We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Canal Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Canal Park Lodge
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
317 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Nice place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Very tidy and wholesome family type hotel. Very central position. Room was adequate but not outstanding. Breakfast included in rate. Staff were mostly friendly except one dragon on reception who made us feel unwelcome. Good middle of the road experience.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GrantHay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    95
    21
    10
    2
See reviews for
134
129
14
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

The hotel was extremely beautiful-I definitely recommend! The full breakfast housed in the lobby was fantastic, and they still serve coffee, cocoa, and juice all day and night! Get their fast, or conventioners take up all the big tables. The room was just a standard with no balcony, but we still had swooping views of Lake Superior! Make sure to check our Grandma's, it's right down the street, along with tons of other restaurants.

Room Tip: Grandma's Restaurant is within walking distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zach C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We held a surprise party for a family member. We booked three rooms, one of which was a suite. Unfortunately, it was also the weekend of a girls' hockey tournament. The lobby boasts a "Caribou Coffee" bar. ALL the pots were empty for approximately 1.5 hours in the main lobby. The main floor (where our rooms were) were flooded with girls from various teams running up and down the halls (well into the middle of the night), no adult supervision in the pool area which the children swarmed, the hotel desk staff was intermittently present checking in guests unrelated to the tournament group. The hotel staff could not keep up in the morning with the demand during the continental breakfast; overflowing trash cans, empty food offerings, dirty dining tables. Very poor management maintaining a relaxing, expensive visit to the hotel allowing the group of guests to dictate tone, volume, behavior, all excesses. Parents were not expected to be supervising. If the hotel knows that a large, disruptive group is occupying the hotel, would more staff be added to accommodate the demands made. Who exactly was in charge? The 8-12 year old girls or management? The children I think. It certainly smelled like it. Our tab ended up being $500+ and we spent most of that time trying to dodge sweating, screaming girls in hallways, missing out on the hors d'ourves, coffee, pool, decent service. Won't be back.

Room Tip: Pick a suite or end room along the halls. Everything else sounds like stomping elephants, especiall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mkfn1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Recommended by a friend, we are SO glad we stayed here! Close to great restaurants, our suite was HUGE, beautiful view of Lake Superior (albeit snowy). Staff was very pleasant, room was clean, and the breakfast included was nice when travelling with kids, there was something for everyone! Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: We had a suite with a pull-out couch for the kids, king bed in separate room with doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdnfirechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodbury
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Very nice family hotel. Board Games at front desk. Great lobby with the requisite lodge atmosphere. Breakfast was good with Caribou Coffee, cereal, Danish, yogurt, etc. Pool and hot tub were great. Only thing that needs improvement is the activities for kids as this is a destination lodge.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whazup123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
223 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The rooms are clean and well appointment. The decor is fresh and updated. Service is always friendly. Breakfast is hot and delicious. Great location on the shore close to stores, restaurants and entertainment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyB569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I had to come to Duluth for the death of a friend...A friend of mine and I stayed at the Canal Park Lodge. As soon as you walk in the Lodge you are engulfed with a warm and serene atmostphere. The big stone fireplace warms you through to the bones and considering Duluth and it's winters, it is inviting. The rooms are clean, lush and confortable. The staff is very curtious and helpful. The morning buffett of breakfast is outstanding with it's wide array of food choices, all for free!! And there is nothing like sitting in the back living room of the hotel and watching the boats come to and fro from the port of Duluth. Big wide windows overlook the lake. I will definately come back to stay here. It is my favorite hotel in Duluth!!

Room Tip: The rooms run a little small. We had 2 double beds. So if you need more space upgrade to a bigger ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danishgirl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.9 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 374 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#6 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 693 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Park Lodge

Property: Canal Park Lodge
Address: 250 Canal Park Dr, Duluth, MN 55802-2314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#8 Family Hotel in Duluth
#9 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Canal Park Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
116 Upscale units in Duluth's Canal Park. This Newest Lakeshore Duluth Hotel features 100% smoke free guest rooms and meeting space, overlooking beautiful Lake Superior on one side, and is the gateway to the famous Canal Park on the other. Canal Park Lodge also provides easy access to the downtown area and the Lake Walk, with miles of scenic walking, running, or biking giving you a truly scenic view of the Duluth MN area. Great dining and shopping, the famous Grandma's restaurants are nearby, a timeless and local Duluth favorite. The Canal Park Brewing Company is located right next door for convenient dinning and the best pint of beer in the Twin Ports. We also feature an impressive lobby, complimentary hot breakfast, and a unique pool area. Enjoy a remarkable view of Duluth from one of our balcony suites. Our hotel is situated in the heart of Canal Park and at the end of the chain of hotels along Lake Superior, to offer you maximum comfort and privacy. We also offer great accommodations for groups or conferences in Duluth with meeting space, and food catered by Bellisio's & Grandmas Restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Canal Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Park Hotel Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing