We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Check- In And No Real Recovery...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing Check- In And No Real Recovery...”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

I guess it all comes down to the old saying "you get what you pay for" . My husband and I decided to vacation in Duluth solely on being able to get a hotel room for as close to $100 as we could. We were successful in finding 2 hotels that met our criteria and actually booked both until we could decide. We read other reviews and finally cancelled our other booking even though it was a cheaper rate for an equal type of hotel. (We wanted to try something new) I had read many of the reviews and was careful to book a room with a window as this hotel is unique and has many rooms that are interior without windows. I decided to call and confirm the booking 2 days prior to the visit just to be sure everything was set especially since I had not yet received my email confirmation. I called and confirmed and was assured the room had a window. When we went to check in, we were told that the room that was booked was an interior room (no window). After explaining that I had not booked that room and had even called to confirm, she told me there were no other rooms available for us at that rate. (She suggested the people who had served me on the phone had done things incorrectly) I expressed my disappointment at which time she went to the room behind the front desk to talk to a woman at a desk to see if they could do anything. (I am assuming this was the manager behind...she never once came out to address the issues and kept sending the front desk person out as a messenger) When the girl came back she offered us a 2 room suite but said we would have to pay $45 more per night for it. Since we had booked dependent on price...we were not wanting to increase our nightly rate. (FYI-We travel to Duluth often as we live relatively close in Canada...rooms in Duluth more than double in price during the summer months which is why we were concerned with price.) We then asked if we could go look at the room they had booked for us without a window since we at this point had nowhere else to stay. When we returned to the desk she made us another offer of the 2 room suite for and additional $25 per night but since we were not interested in paying additional money for our stay we opted to just take the wrongly booked room in the interior. The rest of the stay was ok. It was clean and the air conditioning was excellent. The beds and pillows were comfortable and it was nice to be able to have a table to eat at when we ordered dinner in. The location was good but there was nothing that blew us away though and the breakfast was just ok. We have tried out a variety of hotels in Duluth as we travel there at least 4 times a year. This was our first time at The Suites and we will probably not return. Because the check-in was so disappointing it was hard to recover. I thought it was terrible that they admitted the person helping me had obviously booked incorrectly and blamed it on his inexperience. They said they would use my experience to teach him what to do next time. I felt it was a very pass the buck solution that didn't help me out (the client) at all or solve the problem in any way.

Room Tip: The interior rooms have no windows and the lighting is quite dim. Choose a room with a window unles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dragonflyfreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    166
    84
    51
    27
See reviews for
208
128
7
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barstow
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Everything you could want in your room we had. Awesome King bed with 5 pillows, loved it. Two TV's a full kitchen with large frig, dishwasher, loveseat that makes into a bed. Had one of the best breakfast we had on our trip and we stayed at 7 hotels. Our room was a city view room so we did have a window, we overlooked the harbor. We did get lost on our way because we put in North Lake St not South Lake. So we called the hotel and an extremely nice young lady named Sara stayed on the phone and gave us turn by turn directions to the hotel. Totaly Awesome Hotel would love to stay again.

Room Tip: Had a city view room which has a window. Interior room don't have a window and if they are as ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GingerNBarstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The Suites Hotel in Canal Park was a great place to stay! The hotel was formerly a warehouse, and offers quite the unique experience. The rooms are huge, with a separate bedroom and living room. There was even a kitchenette in the room! The rooms were spacious, comfortable, and clean. The pool was fun to use. The free breakfast was good, and offered many choices. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel has a great location, just down the street from the Lift Bridge and a short walk from Canal Park and Lake Superior. We had a great view overlooking the William A. Irvin museum ship and downtown Duluth.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Daniel_Lindner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

First off, people staying here need to realize that this is an old building, so it will not have 'new' features. Do your research prior to arriving and you will not be disappointed. With that being said, this hotel is fabulous! My husband and I stay here whenever we are in Duluth. What you get for the price isn't even close to comparable to other hotels in the area. You get your own mini-kitchen, and that alone has saved up $100's of dollars in savings by not going out to eat for every meal. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. We have had no problems with staying here and always leave being very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2014

As organizer of a local gaming-con, I want to make a positive impression on our guests who come in from out of town. That's why I've made sure to always involve the Suites in our plans when it comes time to reserve room blocks.

The rooms are all spacious, and I've never seen such a terrific kitchen area with a full sized fridge while traveling. No two rooms are quite the same. Comfortable beds, and practically across the street from the DECC. Great breakfasts, and a welcoming staff who is very accommodating and thoughtful.

My favorite hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed June 10th-12th, 2014 here during a family vacation and will not hesitate to stay here again. Booked a two-bedroom suite on line in March and was upgraded to a two-bedroom Jacuzzi suite upon arrival. Desk staff was okay at check-in but a little reserved when asked questions about parking, restaurants, etc - the hotel could really use a concierge in addition to help the desk staff focus on their functions.

(One note on reservations - book as early as you can if you want any suite for a Thursday, Friday or Saturday night - three months was not enough time so we had to reconfigure our driving vacation to stay Tuesday and Wednesday nights).

Parking was free but a challenge to find a close spot at times in areas where we would not ticketed/towed. Key is to try to find a spot on the west side of the building away from Lake Street in the "white line" area (Be sure to have the staff give you the most up to date information). This is also the best place to unload your luggage after check-in since there is no parking on Lake Street in front of the hotel and parking in front is across the street - crossing the street without luggage was challenging and could be next to impossible at times. Another challenge with parking is that there is a construction company officed on the top floor of the hotel so you are competing with their company trucks and smaller equipment for the back-side parking spots. That said, there are enough things to do within walking distance once you find a spot you should stay in it.

The suite we stayed in was almost too big for the three of us (my wife and I, and my father-in-law). The suite and individual bedrooms were comfortable and clean! Only two rooms with natural light were the two bedrooms - rest of the suite had adequate lighting but could have used more.

Besides the construction offices in the building mentioned before, the building also contains a number of other private offices, personal residential condos, and three restaurants - Timber Lodge Steakhouse, Red Lobster, Old Chicago Pizza - all of which allowed us to charge to our room. Many other places within a 2-3 block walk including the famous Grandma's Saloon & Eatery, and the Canal Park Brewing Company.

The hot morning breakfast was good - nice seating areas for enjoying the breakfast in a loft area overlooking the pool and lobby. Good be challenging for older or mobility impaired individuals to enjoy that area since there is not ramp or elevator to get them up the 20 (+/-) stairs. We did not have a chance to use the pool or exercise room but heard fro others that they were good.

Overall a good hotel in a great location at a great price! We will be visiting again!

Room Tip: Book early, and try to get corner rooms if you want more natural light. Try to get a harbor side roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FortCollinsJimB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We love The Suites at Waterfront Plaza...truly a royal experience in being home away from home. In November we drove into Duluth with no plan..we stopped here and there asking for vacancies and hotels that we went to were booked solid and were just not that friendly to an old couple coming in from out of town. We were going place to place and my wife went into a motel 6 there where there was a young man that used to work for the Suites...He also did not have room but at this point my wife was crying as we were totally exhausted after a long time on the road.. The young man took pity on us and called a friend at The Suites and she got us a room right away.

When we arrived we found the hotel convenient and located right in the perfect place in the tourist district. We got a suite with the best view in the city overlooking the area like being above the French Quarter in New Orleans...also a massive window that had a view to die for of Lake Superior.The staff from the janitor to the general manager were warm and kind and just superb. We do not have family in Duluth and were just looking around looking for a new place to live and came to love the Suites and all the staff just like being around your family at a home away from home. The building is unique in every way . Being a converted warehouse and hardware company from the 19th and early 20th century converted to a wonderful hotel and condos...such a special place..we just fell in love with it. When we arrived it just started the third coldest and snowiest winter in history in Duluth . The Senior Sales Manager booked us in at a fantastic rate on a month to month basis..Her name is Cindy Graves..really wonderful and truly cares about people and their needs and feelings. Also we met many of the staff and grew to care for them as our extended family .To put it straight they all took care of us as if we were their family and they were very protective of us. We ended up staying there till 5/13/14 exactly six months after arrival and we can't say enough wonderful things about the hotel and staff.

The ambiance and the rooms and building and staff make for a wonderful stay. We can't recommend this hotel high enough...on a scale one to five we give them a 50...From the wonderful rooms to the exceptional lobby and its unique feeling..with fireplace and piano and the breakfast was amazing. Not just your plain jane run of the mill breakfast...we are talking first class and Joann the amazing woman taking care of all your breakfast needs and giving you a wonderful first class smile and service..our experience couldn't have been more awesome.

Also to the manager Tom Simonson who was like a long lost brother , came out and greeted us everyday when we were in the lobby to check on how we were doing and see if everything was fine...everyone there gave us the feeling of being at home surrounded by caring family and you forget you are in a new city and a hotel and begin to think you are in your home away from home and extended family. To all the people that have given bad marks to this hotel...im sorry that your experience wasn't good.. I just can't see how that could be true..The furnishings in this place is exceptional and we even had a awesome hot tub /jacuzzi in our suite to sit and watch it snowing from our hot tub out the massive picture window.

The Suites.. has so many nice things. Beautiful indoor swimming pool with sparkling clear blue water. Large Hot tub and also kiddy pool. Also in the area of the pool a great workout room with weights and also a video arcade all in the same area.. Amazing. just amazing. Also I want to mention the staff again..so attentive all called us by name and we had mail and packages coming to us our whole visit and each and everyone of the staff made sure we received our packages and mail and took care of our every need..

Normally I am forgetful about hotels and leaving reviews but after you experience the Suites At Waterfront Plaza...you will never feel at rest until you give them five stars!!!As far as we are concerned The Suites will always be our home away from home and extended family. If you want to have yourself treated like royalty, do yourself a favor and book a stay or even a extended stay at the best place to stay in Duluth.. The Suites At Waterfront Plaza and tell them that M&M told you about them..You will never regret it and always look forward to your visit there. Like the commercial you used to see on television .... come on by ,they keep the lights on for you .. and enjoy !!!!!!! ..

Just can't say enough nice things about this place..When you leave you will miss it and also miss the staff and the experience and will always look forward to booking another stay at The Suites at Waterfront Plaza...truly a five star hotel and experience.

Room Tip: If you are a smoker... Ask for 411 or forth floor close to 411..all other guest if non smoking ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.1 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.7 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
0.6 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#11 of 33 in Duluth
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Suites Hotel in Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suites Hotel in Canal Park

Property: The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Address: 325 S Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802-2305 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Suites Hotel in Canal Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Suites Hotel in Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel In Canal Park
In Canal Park Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing