We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has Everything”
Review of Canal Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Canal Park Lodge
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Has Everything”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed over the July 4th Weekend, in a room overlooking Lake Superior. Our room had a fridge and microwave. It was quiet despite being completely full, with many families with small children. We bought a drink (free appetizers) and sat outside watching walkers, bikers, and horse-carriages go by. Service was very friendly. Breakfast was fine--lots of options, including designer coffees. Didn't have time for the pool and spa, but will use them next visit.

Room Tip: Lake side rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhotosFirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    104
    22
    11
    3
See reviews for
152
148
14
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I was staying up at Canal Park Lodge for business and it was a nice hotel. Staff was friendly, we used their meeting room, which was nice. Continental breakfast was ok, not great. But there are plenty of really good breakfast places in Duluth, so that's not a huge problem. View of the lake from the room is great. Easy walk to downtown. All in all, i would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Skip going next door to Canal Park Brewery and walk up to Fitger's Brewhouse, the service, food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UnkleTomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Our king suite on the third floor exceeded all expectations! Absolutely gorgeous, spacious, clean and spectacularly scenic. A little on the pricey side, but worth every penny. It was a cold and wet day, so our amazing balcony was rather blustery, but we appreciated it, nonetheless. The breakfast was way better than most continental spreads, and the front desk staff went above and beyond. We will return, without a doubt.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeromehotelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I recently stayed at the Canal Park Lodge for two nights. We were placed on the first floor and overlooked Lake Superior. Although our room was near the lobby and across from the public bathrooms, we did not hear that much noise. Related to the room itself, the bathroom was fine and the beds were very comfortable. I did not pay too much attention to the condition of the furniture as it is not as important to me as to other reviewers.

The breakfast buffet consisted of scrambled eggs, sausage (day one) or bacon (day two), some assorted cereals, applesauce, yogurt, breads, muffins, sweet rolls, coffee, tea and juice. The eating area was busy, but accommodated many guests at one time. Some guests also brought their breakfast back to the room. Overall, I thought the food was very good.

There is a Manager's Reception on select nights, but because of commitments, I did not take advantage of this opportunity.

I used the pool both nights...decent size. It is heated, and though not extremely deep (5 ft. is the deepest part of the pool), it offers enough size and depth to relax and have fun for people of all ages.

Lobby area is inviting...there is a fire place that I bet is often used in the winter months (which could be seven to nine in Duluth) and are areas to relax for conversation and watch television.

I would definitely stay at the Canal Park Lodge again. It is not a luxury hotel, but the convenience of the hotel to I-35, Canal Park restaurants/shops, etc. make it worth the little extra money spent toward the room rate.

Room Tip: The lake views are worth the extra money if you stay during the summer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viking78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orr, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Our 2 days in Duluth happened to be extremely foggy. It's a good thing we brought along some books. This hotel has many great common areas in which to settle down and read. There's a seating area around a fireplace in the lobby. There's a large room looking onto the lake with several cushy sofas and chairs arranged to provide spaces for individual groups. Our floor had a small table and chairs near the elevator. These areas also provided a nice atmosphere in which to enjoy the hotel's offering of evening cocktails.

The hotel is well decorated, clean and comfortable. The breakfast area is much more pleasant than in most hotels. The staff is friendly. The only improvement I could suggest would be more lighting in the bathrooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maude59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otsego, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Canal Park Lodge for an extended weekend in October. We were looking for places to stay last minute (maybe a few weeks prior to the trip) and couldn't find nice hotels with vacancies. I called Canal Park Lodge directly and they were able to find us a room at a decent price, especially considering the time of year (a little past prime fall colors season).

The Lodge is beautiful. The main public areas are large and inviting, with big couches and fireplaces to relax. Our room was very nice. We ended up with an "accessible" room...I think it was the last room left in the whole place. The decorations are very tasteful. Everything seemed very clean.

There was a conference of some sort happening that weekend, so the place was packed. That being said, we couldn't hear noices when we were in our room. Usually you can hear people running, or kids screaming, something like that, but we couldn't. Personally that says a lot about how well the building was built.

The breakfast was very nice. Even with so many people staying in the lodge, we didn't have a problem finding a table to sit at to enjoy our breakfast and coffee (Caribou Coffee - yum!).

The location is great. Close enough to the action in Canal Park, but far enough away that you didn't feel like you were in the middle of a bustling city. We walked all around Canal Park with no issues. The location may not be the best for those who can't walk longer distances, though. I think this hotel is the last hotel along the "strip" in Canal Park.

This isn't the cheapest hotel to stay at in Duluth, BUT, you have to consider the location. Canal Park is the best place to stay in my opinion. Being able to walk out the door of the lodge and step right out to the lakewalk is awesome. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that faces the lake. Ours overlooked the parking lot, which was fine as we weren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemidji, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here in June and enjoyed the hotel. The room was large and the whole hotel has been redone fairly recently with great taste. It is located on the edge of Canal Park and right on the walk way, so it is accessible to everything, including Superior Street. The breakfast was varied and the hot food was hot.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowflake26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.2 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.9 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
0.2 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
0.8 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#11 of 33 in Duluth
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Park Lodge

Property: Canal Park Lodge
Address: 250 Canal Park Dr, Duluth, MN 55802-2314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#8 Family Hotel in Duluth
#9 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Canal Park Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
116 Upscale units in Duluth's Canal Park. This Newest Lakeshore Duluth Hotel features 100% smoke free guest rooms and meeting space, overlooking beautiful Lake Superior on one side, and is the gateway to the famous Canal Park on the other. Canal Park Lodge also provides easy access to the downtown area and the Lake Walk, with miles of scenic walking, running, or biking giving you a truly scenic view of the Duluth MN area. Great dining and shopping, the famous Grandma's restaurants are nearby, a timeless and local Duluth favorite. The Canal Park Brewing Company is located right next door for convenient dinning and the best pint of beer in the Twin Ports. We also feature an impressive lobby, complimentary hot breakfast, and a unique pool area. Enjoy a remarkable view of Duluth from one of our balcony suites. Our hotel is situated in the heart of Canal Park and at the end of the chain of hotels along Lake Superior, to offer you maximum comfort and privacy. We also offer great accommodations for groups or conferences in Duluth with meeting space, and food catered by Bellisio's & Grandmas Restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Canal Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Park Hotel Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing