We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Exceeds Expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canal Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Canal Park Lodge
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Torrington, Wyoming
Level Contributor
135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Exceeds Expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2009

My husband and I have stayed numerous times at the Canal Park Lodge. It has become our favorite place to stay while in Duluth ( We live in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan on the Keweenaw Peninsula).

The staff is extremely friendly and accommodating and the property ambiance is quite refreshing. I love the stained glass windows, which is also part of the hotel logo. Try room 221 for a real treat! This is a very large suite with full livingroom and separate bedroom with whirlpool. Amenities include a microwave and refrigerator and plenty of space to relax. And did I mention the view? Not only are you right on Lake Superior but you are connected to the famous Lake Walk in Canal Park. You have beautiful views of both the lake, the city of Duluth and the starry nights.

The hotel offers a variety of breakfast options including hot entrees (i.e. waffles (of course!), scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits n gravy, etc.), yogurts, cereals, hard-boiled eggs, pastry selections, toast, muffins, a selection of juices and milk and coffees. Probably one of the better offerings I've seen in a long time.

Try Canal Park Lodge...one visit and you will be back! Enjoy!

Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    93
    21
    10
    2
See reviews for
126
123
14
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, MN
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2009

We stayed at this lodge 2 times during the summer of 08, and had a great experience. The first time we stayed we were given a great deal (after walking in with no reservation) and got a deluxe room with a beautiful view of Lake Superior. The room was wonderful with a hot tub right in the living room and a seperate bedroom with glass doors.
The second time we stayed we had a smaller room with no balcony but still very nice.
The breakfast was good with eggs, juices, waffles, rolls, etc.
Great location in canal park near shops, the boardwalk and plenty of boats in view. Over the years I have stayed at every hotel in this same strip of hotels on the lake and this is by far the nicest one of all. I am sure that this is partly because it is brand new, but will definately return and be disappointed if I have to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank normmajean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

We went to Duluth the weekend of the Blues Fest - so basically just for fun and we were torn between two hotesl. We never once regretted our stay at The Canal Park Lodge. It was clean & comfortable. The room had a nice balcony overlooking Lake Superior, and was right in the heart of Canal Park - quite the happening place in Duluth.

Another nice thing about the hotel room was that it had a refrigerator and microwave, so we could bring our left overs (bread pudding) and save it for the next morning.

Canal Park in Duluth are a nice place to visit - it's beautiful and there is enough to keep you busy for the weekend.

Note: We visited in August and the lake water was too chilly to really swim in - it is pretty far up NORTH :)

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank babibirdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thunder bay ontario
Level Contributor
83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2008

we stayed at the canal park lodge for one night in August . it is not our usual spot in duluth but it was available an short notice. what a pleasant surprise. this hotel is finished off much better than average with wonderful little touches of decor. it was the cleanest place we've stayed at in the last few years. the pool was immacculate as was the bathroom, and the view was spectacular. the hotel was recommended to us by a local - and he was accurate. we'll be back.

Helpful?
Thank elsier33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities
Level Contributor
191 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2008

The Canal Park Lodge is right on the lake and very convenient to the Canal Park area. Parking was a breeze and check-in very efficient.

The rooms have some nice touches including 32" LCD TVs. Bed was very comfortable and the bathroom very nice.

The free breakfast was sadly pretty lousy. The scrambled eggs appeared to be powdered (and tasted like it) and the area gets pretty crowded. For the price of the room, the breakfast should have been better.

A couple of tips. Avoid the first floor rooms. They are close to the walking path area and folks walking around. Also be aware that some rooms are handicap accessible and for us the shower was hard to use because of it. Note this is an excellent place to stay and very accessible if you are handicapped. Nice touch.

  • Liked — Location on Lake Superior
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dave9956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2008

A breath of fresh air in this town of old hotel options, Canal Park Lodge is doing everything right. It is the cleanest hotel I 've ever stayed in, including rooms, lobbies, pool and hottub. Craftsman woodwork and furniture in rooms and lobbies is comfortable and beautiful. The pool room is spacious and inviting for water play and socializing. The breakfast offerings are generous. Sited on the Superior Lake Walk, many dining and shopping options are close at hand. The staff seemed happy to see me and I look forward to returning!

  • Liked — pool room
  • Disliked — NOTHING!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mermaid01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2007

This is a lovely new hotel that replaces the budget (and dumpy) Park Inn. It is a little farther from the canal than the other hotels, but it is still a short walk to everything in the Canal Park area. As others have noted, the hotel is beautifully appointed. The rooms are nice sized with REAL art on the walls. I also liked the fact that the top of the windows (kind of small windows, for a lake view) open allowing you to hear the sounds of the lake all night. One thing they hadn't ironed out when I was there was the wireless internet connection -- in some (many?) rooms you have to stand in the hall to make the connection, although you usually can hold on to it to work in the room. Just grab a cable when you check in and save yourself the trouble. It isn't budget lodging, but it isn't overpriced for what you get either. (And spring for the lake view -- it isn't that much more!) I will stay here again.

  • Liked — Beautiful hotel in a good location right on Lake Superior
  • Disliked — Internet was iffy without a cable
  • Stayed September 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ExplorationVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.9 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
0.5 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#5 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 652 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Park Lodge

Property: Canal Park Lodge
Address: 250 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#8 Family Hotel in Duluth
#9 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Canal Park Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
116 Upscale units in Duluth's Canal Park. This Newest Lakeshore Duluth Hotel features 100% smoke free guest rooms and meeting space, overlooking beautiful Lake Superior on one side, and is the gateway to the famous Canal Park on the other. Canal Park Lodge also provides easy access to the downtown area and the Lake Walk, with miles of scenic walking, running, or biking giving you a truly scenic view of the Duluth MN area. Great dining and shopping, the famous Grandma's restaurants are nearby, a timeless and local Duluth favorite. The Canal Park Brewing Company is located right next door for convenient dinning and the best pint of beer in the Twin Ports. We also feature an impressive lobby, complimentary hot breakfast, and a unique pool area. Enjoy a remarkable view of Duluth from one of our balcony suites. Our hotel is situated in the heart of Canal Park and at the end of the chain of hotels along Lake Superior, to offer you maximum comfort and privacy. We also offer great accommodations for groups or conferences in Duluth with meeting space, and food catered by Bellisio's & Grandmas Restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Canal Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Park Hotel Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing