We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cooperative staff makes for a good stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Grand Marais, Minnesota
Level Contributor
119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cooperative staff makes for a good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

I live 110 miles from this property and stay here about 8 times a year when in Duluth for medical or business reasons. I never use the waterpark feature of the property. Over the years I have found the staff to be responsive to requests for rooms away from noise, or located in parts of the building that are easier to access. The property does honor coupons and special pricing. The room always very well cleaned and in good condition, plenty of towels, comfy bed linens and beds. The complimentary breakfast varies depending on the day of the week or time of the year, can be skimpy in choices during the week in off season. There are cost cutting decisions evident - less complimentary newspapers, happy hour beverage 'deal' no longer favors single traveler just wanting one beverage multiple purchase needed. The parking can be difficult when the occupancy is high. I do return repeatedly because it a good location for getting around town and... when placed in a Lake Superior view room it is a treat (even though there is some traffic noise).

Room Tip: Noise greater when near waterpark facilities. Some of the outside access rooms can be cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PMA6642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear PMA6642,

Thank you for your sharing your insights about our hotel from your many visits. We really appreciate guests like you who have seen the many changes we've undergone, and we value your input. I hope you will continue to let us know how we are doing during your future stays.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    200
    123
    95
    68
See reviews for
511
46
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

The watermark was great for the kids. The lifeguard staff were very professional and I felt they did a good job making sure kids were safe. The room however was not up to par. Rooms were old, there was a gap between the door and floor which went directly outside. The carpet was very old and needs to be replaced

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trevor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

There are so many options to stay entertained here. Mini golfing, bouncy houses, outdoor pool, swing set, indoor waterpark, concession stand, arcade, breakfast provided with various options and located close to it all. This is my 'go to' place to stay in or around the north shore with my family. We have been here many times throughout the year and all great experiences.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank palmtree181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Our family visited this hotel Aug 10-11. It was a nice clean neat hotel. It has a nice breakfast in the morning. Some fresh fruit and some canned. Mostly carbohydrate food such as cereal, toast, muffins, donuts, bagels. There was some juice, milk, and coffee as well. The room was neat and clean. We paid a little extra to stay in the hotel part connected to the water park. We had an awesome view of Lake Superior and the lift bridge. The water park was nice. We thought the water temp was just fine. It was a little humid in there, but that quickly dissipated once you got in the water. The water park was pretty much what we expected. With two toddlers we didn't want anything to extravagant. We didn't go outside and try the pool, but it looked nice and a lot of people were in there so I'm assuming it is just as good as inside. We were able to play mini golf with our boys for free. It was very nice and we could play as long as we wanted. Overall we had a good experience. The hotel wasn't amazing, but I thought we what we expected and very good overall. We would go back again.

Room Tip: Recommend getting in the main building as there is a less walk to get to the water park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MLNJP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel/resort for business.The room was clean. There was a faint smell of chlorine but it didn't really bother me-it is a waterpark after all. It All the staff I came across with were friendly and helpful. I was a little concern about potential noise seeing all the little kiddies running around but I didn't hear them. They offer free breakfast but they were mostly sweets.I liked that the internet connection was fast. I only regret I didn't get a chance to explore all they had to offer.

Room Tip: Rooms with lake view are great but there is tendency to hear traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GsbPinay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

At first I was cautious about our stay here based on some reviews i had read, especially about the cleanliness of the room and since we were staying over a holiday weekend I knew it would be hard to find Anout hotel that could accomodate us and our 3 kids.

When we walked into the room and I was happy to see how clean it was, looks like some upgrades had taken place. I have stayed at other waterpark hotels before and was pleased with how big it was, enough for everyone to do.

Had a lake view and that was very nice too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thistravelinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel has the best water park! My family and I had a super time on our vacation! The staff is also wonderful. They are helpful and very friendly. A bigger family checked in next door and I thought we would have heard them all night but we didn't hear a peep. We all slept great. I will let all my family know of the amazing experience I had staying here.

Room Tip: Higher floors have an amazing view of Lake Superior although you can get a great view on lower floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilmotfamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
2.6 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#11 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
#19 of 33 in Duluth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
5.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark

Property: Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark
Address: 2400 London Rd, Duluth, MN 55812-2221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the shores of Lake Superior in Duluth, MN, the Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark is your complete Duluth hotels vacation resort destination. Enjoy our indoor waterpark, arcade, outside play area, pool and hot tub, and easy access to Duluth's Lakewalk and restaurants. Relax in a comfortable and clean room with all the amenities and views of Lake Superior. Whatever you're looking for, you'll find it here at the funnest hotel in Duluth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Resort And Waterpark
Edgewater Resort & Waterpark Hotel Duluth
Edgewater Hotel Waterpark
Duluth Edgewater
Edgewater Hotel Duluth
Best Western Edgewater Duluth Mn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing