We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy Beds but the windows don't open” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Suites Hotel in Canal Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Plymouth, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfy Beds but the windows don't open”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel is an old manufacturing plant that was converted to hotel rooms so some of the rooms are on the inside and do not have windows. So if you are at all claustrophobic, make sure you ask for a room with windows. But, also be advised, the windows don't open so the only air that you will get is by turning the fan on the air/heat. Too bad because the breeze off the lake is wonderful. The room was clean but a little outdated. The beds were VERY comfortable, not your usual hotel comfort. The staff was very helpful and quick check-in. The complimentary breakfast what you would expect for free. I would stay here again but don't expect luxury accommodations.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darcy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your review, we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    136
    67
    48
    22
See reviews for
167
101
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Our family has been checking in at The Suites for years. It is the only place we stay when we go to Duluth. The staff is always friendly and the rooms are comfortable and clean. We will be coming back!!!
Brad and Mary S.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brad s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind review! We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stay at this property often when servicing my sales accounts in Duluth, MN and I have never been dissapointed. The location is AWESOME - located in Canal Park which is close to every tourist attraction this area has to offer. There are many restaurants within walking distance. The staff are very friendly and helpful with any special requests I have made. The hotel rooms are very clean and have a unique style that is refreshing as I stay in hotels very often. The breakfast has always been very good. In my most recent stay, I left clothing in the room and didn't notice until I returned home (minneapolis) and they shipped them out to me the next day! No complaints whatsoever - I reccommend staying at The Suites Hotel and enjoying the ammenities this property has to offer.

Room Tip: I enjoy the rooms with windows looking at the ship yard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you! We're glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
223 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The Suites is located in the heart of Canal Park and provides great location to stay while visiting Duluth. Shopping, restaurants and the water front are all very accessible. The building itself is very unique. It is a room set up like I have never experienced before. Many of the rooms have no windows, which is a little strange to get used to, but really no big deal. The rooms are spacious and clean. Beds comfortable. The breakfast is one of the better continental offerings I have seen. We would stay at this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyB569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for being our guest. It was a pleasure taking care of you during your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Nice big rooms and high ceilings but we could hear the folks talking in the next rooms easily.

We will not be back! The girl that made our reservation quoted us a cheaper rate for a Thursday and Friday stay. So my wife and I took a day off work and went up Thursday night. When we checked in we were told Thursdays rate was as quoted but Friday was nearly double. After showing the clerk our written notes, she said she knew who quoted us those rates. She believed us and offered to adjust the second night down but didn't have the authority to match the quote. She said the morning manager would straighten it out.

In the morning, a clerk representing herself as a manager refused any type of rate reduction. She seemed surprised as we checked out and offered to talk to her manager?!?!?

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for writing your review. We always take your comments and use them to make us better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Duluth hotels

Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We decided to splurge on a two bedroom suite with a Jacuzzi and fireplace. The place was large enough but had a gloomy feel to it even with the lights on. Its an old renovated industrial building but I like that aspect. The furniture was stained and very outdated and extremely uncomfortable. There was a small old style tv in each bedroom without good reception. The large flatscreen was in the living room and you could only watch it from the the old hideabed which was tortuous to sit on. So my husband had to pull it out so he could lay on it and when he did sparks flew like the fourth of July and the smell of electrical wires burning filled the air as all the lights went out. They had a flush mounted electrical plug illegally 2" higher than the carpet. The steel frame of the sofa had caught the cover of it which wasn't attached in the first place exposing frayed wires that came into contact with the hideabed. We called the front desk and they sent up a maintenance man right away. He disconnected the plug and turned the electricity back on. It wad very unsettling as you wonder how many other code violations were in this old building. The maintenance man also brought us clean bedding for the hideabed as the previous tenants dirty linens were sacred up in the stained mattress. I should mention that we brought our dog and even though they are pet friendly you have to walk a LONG LONG way to take your pet to go potty. What made it worse was the vagrant type people wandering about the parking lot so my husband had doggie duty the whole time as he wouldn't let me go out alone. My husband talked to the management at checkout about these concerns and they completely ignored him. We will never stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 24theopenroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for writing your review. We sincerely apologize for the issues during your stay. We have corrected those items so they will not be repeated again. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Our first experience in a room with no windows and I was a little apprehension. It was fine, I liked the pillars and pipes in the room( since they didn't make any noise). There was very little noise from outside the room (hall or neighbors) which made the ventilation system seem louder. Very comfortable, clean beds. Nice kitchen setup with matching dishes/glasses for four people. WIFI connection was fine. I would appreciate brighter lighting since there aren't any windows but we really don't spend that much time in our room, not when it is so close to the water. One thing though, I think there should be a rail/handhold in the shower for the safety of guests of all ages. The breakfast was plentiful with lots of variety. The staff made sure all the food stations were well stocked and cleaned the tables as soon as the guests left. The front desk staff was professional and helpful. The hot tub and pool were a little cloudy. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.8 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 318 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#5 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 650 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
0.1 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Suites Hotel in Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suites Hotel in Canal Park

Property: The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Address: 325 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Suites Hotel in Canal Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Suites Hotel in Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel In Canal Park
In Canal Park Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing