We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Cleanliness matters!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Suites Hotel in Canal Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
minneapolis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cleanliness matters!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Great location. This hotel could be stellar with a bit more attention to how the guest is treated. Front desk clerks went from very pleasant to quite rude. The two bedroom suite we got was sadly dirty. Filthy toilets. Dirty carpets. When I requested service (and left a tip) neither of these were touched and I had to call down for toilet paper, Kleenex and dishwasher soap, all which I had requested in a little note with the tip.
So, if you are looking for a spot a step up from a budget hotel and keep expectations low - this is your spot. If you are fussy about manners and cleanliness
- you may want to try somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twochow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We always take comments from our guests and use them to make us better. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    149
    74
    50
    24
See reviews for
181
112
6
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised at the size and quality of the suites at this hotel....they are very large, well kept and comfortable....very nice gas fireplace and even a Jacuzzi ....This hotel is close to the harbor ( haunted ship) , many restaurants and shops...Don't forget the kids , there is an entertainment venue couple of doors down from hotel...( games, batting cages, slides all ages). Shopping is never far away, on both sides of the two states....
I would also like to mention this added plus...buffet breakfast is included
Hope to visit again....
the only negative I would have to add is it was quite cold in the second bedroom , but I kept warm under the blankets

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rose4094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We just got back from here on Tuesday after two wonderful nights in a two bedroom suite. The bed was king size and not only great for sleeping but reminded me of sheer luxury. The room was very large and had all you needed to enjoy a in room stay if you wanted. We dined at the attached restaurant in the suites and were quite happy with the service and food. Try the Paul Byan Onion, really a great treat! We also walked the area around the Suites and enjoyed all the old buildings and history it had to offer. Try to avoid the chocalate factory, you might fall in love with it and spend a big was of cash there. All in all I would definitely recommend this to any traveller looking for a relaxing stay. If you want to be frugal, just book during Sunday to Thursday as the rates are low in regards to the luxury you will enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask for the Lake side on the 4th floor, great view of the water and sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steinbach
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

These suites are huge. If you need a place to stay for one night or for a couple of weeks this is like your own little apartment. It is right by the harbor so close to all kinds of restaurants and unique shops. Parking is included in the price so that makes it a really good deal. You could not hear anyone in any of the other rooms, complete silence. We had a suite with a kitchenette, living room area and separate bedroom. The bedroom was also huge with a jacuzzi tub in it. Would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and could hear no traffic on the street even though we were on the street s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are a great value!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainerd, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Great experience at Suites Hotel of Duluth.
Room was excellent with partial view of harbor. Service was excellent as I left a bag and they were very helpful in finding it and shipping to my home address.
Room had everything we needed including kitchenette, sitting area full bath and King bed.
Will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms on back side were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your stay! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We just spent two nights here last month and we very happy with our stay. The location is great being in Canal Park with many restaurants and a minute away from the highway entrance for trips to Superior or Miller Hill Mall. The main downtown street is just across the highway for even more options.
We had a king size bed suite with a window and a small living room with a two burner hotplate, a sink, microwave and a full size fridge. A lot of the rooms are interior with no windows so you have to ask. The room rate includes a full breakfast buffet with eggs, potatoes, sausage and waffles along with fruit and cereals. The hotel is pet friendly so be forewarned there are dogs around though they were friendly too. Of of the benefits is you have a free parking spot across the street which can often be a problem when driving to the area from other hotels.
The price was only a little higher than the discount chain we usually stay at and with the amenities and quiet it was worth the extra money. We will definately be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbrecken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stay at this hotel mainly whenever we do a trip to Duluth. Great location, good price, spacious rooms, free breakfast, friendly staff, clean, cozy. Our five year old loved the pool. Close to some great restaurants. Love the full size fridge!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laney J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.8 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.6 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#13 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Suites Hotel in Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suites Hotel in Canal Park

Property: The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Address: 325 S Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802-2305 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Suites Hotel in Canal Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Suites Hotel in Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel In Canal Park
In Canal Park Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing