We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“One of the best choices in Duluth” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canal Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canal Park Lodge
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Midwest
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“One of the best choices in Duluth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We frequently visit Duluth as our son is going to college at UMD. We have stayed at several hotels and agree this property is the nicest we've stayed at in Canal Park or downtown Duluth. I travel frequently for business and am quite fussy about the hotel properties we choose. The room with king sized bed was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was large and clean with a large tub and shower with circular shower curtain. Flat screen and fridge plus no noise from neighboring rooms made the stay quite pleasant. There is a happy hour and appetizers early each evening. A full bar with drinks at 4.50 each and lots of BIG comfy chairs made the lobby area inviting. You are a short walk from the lake walk, plus a lot of local restaurants and shops. The entire hotel is clean and staff were friendly. The breakfast which was included was more than adequate as others have noted, but real eggs vs. substitute carton eggs would be welcome. I rarely rate 4 stars on my reviews. This property is certainly above 3.5 but does not warrant a 5 star rating.
We plan to stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank imreading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    93
    21
    10
    2
See reviews for
126
123
14
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I stayed at the Canal Park Lodge for business during a busy festival in Duluth. Check-in was flawless and the staff trainee and her trainer were the perfect blend of friendly, warm, helpful and efficient. The rooms were spacious and well equipped, fridge, microwave, tv, wifi all worked as they should. The bed was INCREDIBLY comfortable and I was able to sleep like a rock. There was a fully stocked happy hour cash bar that I took advantage of. Breakfast buffet was surprisingly good, well supplied with real bacon, prepackaged eggs but still tasty and 24-hour coffee pots with different varieties of Caribou coffee, thank you! Great view of Lake Superior from the porch. Small housekeeping note, keep an eye on those sink overflow drains, not a pretty sight from the bathroom mirror. Lighting in the room is good however lighting in the bathroom is a bit dim and could be brightened a bit.

Room Tip: A lakeside room is really nice, the other side looks over the parking lot and is less expensive but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gleneatswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
159 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My daughter and I stopped on the spur of the moment in high summer. We were fortunate enough to find a room at the Canal Park Lodge on the shore of Lake Superior in Duluth, MN. Lovely hotel with a beautiful view of the lake. All staff we interacted with were very helpful and friendly. Cash bar with free snacks in the lounge from 5:30-9 in the evening. Clean, quiet rooms. High ceilings and very spacious. Walk the lakeshore or ride in a horse drawn carriage. Fantastic choices at breakfast; included in the room rate. Would definitely stay here again. There is a great eatery right next store as well. Pool and hot tub area as well.

Room Tip: To be sure of the floor you want and the type of room we would highly recommend making a reservation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LCMey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Canal Park Lodge was the first place we stayed on the first leg of our honeymoon. It was also the last room in town or at least on the water. Book in advance and don't wait like we did or you will end up paying 250. or more for a weekend night! Still, we enjoyed the luxury beds and linens and food delivery from a local restaurant right to our door. The service was terrific and a very nice breakfast is served complimentary. The location was the best and I felt my car was safe in the lot (it was packed with stuff for our week long trek). Lovely visit and look forward to returning this autumn and staying at Canal Park Lodge again.

Room Tip: Definitely facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bonny132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
426 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 487 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The location of Canal Park Lodge was perfect for us. We spent a lot of time down at the beach (pebbles rather than sand) behind the lodge. I LOVED that the lakewalk runs right behind the lodge; I spent some time walking on that. It's a short three or four minute walk to the lighthouse by the aerial lift bridge, or to the bridge itself. It's also a short stroll to the many restaurants and shops in Canal Park.

The lodge was nice. It's got a northwoods theme going on, with a fireplace in the lobby. The lobby wasn't very big, but had a few chairs for guests to sit in. Even better was the sitting area past the lobby, with big windows facing the lake and comfy chairs. Many people seemed to use this sitting area. There was also an outside terrace where guests could sit and enjoy the lakeview.

The free continental breakfast was one of the better free breakfasts I've had in a hotel. It wasn't a huge spread, but what they had was pretty good. Both mornings we were there the continental breakfast included cold cereal, fruit, bagels, toast, muffins, hash browns, and make-your-own waffles. One morning they had scrambled eggs and sausages. The other morning they had bacon, chopped ham, and omelets (the frozen kind, zapped in the microwave and put in the warmer). The breakfast dining room had plenty of tables when we ate, which was by 7:00 both mornings.

In addition to the continental breakfast, the lodge also offered complimentary cookies in the afternoon, and appetizers during the evening. They had coffee, hot chocolate, and cappacino available 24/7 in the breakfast area. Even disposable coffee cups with lids so you can take your hot beverage down to the lake.

The indoor pool and hot tub were great, and there were plenty of towels. There were a few video games in the pool room. The pool was never crowded when we visited, and we swam several times a day.

Our room was room number 137, which was on the first floor. It was close to the lobby, and just a few doors down from the pool. The room (in fact, the entire lodge) was very quiet. We never heard doors slamming or people clomping down the halls. I don't know if that's due to the insulation of the lodge, or that we happened to luck out and visit when all the guests were quiet.

We would definitely stay at the Canal Park Lodge again.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms are great for taking a peek at the lake to see what the weather is like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kren250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time during our stay. We really loved the cocktail hour... It gave us time to spend alone, and to have the option of staying in and enjoying the view of Lake Superior together! It was a little expensive, but its that time of year that everyone is in Duluth! But you can't beat summers on Lake Superior.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mackg82611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a quilting show for the first time. The rooms were clean and the building was quiet. We had a two queen room overlooking the lake and watched several ships come and go. I was impressed by their no pet policy, which I am sure contributes to the cleanliness of the hotel. It is also a huge plus for those with pet allergies. The breakfast was typical with hot eggs, waffles and the normal breakfast offerings. They do have a bar for happy hour and even though we didn't use it, it would be a nice touch for a couples time away. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Minnesota42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.9 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 321 reviews
0.5 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#5 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 653 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Park Lodge

Property: Canal Park Lodge
Address: 250 Canal Park Dr, Duluth, MN 55802-2314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#8 Family Hotel in Duluth
#9 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Canal Park Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
116 Upscale units in Duluth's Canal Park. This Newest Lakeshore Duluth Hotel features 100% smoke free guest rooms and meeting space, overlooking beautiful Lake Superior on one side, and is the gateway to the famous Canal Park on the other. Canal Park Lodge also provides easy access to the downtown area and the Lake Walk, with miles of scenic walking, running, or biking giving you a truly scenic view of the Duluth MN area. Great dining and shopping, the famous Grandma's restaurants are nearby, a timeless and local Duluth favorite. The Canal Park Brewing Company is located right next door for convenient dinning and the best pint of beer in the Twin Ports. We also feature an impressive lobby, complimentary hot breakfast, and a unique pool area. Enjoy a remarkable view of Duluth from one of our balcony suites. Our hotel is situated in the heart of Canal Park and at the end of the chain of hotels along Lake Superior, to offer you maximum comfort and privacy. We also offer great accommodations for groups or conferences in Duluth with meeting space, and food catered by Bellisio's & Grandmas Restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Canal Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Park Hotel Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing