We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice stay and big waterpark” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice stay and big waterpark”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are nice and the hotel is huge.They have alot of rooms.The waterpark is pretty big and is great to go for a couple days.The arcade is nice with all kinds of fun games and nice prizes.I didn't like the mini golf that much.They had a nice little outdoor pool with a hottub.The breakfeast area is huge but they could of added a few more things.Pretty good hotel

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fiurwyikjjbcxssd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Fiurwyikjjbcxssd,

Thanks for staying with us and posting your review. I'm glad you had a nice stay and appreciate your comments. I hope you will be our guest again soon.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    195
    119
    92
    67
See reviews for
493
42
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mannheim, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here with my 2 year old. Many activities indoors and out, as well as around Duluth.
We booked a suite so the children's bunk beds were in a separate part of the room from the adult beds. The lifeguards in the waterpark were very attentive. My daughter enjoyed the activity pool but the portion of the park geared toward younger children was intimidating for her as there were lots of spray areas and a large bucket that would dump water on the playground every couple minutes, I feel the waterpark is better suited for children who are a little older.

Our room was directly located outside the arcade and pool and therefore very loud. In addition, the cleaning staff tended to be allowing doors to slam until late in the afternoon as they went in and out of rooms.

Breakfast was good with a small area for children to play. I found it disturbing that all plates, glasses, and cutlery were disposable. I find that this area tends to be progressive in green living and I was surprised to find that a hotel of this size is choosing to create so much waste with their breakfast service.

Overall, I would choose to stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms that overlook the waterpark or are in the arcade hallway will be loud between 8am and 10pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jfenner01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Jfenner01,

Thanks for taking the time to write and post your candid comments. I apologize for the noise and disturbance created by our housekeeping team and offer my apologies. I will use your review in discussions and training to improve our operation and make them more aware of the impact of their actions. I appreciate your concerns, which we share, about the disposable plates in our breakfast area, and are looking at a variety of more eco friendly solutions. I hope you will be pleased with the changes we make on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindstrom, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We booked a suite for a Monday and Tuesday evening earlier this month. My 2 daughters, myself and my mom planned a short get away to Duluth. Although the accomodations were nice and the waterpark was fun, I was disappointed in the customer service. We arrived at 3 pm which is check in time and were told our room was not ready yet. We waited 90 minutes for our room. It seems to me if you know you are having a big room turnover after a weekend that you should accommodate this by having more housekeepers on for the day. Nothing was offered to us for this delay in our stay. We also ordered a pizza down in the waterpark. When I went to pick it up I was told that they had given our pizza to someone else and needed to make us another one. So we had to wait for another pizza to be made. Even though these aren't huge deals and we would probably stay there again, it was very disappointing when you are spending that much money on a room.

My other suggestion is to improve the breakfast buffet. It was carb and sweet laden. Instead of fresh fruit, it was nasty canned fruit poured into big bowls. They need to look at some of their competitors who offer wonderful breakfasts with your stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Kristin P,

I am very sorry you were disappointed with us during your recent stay and hope you will accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience and discomfort you experienced. We would like to do what we can to make amends and hope you will contact us via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com to discuss this further. I hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had a patio room which was very clean. The staff was friendly and helpfull. The breakfast was great. There was food that everybody ate. My kids are 15 yrs and 10 months and they both enjoyed the stay. We plan on coming back. The kids loved the water park and enjoyed walking by lake superior.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Shannon P,

Thanks for staying with us and posting your great comments. It is always nice to receive positive feedback from happy guests, and we really appreciate your recognition of jobs well done by our team. I hope we can serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I read some of the reviews for this place and can't understand why there are some bad reviews.
I had my daughter and her family with. We stayed in the Tiki Tower 2 bedroom 2 bath. I couldn't have asked for a better set up. We were on the same floor as the pool entrance, so it was just a short walk. Since this is a family oriented location you should expect some noise but it quiets down after 10:30PM. The complimentary breakfast is geared to kids and offers a very wide selection. The lifeguards in the pool area are very attentive and are constantly watching and or helping. We found the place to be surprising clean considering the amount of traffic that goes through this place. The grandkids just loved everything about the Edgewater, and so did the adults, and they want to know when we can go back.

Room Tip: I would recommend the Tiki Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1DaKa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear 1DaKa,

Thank you for your visit and review of our hotel. It is guests like you who make our jobs of providing the highest standards of cleanliness, service and facilities very rewarding. I'm glad we exceeded your expectations and look forward to serving you again on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I tried to book a Tiki Hut Kid Suite online however none seemed available so I called the hotel. The employee I talked to not only found the room we wanted but was also able to give us the military discount which I hoped for but wasn't expecting since my husband is a veteran.

Our room was on the first floor at end of the hallway and our windows faced the outside pool. I was pleasantly surprised that I could barely hear any noise from outside our room whether it came from outside, the hallway or the room next door. The only downside to our room was that there was no table w/ four chairs (as shown in the pictures on the website) and the air conditioner was in the kids alcove which didn't cool down the rest of the room very well.

Overall we had a lot of fun at Edgewater! There was a lot to do and my kids never had a chance to get bored. I loved roasting marshmallows at sunset! I didn't see any graham crackers or chocolate but you can always bring your own. The only time the hotel felt crowded was at breakfast. The staff was always helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Tiki Hut Kid Suite has a lot of room however the kid's alcove is small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WallaBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear WallaBear,

First of all, thank you and your husband for your service to our country, we are very grateful. I'm sorry we didn't have the complete s'mores making menu available and offer my apologies. I will look into this and make whatever changes are necessary so this doesn't happen again. I'm glad you were generally happy with your stay and hope you will be our guest again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I have stayed at the Edge the past 5 years for my granddaughters birthday. I reserved our room a month in advanced. No one notified me the weekend we were to arrive that the outdoor pool, the lazy river, and the water slides were all closed for construction. Her favorite food is the macaroni and cheese pizza but was removed from the menu for a shrimp pizza (I highly doubt the kids love that). Also the breakfast used to be wonderful and they did away with that as well. The year before I was placed in a room near the outdoor speakers where I repeatedly called the front desk at 11 at night asking if it could be turned down as we could not sleep. That same year I was charged for 5 days instead of 3 and had to call multiple times to get a refund that I waited a week for. THE YEAR BEFORE THAT I reserved the tiki suite only to be told someone was already in it. I did not receive a refund nor was I placed in a room similar. I will never stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Repeatedly-rippedoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Repeatedly Rippedoff,

I am very sorry we have disappointed you in so many areas, on so many visits, and offer my sincerest apologies. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid input we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. We would like the opportunity to retain your trust and hope you will contact me via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com to discuss this further privately. I hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Duluth hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
2.6 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 374 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#17 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
5.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark

Property: Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark
Address: 2400 London Rd, Duluth, MN 55812-2221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the shores of Lake Superior in Duluth, MN, the Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark is your complete Duluth hotels vacation resort destination. Enjoy our indoor waterpark, arcade, outside play area, pool and hot tub, and easy access to Duluth's Lakewalk and restaurants. Relax in a comfortable and clean room with all the amenities and views of Lake Superior. Whatever you're looking for, you'll find it here at the funnest hotel in Duluth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Resort And Waterpark
Edgewater Resort & Waterpark Hotel Duluth
Edgewater Hotel Waterpark
Duluth Edgewater
Edgewater Hotel Duluth
Best Western Edgewater Duluth Mn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing