We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Not the best” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Suites Hotel in Canal Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Suites Hotel in Canal Park to your Saves list
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   325 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not the best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I reserved a King Jaquizzi Suite Rm. Let me just start off by saying I'm not a very picky person and I realized we weren't staying at a Hampton, etc. We wanted to try something different. Walking in the front desk staff were indifferent and not very welcoming to us. Walking in the room it was HUGE and in a great location I'll give the Hotel that. Its cool how it used to be a warehouse. But when we looked at our bed the comforter was completely dirty with lint and PET fur everywhere on it (which the housekeepers confirmed). Didn't care they allowed pets but figured they would care enough to change the bedding! When I called down to the desk they had the housekeepers come up and change it and that was that. Second strike that really annoyed us was that the WiFi signal was terrible and faded in and out. We had to use our cell data which was awesome.... Strike three was when we decided to sleep in one day since we had a babysitter and had a Jackhammer and construction litterly going on right above us at 11 am.....I mean really? come on.... the girl offered to move us but by this point We were fed up.... they were nice and gave 50% off but I felt like it should've been comped considering . I could really see this hotel being great for groups if management was more attentive to little things .

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank GFSiouxFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments, they always serve to make us better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    136
    67
    48
    22
See reviews for
167
101
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Decided to stay here for a quick 1 night trip over spring break with the kids. Canal Park is a great location with lots to see an do (moreso during the summer). You can walk to some great shopping and restaurants so this hotel was a great choice for us.

We arrived at the hotel at 3:00 (thinking this is normal check in time) but our room would not be ready until 4:00 which is their normal check in time. A little confusing as the hotel was absolutely dead so I'm not sure if they just have a policy for no early check ins or what.

Got into our room about 4:00 which was a harbor view 1 bedroom suite. They provided a roll away for 1 of the 2 kids. The pull out couch can fit 1 kids, probably no older than 12. It's honestly the smallest pull out couch I've ever seen but it worked out OK. The room reflects the hotels history which so some might mean dated, but it was clean and had a full size fridge and freezer with a stove and lots of other kitchen equipment. We were on the 3rd floor and even though I don't think there were 2 other rooms occupied on our floor, you won't hear a thing at this hotel.

The pool was cloudy but it's a nice set up and the kids had fun. There's a small fitness area, game room, hot tub, sauna and a small little kids pool as well. For our purpose it worked out great, kids swam for a few hours and that was it.

One of the best features of the hotel is the breakfast. Eggs, hashbrowns, waffles and much more. A very nice set up for the morning. For dinner, there are restaurants very close by or Timberlodge is attached to the hotel and we were given free drinks and a free appetizer which worked out very well.

They have a parking lot right across the street that works well and you don't have to pay for a ramp or to try to find a street space which is impossible down there.

Clearly this hotel caters towards business travelers but it is a great option with the kids if you are looking to stay in Canal Park. We will be back again.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are interior rooms with no windows to outside, I wouldn't recommed these, make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BBWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your review! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We LOVE The Suites!! We have looked at other hotels in the area, but The Suites are our place to stay!! Yes construction is going on, a bit noisy but who stays in their room all day?? We have things to do places to go!! Great hot breakfast items in the morning! The rooms are quite and comfy! We always stay "City side" over looking the Erving Ore Boat. Lakeside can be noisy with the street traffic and people having fun on the street below.
The Suites are convent to Everything in Canal Park and Lake Superior and the famous Lift Bridge is just up the street!! Our Home Away From Home!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your kind review! We're honored to be your home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baxter, Minnesota
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

This was a convenient and inexpensive place to stay for an event at the DECC. We had skaters on the ice at all hours, so we shared a two-bedroom suite with another family and walked to the arena. It was perfect for our situation. The hotel was clean and quiet, but the room windows were so poor that we could close the bedroom doors and freeze, or leave them open and not have privacy. The room was dated, but they seem to be doing upgrades on another floor. I'll call them again next year, but before we book I'd like to know the windows have at least been replaced. The location, though, cannot be beat! Restaurants are attached to the hotel so food is nearby.

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have windows. If you need a window, be sure to ask for it. Also, if you have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you! We hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We've stayed in other places in Canal Park, but this time we had our entire family and wanted a room with enough space for 7 of us to play games, eat, etc. together. We chose the 2 bedroom whirlpool suite. What a pleasant surprise - it was HUGE!. Two enormous bedrooms each with king size beds and plenty of room for rollaways. An enormous kitchen, dining, living & whirlpool area.

The location is great - we walked to dinner at a different restaurant every night (Canal Park Brewing Co. does make GOOD BEER!)

It was President's Day weekend and many guests had kids. We never heard a thing in our room - the building is just too structurally sound.

Breakfast was the best complimentary hotel breakfast we've had in a long time. Hot foods and different items each day. The staff did a great job keeping the serving dishes full!

We had a few special requests and after telephoning the front desk our items arrived within a few minutes. All staff we came in contact with were exceptionally friendly and helpful - housekeeping, front desk and breakfast.

On this busiest of holiday weekends we never had trouble parking in the private lot.

Alright, if we need to add some negatives: the heat wasn't perfectly balanced to meet our desires (bedrooms slightly cooler than the living area) and the bars of soap in the bathrooms are really tiny - but they gave us plenty. And if one of the bedrooms had two queen beds rather than a king we would have preferred that.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LikestaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you! We're glad we were a pleasant surprise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walker, Minnesota
Level Contributor
115 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Since the Suites Hotel was a renovated building in Canal Park, we thought it would have the character and historic feel that we really like. It is an old building, but clearly staying here is not about history but about a location in Canal Park that is a reasonable price for a large family that is animal friendly. Big place, right in the middle of all the Canal Park sites...big continental breakfast, space for the family to meet in the suites. But, it all just felt like a non-descript old hotel room. No design, no historic fixtures, nothing that felt unique. Shower was just lukewarm. The white painted pipes that ran across the ceiling just made me feel like I was in a cheap hotel. The windows frosted over and you could feel the cold coming through. Front desk service was a bit scrambled---everyone checking in at the same time--long lines. Not very well thought out. I can see where this would be good for the many families there for the hockey tournament, but not for me.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay, make sure to get a room with an outside window so you have a view. But, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you! Your comments are always appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakemoor, IL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We arrived for a New Years Eve getaway but were displeased to find construction going on the 5th floor that sounded like it was directly above our room. We were disappointed that we were not warned about the noise, but the front desk was able to move us and very quickly took care of the issue. We've stayed at The Suites before and love the ambiance and the look of the converted factory/warehouse. There are so many fun night spots in Canal Park that are within walking distance.

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have exterior windows, so make sure you ask for a window room (preferably overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.8 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 316 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#5 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 648 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
0.1 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Suites Hotel in Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suites Hotel in Canal Park

Property: The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Address: 325 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Suites Hotel in Canal Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Suites Hotel in Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel In Canal Park
In Canal Park Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing