We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel - Great Location”
Review of Canal Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canal Park Lodge
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The Canal Park Lodge offers comfortable, quiet rooms and an extremely friendly and helpful staff. Rooms have a refrigerator. The hotel is on Lake Superior right next to a boardwalk and bike trail that runs for several miles along the shore. Great spot for watchling freighters and other boat traffic. There are many restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. The hotel has a cash bar in the late afternoon with free hot appetizers, and the free breakfast has plenty of choices.

Room Tip: Our room on the lakeside with a balcony was well worth the extra money. We enjoyed sitting on the co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coolcarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 447 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

Perfect location walking distance to restaurants and bars of Canal Park. Large rooms, comfortable, with great service. Free appetizers during Happy Hour. Simple free breakfast buffet. Workout room is average. Got hotwire discount rate and it the stay was a great value.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Very nice hotel with a great location. Comfortable beds, fab views with a very good free breakfast. Nice pool area with plenty of chairs to sit around the pool. Walking distance to everything, shopping and restaurants. Nice boardwalk to walk by the lake and plenty of ships to watch on the water. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a lake view room, its worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hockeymom46and4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here two years in a row with our dance studio families during a completion at the DECC. We love everything about it...walking paths to shops and restaurants and convention center, comfortable beds and pillows, clean and new, large pool, excellent breakfast with a large area to sit down and eat, several comfortable sitting areas to meet up with friends, staff is friendly and accommodating. Good place for all ages. Last year some of our students had to be up extra early in the morning so the staff opened the breakfast just for us!

I bet it's fabulous to stay at during the summer months when you can sit on your balcony and look out at the water.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvlgal1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This property is relatively new. The design and details are extraordinary with a large commons area that overlooks Lake Superior. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable, with wonderful beds. They are very quiet, with no noise from the hall or other floors. The breakfast buffet is large and plentiful with many choices hot and cold. The downtown and Canal Park are in easy walking distance. To top it off it's built next to a new brewery and taproom!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goldfisher132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is fantastic, for a number of reasons.
1. room rate - we asked for the Canadian Rate = fantastic!!
2. free hot breakfast - yummy
3. view - who wouldn't want to look at the lake
4. room size - king size bed, couch, tv, desk, coffee table, with plenty of room to spare

This hotel is wonderful, warm, inviting, clean and well priced.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gordon24freak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My family and I were traveling through Duluth from a funeral in late March 2013. Since it was very last minute and on a weekday, the clerk was able to get us a lake side balcony room with queen beds for $120/night. It was our first time staying there (we've always wanted to stay there before but it was always booked.) And it was exceptional!

The room was very clean and well maintained. Everything still looked new (although this hotel is several years old now) and the staff were very kind and professional.

We use the pool and whirpool with the children. It was an average size but very clean and bright. Breakfast was great because everything was clean, fresh, and they had Caribou coffee :)

I'm alreadying trying to book our next trip!

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony are hard to book so book early! They are also not directly in the middle of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missmandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.2 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.9 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 31 in Duluth
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
0.5 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Park Lodge

Address: 250 Canal Park Dr, Duluth, MN 55802-2314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#8 Family Hotel in Duluth
#8 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range: $142 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Canal Park Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
116 Upscale units in Duluth's Canal Park. Lakeshore Duluth Hotel features 100% smoke free guest rooms and meeting space, overlooking beautiful Lake Superior on one side, and is the gateway to the famous Canal Park on the other. Canal Park Lodge also provides easy access to the downtown area and the Lake Walk, with miles of scenic walking, running, or biking giving you a truly scenic view of the Duluth MN area. Great dining and shopping, the famous Grandma's restaurants are nearby, a timeless and local Duluth favorite. The Canal Park Brewing Company is located right next door for convenient dining. We also feature an impressive lobby, complimentary hot breakfast, and a unique pool area. Enjoy a remarkable view of Duluth from one of our balcony suites. We also offer great accommodations for groups or conferences in Duluth with meeting space, and food catered by Bellisio's & Grandmas Restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Canal Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Park Hotel Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing