We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, Friendly, and Comfortable!”
Review of Canal Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Canal Park Lodge
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2010

My family of 4 spent a couple of nights at Canal Park in August. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. The hotel was fully booked for the weekend because the tall ships were in town. My husband had accidentally booked a king bed for our family, and when I explained to the desk clerk that we had a family of four she found us a room immediately. The beds were plush, the decor was Mission Style and had beautiful outdoor prints. I loved being right on the beach. The view was amazing. My children enjoyed the pool. We enjoyed breakfast every morning and the Caribou Coffee. We plan on going back next year. There is so much to do in walking distance. We didn't get in the car the whole time we were there.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank call4engel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
There are newer reviews for Canal Park Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 442 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Canal Park Lodge for a one-night getaway. We found it to be very clean and comfortable, with attractive decor. The breakfast buffet was really a notch above most typical continental breakfast offerings. Cheesy hash browns, sausage, eggs, Belgian waffles - it impressed me and I'm not a big breakfast person! We will definitely stay here again when we next have a chance to return to Duluth.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcoyour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2010

We stayed at the Canal Park Lodge, and could not have been more pleased. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The hotel is right on the lake and has beautiful views. The complimentary full breakfast was delicious and even satisfied our picky 4-year old! The staff was helpful and friendly. Overall, one of the better hotels we have stayed at in Duluth.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shannon1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

We stayed at Canal Park Lodge for 3 nights in mid-October. Everything ws painless from making the reservation, finding the hotel, and checking in/out. The corner suite had a walk-in shower, balcony, and views of the city and Lake Superior. The room was clean, staff was polite, friendly and accomodating. The included breakfast features Caribou coffee and everything else from eggs to waffles. There is a daily Happy Hour in the lobby, and fruit and chees plates may be delivered to your room from nearby Bellisio's. We have stayed at numerous hotels in the vicinity, and this is by far the best we have experienced.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sschulz397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

The hotel is on the beach; nice views from the beach side (which I would recommend). It is within walking distance of lots of restaurants and attractions. The staff was very helpful; the breakfast was definitely above average. NIce public areas.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Ursusaureus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

We had a beautiful first level room overlooking Lake Superior. Our room was a regular size room with two queen beds. The beds were very comfortable with plenty of pillows and a nice thick duvet cover. There is a microwave, a small refrigerator and coffeemaker in the room. There is a large LCD TV also. There is two separate lounges. One has a fireplace, comfy chairs and two computer workstations. The other lounge is very nice with very comfy chairs/couches to relax in overlooking beautiful Lake Superior. Our room was only two doors from the main lounge. There were people in the lounge until late and early in the morning and we never heard a peep in our room which was very close and it worried me that the noise would be overbearing. It was not - heard nothing in the room. There is free parking in the lot outside the hotel. It is centrally located to the beautiful Duluth lift bridge and all the shops/restaurants on the canal. Even the city view is beautiful, seeing the hills and businesses - nice. The very BEST part of this hotel is the free morning breakfast. All I can say is WOW. There were scrambled eggs (not the powdered ones), hash brown caserole- delicious, make your own omelets, waffles, bacon, ham and other items to put on the make your own omelet, breads, yogurt, fruit, juices, cereals, milk. It was good, plentiful and hot. In the afternoon they have a cash bar and an appetizer. The night they were there they had meat balls. They also were excellent. The only downside which is very minimal is one of the front desk clerks was very friendly and helpful the other one was just "so so". But, that was not enough to deter me from visiting this hotel again. It is a great value and a great stay!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travisanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

We visited Duluth with two young children (10 and 4), plus my brother's family with their 3 children for one night. The hotel is well located on Canal Park, near a lot of activities. We had a lake view room which was worth the extra dollars and had a great view from the third floor over Lake Superior. The place was real clean, big rooms and very comfortable. Great complimentary breakfast. We walked along the boardwalk that was busy with runners and walkers of all sorts. The staff was very friendly. It is easy to walk to restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ELokker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.2 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.9 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 31 in Duluth
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
0.5 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Park Lodge

Address: 250 Canal Park Dr, Duluth, MN 55802-2314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#8 Family Hotel in Duluth
#8 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range: $143 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Canal Park Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
116 Upscale units in Duluth's Canal Park. Lakeshore Duluth Hotel features 100% smoke free guest rooms and meeting space, overlooking beautiful Lake Superior on one side, and is the gateway to the famous Canal Park on the other. Canal Park Lodge also provides easy access to the downtown area and the Lake Walk, with miles of scenic walking, running, or biking giving you a truly scenic view of the Duluth MN area. Great dining and shopping, the famous Grandma's restaurants are nearby, a timeless and local Duluth favorite. The Canal Park Brewing Company is located right next door for convenient dining. We also feature an impressive lobby, complimentary hot breakfast, and a unique pool area. Enjoy a remarkable view of Duluth from one of our balcony suites. We also offer great accommodations for groups or conferences in Duluth with meeting space, and food catered by Bellisio's & Grandmas Restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Canal Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Park Hotel Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing