We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy...but fun for kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Noisy...but fun for kids”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We chose the Edgewater this year for our Girls Weekend along the North Shore, mostly because of having a 2-year old along and thinking he would enjoy the pool. Our two bedroom suite was adequate for us, but very noisy, particularly in the room alongside the hallway. I understand why young hockey teams need a place to stay while they have a tournament going on, but the hotel should come up with a system to separate rooms filled with kids from other guests. On our first night, there was also a yapping dog just down the corridor, but to the hotel's credit, that problem seemed to be solved after a call to the front desk - we probably weren't the only ones to complain. Breakfast was okay, and since Duluth has a lot to do, we had a pleasant weekend, but next year we shall definitely choose a place with more privacy and a lot less noise.

Room Tip: Choose a room FAR away from large groups of kids traveling together!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teacherperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thanks for choosing our hotel for your weekend getaway and sharing your comments. I am truly sorry to learn of your disappointment with us during your recent stay and apologize for any discomfort and disturbance you experienced here. Our goal is to provide all guests with excellent service and accommodations and we take it very seriously when find that we have fallen short. I will use your review in discussions and training to improve our operation and hope you will consider giving us another chance to earn your trust in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    225
    154
    113
    81
See reviews for
601
49
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed over night for the waterpark. When we got here we checked in. They wanted to give us an upgrade to the basement rooms. We said we would check it out. We didn't like it, so they promptly gave us our normal room, which was the exact room 2 floors up. I thought this was a little shady. The room was mostly clean, but had a poop smear on the wall by the toilet. The water park was fun for the kids. It is a little small but was great area for young kids. We had pizza afterwards which was above average, then crashed. The pillows suck, but the beds are ok. The breakfast in the morning was free. It had a normal low budget free breakfast. The coffee sucked. However, there is a Dunn Brothers across the street. All in all, I would come back. I would let them upgrade you to the basement rooms if you stayed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gasman51442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write and submit a review of our hotel. I am sorry you were disappointed in the accommodations and service you received and offer my sincere apologies. the upgraded basement room you were offered has direct walk out access to the grassy area and picnic tables in front of the room, which some people find appealing. It is our goal to provide our guests with the utmost in service, comfort, cleanliness, value and facilities, and when for some reason we fail, we are very concerned. I will use your review in discussions and training to improve our operation. If you would like to discuss this further and give us an opportunity to make amends, please contact me via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com. I hope you will consider giving us a chance to regain your respect on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Marais, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed here to celebrate a birthday. We paid a suite price for a very old, basic room. There weren't many other options on this busy night, but our kids wanted to stay here for the water park. the water park was great, no complaints. food was so so. Would stay here again for the park, but not at the crazy rate we had to pay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKA1550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We really appreciate your feedback and are very sorry you were disappointed with the condition of your guest room. I'm glad your family enjoyed the waterpark, and hope we can provide you with a better value the next time you are here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishpeming, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My wife and I met her parents in Duluth for the day, and spent the night at the Edgewater. My 6 year old brother in law was thrilled with the waterpark, and had a blast. However, my wife and I being older, weren't as impressed. For a hotel, its not bad at all though. We both really enjoyed the outdoor pool and hottub, especially in cooler weather. The minigolf course wasn't as good as we were hoping, as there were only 8 holes, it was poorly maintained, and there was no hole signs, or score cards. But heck, it was free, so we couldn't complain too much.
Our room was fantastic! We opted for the lakeside room, with the fireplace and jacuzzi. The bed was comfortable, the room temp was warm, the view was great, the jacuzzi felt wonderful, and the bathroom was newly renovated. The shower was beyond anything i've seen in any other hotel. It was a tile, walk in shower, with a massaging shower head. I was impressed. All in all, a great room.
We weren't as impressed with the food. The pizza was great! We highly recommend the chicken alfredo pizza. The breakfast however, was horrible. The only thing that was good was the cereal. The muffins and donuts were dry, and bad tasting, the juices were all watered down and actually quite disgusting, the hardboiled eggs were hard and dry and quite gross. All in all, it was kind of a let down.
Basically the hotel is great for a family with kids, not so much a married couple. The rooms are great, but everything else is more geared for kids.

Room Tip: Get a lakeview room. The view was totally worth it, and the bathrooms are awesome. Avoid the breakfa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. The only way we can get better is to get honest and timely feedback. I'm sorry you were disappointed with the breakfast and appreciate your candid comments, which we will use in discussions and training to improve our operation. I hope you will give us an opportunity to serve you again and that you will be impressed with the changes we make.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa, USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our room was a two-double with a sleep-capable couch and was comfortable and very clean. The room was in kind of a "tiki" motif, so if you like, or can tolerate a kitschy designed room, you will like it. We thought it to be cute, your mileage may vary. The staff in its entirely was courteous, friendly and helpful.

The thermostat was placed close to the cold-air return and the A/C outlet, so the cold air would not mix well with the rest of the room. But we learned how to adjust the setting so the room temp felt to our liking.

The room had a nice wide screen LCD TV and a full raft of cable including HBO. The continental breakfast was very diverse, but as it was continental, no hot food, besides coffee and a toaster.

Although not "Ocean's of Fun", the waterpark is nice and clean and really nice for a hotel facility.

The pizza was good. Decent crust and fresh ingredients. The boneless wings, however, were simply awful, too much breading, hard, with little discernible meat-avoid.

All-in all, it was a really great stay at a great price. We would easily recommend the Edgewater to other people and families looking for an affordable, clean, comfortable, fun place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoaminAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review and recommendation of the Edgewater Resort and Waterpark. It is always our gratifying to receive guest feedback especially when it is as positive as yours. We are pleased to know that you and your family were happy with your room and the service you received during your stay. I'm sorry you were disappointed with the chicken wings, and offer my apologies. I will review this product and it's preparation with our team to make sure all is up to our high standards. We look forward to and welcome the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We got a groupon deal for this hotel, and it was well worth the money! The room was set up great, with a bunk bed and tv in one room overlooking the waterpark and 2 queen beds and tv in the other room. They weren't really separate rooms, but they were set apart enough that the grown ups could watch tv after the kiddos went to bed. The bunk was really safe, I had no problem letting the 4 and 5 year olds sleep/climb up to the top bunk. The continental breakfast was stellar in my opinion. There was toast/bagels/etc, sweet bread, muffins, fruit cocktail, fresh bananas/apples/oranges, yogurt, oatmeal, almost every kind of dry cereal, milk, 3 or 4 kinds of juice, and probably more that I can't remember. Definitely more than enough choices that you could please the pickiest of eaters! As for the noise level, I didn't think it was excessive, yes you could hear when people were talking in the hallway, but it wasn't worse than other hotels I have been to.
If you are going to get food, I would definitely order out... the pizza at their tiki tom's restaurant was ok, but the crust was TERRIBLE... the toppings/cheese were really good, but for the price, you can definitely get something else delivered for less money that tastes better.
The arcade was ok, a lot of the games were out of order, and the prizes were typical arcade prizes, cheapo stuff that broke before we went home..

Overall I thought this was a great place to stay, and will definitely stay again if we come to Duluth!

Room Tip: we were in 1317, waterpark view room, which was really nice, but next time I would go for a lakeview...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thanks for staying with us and posting your comments. I'm sorry about the pizza and arcade games and offer my apologies. We value all guest feedback and use it in discussions and training to improve our operation and service. Its guests like you who make our jobs of providing the highest standards of cleanliness, service and facilities very rewarding. We look forward to welcoming you back and serving you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oronoco, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Very friendly Staff. Great room (stayed in Studio Suite on newest part of Hotel on north part of Tiki Tower overlooking lazy river in water park .) Very Clean room. Excellent value. Reserve "pick a Package" room rate and got a choice of free 16 cheese pizza with $10 worth of free arcade play or $20 gift card to Valantis Italian Restaurant or $20 gift card to Black wood bar and grill. you get to choose one for each night you stay. (if you stay 3 night's you get to choose 3.)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jad0570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to write and post your great review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and appreciate your wonderful remarks and recognition of jobs well done by our team. We look forward to welcoming you back and serving you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
2.6 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
2.2 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
4.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark

Property: Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark
Address: 2400 London Rd, Duluth, MN 55812-2221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the shores of Lake Superior in Duluth, MN, the Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark is your complete Duluth hotels vacation resort destination. Enjoy our indoor waterpark, arcade, outside play area, pool and hot tub, and easy access to Duluth's Lakewalk and restaurants. Relax in a comfortable and clean room with all the amenities and views of Lake Superior. Whatever you're looking for, you'll find it here at the funnest hotel in Duluth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Resort And Waterpark
Edgewater Resort & Waterpark Hotel Duluth
Edgewater Hotel Waterpark
Duluth Edgewater
Edgewater Hotel Duluth
Best Western Edgewater Duluth Mn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing