We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Whirlpool King suite is the best room!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canal Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canal Park Lodge
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Whirlpool King suite is the best room!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Stayed here in the whirlpool king suite and it was wonderful. The bed was soft and the rainfall shower is a plus. The whirlpool fits two comfortably and is located in the bedroom which closes off with French doors. There is a separate seating area with a sofa and refrigerator. Spacious enough where we had in suite massages. The patio is facing Superior where the sunsets are amazing. The breakfast varied with eggs, bacon, cold cereals, pastries and Caribou coffee. Overall, convenient location on the boardwalk and easy access to surrounding restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: Lower level whirlpool king suites are the absolute best rooms here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    94
    21
    10
    2
See reviews for
131
124
14
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Our family loved our stay at Canal Park Lodge. We had a room with a lakeside view, a must if you love watching ships. This was our third stay at this hotel. Each time we had excellent experiences. The staff is very friendly and extremely polite and helpful. The hot breakfast is great. There is plenty of variety, even for picky eaters. They also have hot Caribou coffee in the lobby and offer a mini bar in the evenings during the peak season. This hotel has the best pool! It is extremely well maintained, the perfect temperature, and very clean without being over chlorinated. The hotel is located in an ideal location. We were able to walk to restaurants, shops, and local tourist sites. It is the only place we now stay when we are in Duluth.

Room Tip: Select a room with a lakeside view. It costs a little more but is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bird Island, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We had a great stay at this very convenient location. The hotel has a nice ambience and was up to our expectations, very clean and comfortable and I would call it upscale. It over looks beautiful Lake Superior just off the board walk that provides a short walk to Canal park, the lift bridge, many restaurants. It has complimentary hot breakfast that was fabulous.

Room Tip: Lake Superior views are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScheibelD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I spent 2 nights at Canal Park Lodge recently. We found the hotel to be very clean and the staff to be very friendly. The hotel is located in a very convenient location in Canal Park. The nightly rate is high but comparable to the other hotels in Canal Park. We would definitely return if in the area.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Judiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed in 2 queen room overlooking the lake. The view was awesome. Room size and furnishings were nice.

We enjoyed the patio on the lake and going to the beach.

Right on the lake walk and close to a number of restaurants. We enjoyed Pizza Luce and Canal Park Brewery.

The mock bar in the evenings was nice but there was not much for free food, it went very quickly.

Breakfast was ok. There are warm items but they weren't great. We stuck to the cereal and pastries mostly.

The pool is ok. I was expecting something a little bigger or nicer.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would love to come back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This newer hotel provides a slightly upscale choice among the row of Canal Park venues. Better materials & workmanship are apparent, designs are fun (wastebasket in shaoe of an ore boat funnel), & the breakfast bar contained a new twist - make your own bfast burritos, yum! We liked being able to purchase a mixed drink after a warm walk on the boarwalk, but missed the free appetizers. Our city/beach end whirpool suite was spacious & comfy, but needs better lighting. Our small deck faced the city, which was interesting & pretty at night, but just a small slice of the lake, so would be sure to select another location facing the lake more head-on. We missed being further down towards the canal, so we could see the ships coming & going.

Room Tip: Get one facing the lake, not on a city corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnesotaTrixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianola, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We always stay in Duluth 1 night on our way to Ely, MN. We love the Canal Park Lodge. Very clean, nice rooms, wonderful view of the lake and the staff is wonderful. Free breakfast is great! Within walking distance to several fun shops & restaurants.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rhondajean57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.9 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 346 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#5 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 677 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Park Lodge

Property: Canal Park Lodge
Address: 250 Canal Park Dr, Duluth, MN 55802-2314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#8 Family Hotel in Duluth
#9 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Canal Park Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
116 Upscale units in Duluth's Canal Park. This Newest Lakeshore Duluth Hotel features 100% smoke free guest rooms and meeting space, overlooking beautiful Lake Superior on one side, and is the gateway to the famous Canal Park on the other. Canal Park Lodge also provides easy access to the downtown area and the Lake Walk, with miles of scenic walking, running, or biking giving you a truly scenic view of the Duluth MN area. Great dining and shopping, the famous Grandma's restaurants are nearby, a timeless and local Duluth favorite. The Canal Park Brewing Company is located right next door for convenient dinning and the best pint of beer in the Twin Ports. We also feature an impressive lobby, complimentary hot breakfast, and a unique pool area. Enjoy a remarkable view of Duluth from one of our balcony suites. Our hotel is situated in the heart of Canal Park and at the end of the chain of hotels along Lake Superior, to offer you maximum comfort and privacy. We also offer great accommodations for groups or conferences in Duluth with meeting space, and food catered by Bellisio's & Grandmas Restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Canal Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Park Hotel Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing