Best Western Downtown Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Marais, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This property is older, the rooms smaller, less in-room amenties but the convenience of being downtown, near canal park businesses and yet a fast drive up hill to the mall make it a good choice for the money. My double queen room very cramped, very glad I was traveling solo as more persons in the room would have been tricky to move around. Bed comfortable with a good mattress. The comp breakfast was surprisingly ample, even with hot entrees. If driving a larger vehicle ask about the parking in the rear of the building, the main parking near the office of the motel is tricky to use as it is on a slant and small space between rows. I had a good price utilizing a coupon book from local tourist infor center.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMA6642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thanks for staying with us and posting your comments. We are proud to provide excellent service and accommodations at a reasonable price and pleased to know you found us to be a good value. I hope you will let us serve you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipp City, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This slightly older motel had very clean and nice rooms.The desk people were very nice and capable.There is no elevator and the place is built on a hill with plenty of stairs so get a ground floor room if stairs are a problem. There are some places to eat within a few blocks. The nieghborhood seems OK. The breakfast was OK with boiled eggs, hot sausage, and the usual juice,drinks, cereal, rolls. Some rooms have a fair view of the lake.I will stay there again. If you are in Deluth be cretain to visit the excellent railroad meuseum which is about six blocks away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bdogolddave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you taking the time to write and submit your comments regarding your stay at the Best Western Downtown Duluth. We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate your business. I'm glad you were happy with the accommodations and service we provided and hope you will let us server you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
2.1 mi away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#7 of 33 in Duluth
393 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Downtown Duluth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downtown Duluth Inn

Property: The Downtown Duluth Inn
Address: 131 W 2nd St, Duluth, MN 55802-2193 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Downtown Duluth Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A convenient location is what draws many travelers to our Duluth hotel, but it's the hospitality and top quality that brings return guests to us. Duluth hotels are already known for great hospitality, but we go the extra mile to make you feel right at home. Our North Shore hotel has everything you need for a spectacular getaway, like luxury bedding, spacious rooms that are comfortable and cool, and a free daily breakfast. Canal Park and the Lakewalk along the shores of Lake Superior are minutes from our hotel located in downtown Duluth, making it easy for guests to enjoy the beauty of the region. At our Lake Superior hotel, the best of the city is right around the corner. Enjoy downtown shopping or head to Miller Hill Mall for a wide selection of favorite shops. The Blues Festival is a local favorite, but the Grandma's Marathon has runners of all ages coming to town. The Reggae Festival and NorthShore Inline Marathon(R) are also popular events near our Duluth hotel. Whether you're here for Bike MS(R)150 or to visit Bentleyville, a great location can make all the difference. We're also close to hospitals like Essentia Health, St. Luke's, St. Mary's and Miller Dwan, which is convenient for medical patients and healthcare workers in town for business. We cater to a wide range of business travelers at our Duluth hotel. Events at Duluth Entertainment Convention Center (DECC) and AMSOIL Arena draw in tradeshow attendees and presenters from around the country. Local schools, colleges and universities also bring those looking for an extended stay to the property. St. Scholastica, the University of Minnesota Duluth, Lake Superior College, Duluth Business University and the University of Wisconsin Superior are all close to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Downtown Duluth Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Downtown Hotel Duluth
Duluth Best Western
Best Western Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing