We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel for a Short Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Overall, the hotel was very nice. It is located in Canal Park in a very old building but has been completely remodeled. There are many amenities such as free parking, warm pool and hot tub, decent sized wrokout area, above average continental breakfast and great location. The staff was very friendly and went above and beyond to help us. The room I stayed in (a two queen suite) was unique as it had two doors on opposite sides of the room but no windows. This was odd but for one night not having a window was ok. It was very nice to sleep in the room becasue no window means no outside lights and a dark room. The room had a kitchenette and was comparatively large. It had been updated and was clean but it was a little outdated. The beds were decent. The price of the room was about half of what similar rooms would be in other hotels on canal park and this one had better amenities. Not having a window in the room was worth saving over $100 for one night. How much time is really spent in the room during the day when visiting Duluth? There are other more expensive rooms in the building that have windows however. Overall great experience and will return the next time I visit Duluth.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mg941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2012

Thank you for your review! Our Studio Suites are distinctive in their location within the building and a very good value! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 495 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2011

I was an extended stay guest, and the staff went out of its way to make my time there very comfortable and enjoyable. The regular room was fine (with a good-size kitchen/living room and bedroom--but strangely no closets and limited space to hang clothes), but when I traded up to a whirlpool suite, it was a greatly improved stay! These rooms are quieter and worth the added expense. The hotel is an excellent option for business travelers, since it's located right in Canal Park, near many restaurants (which makes walking easier, especially when it gets colder). Families will find these whirlpool suites enjoyable as well. They are sizable. Breakfast is good (eggs, pancakes/french toast, make-your-own waffles, fruit, yogurt and an assortment of cereal). Healthier breakfast options take a little imagination and work (for extended stay guests), but it can be done. The pool area is often crowded on weekends, but it is pleasant for business travelers looking to wind down during the week--you have lots of space. Families should know the pool area is nice, but there are no fancy slides or kid-friendly attractions--just a small game room, like in other Duluth hotels. This hotel is definitely worth considering as a centrally located, active venue. The staff is very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a view of the Lake, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrooklynGuy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments! We hope to see you again this year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

My wife and I and our two dogs stayed here. It is a very nice place and even though it is a bit expensive, we loved it. The motel is clean and right in the middle of Canal Park. We would certainly stay again. Our dogs loved it and we were able to make them feel as though they were welcome. We also noticed other dogs and we loved it.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a pet, ask for a room close to an elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonandLisaFromUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2012

Thanks for commenting on our stay! We are pet friendly and enjoy meeting your four legged friends!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

I checked in on Sunday and stayed through Thursday. The location was perfect - within walking distance of practically everything. Didn't get in my car again until Tuesday to go to Glensheen. My room was a king suite with no windows - a little disconcerting when you get up in the morning. I had a full size fridge and a two-top stove with dishwasher, which I ended up not using. Good size bath and closet. Comfortable bed and not a lot of noise coming from outside the room. Pool area was also very nice. Noticed that this place is dog friendly, as every other person I saw seemed to have one (or even two). I had a good rate of $80 a night, plus a free drink at the Timberlodge next door every night. Breakfast was decent - you actually get hot food like eggs and waffles, not just cereal and bagels. I had no problems with the front desk staff - they were pleasant and accomodating. My only gripe is that the maid staff could have been better. I had dirty ashtrays, unemptied garbage and an unmade bed - must have been an off day. Other than that, I can recommend this as a good place to stay if you want to spend time in downtown Duluth.

Room Tip: Get one with windows - it's a little weird waking up in the dark at 8 am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BluegirlMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay! We receive a lot of great comments about our breakfast buffet and we're glad you enjoyed it! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

The hotel was clean, the rooms were unique with the architecture, kitchenettes, small refrigerator, etc. The bathroom was clean and the bed - OMG was so comfortable! Totally would stay here again and again! Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjfetzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2012

Thanks for staying with us and sharing your experience! And you a right about the beds...they are awesome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Along with about 5 other parties, we were unable to check in on time. We were told that our room would be ready in about "5-10" minutes. We stood next to the desk so they could just get us when they were ready. 45 minutes later, we had to return to the clerk to ask him if they were ready for us. They were, but hadnt bothered to mention that to us. They said they would refund us $20 for our late check in, which we appreciated. The next morning when we looked at the invoice under our door, it did not reflect the discount we were told we would receive, classy. We then had to call the front desk to get that adjusted and asked them if they could please bring up the new invoice. They said they couldnt. Asking to get a correct invoice delivered to our room was too much of a hassle. After audible displeasure from us, they said they could bring it up, but probably not for at least another hour. Later, I noticed that my credit card reflected a $176 charge.. far over the $116 invoice we had received for the second time. I called to get this straightened out.. I spoke to a manager who could not tell me where this $176 charge came from, but was very patronizing as he spoke to me about "how debit cards work." -- I understand an extra charge for incidentals, but $60 seems extreme. The rooms are dingy, but okay if you're not planning on staying in them too much of the time.. its the awful service that really brings this hotel to a new low.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2011

Thank you for your candid review. We always work hard to correct our short comings when a guest experience is not up to their expectations, it's the only way to continue to give great customer service to you, our guests. We take this to heart and give it our all everyday. Thank you again and keep the reviews coming.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Great location in a fun zone. Very good use of an old structure. Entryways have No ramps ,not so handicap friendly.

Room Tip: 4th floor ok for smokers-if thats what you want?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.7 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#3 of 31 in Duluth
530 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
0.7 mi away
Fitger's Inn
Fitger's Inn
#13 of 31 in Duluth
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Suites Hotel in Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suites Hotel in Canal Park

Address: 325 S Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802-2305 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range: $106 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Suites Hotel in Canal Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your The Suites Hotel in Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel In Canal Park
In Canal Park Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing