We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canal Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canal Park Lodge
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Stillwater, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Very clean, comfortable, well appointed. Couldn't have been better served at this hotel. Stayed there spontaneously and was glad I did. Great breakfast with healthy options. I left a computer charger and makeup bag there and called that afternoon. The staff person found it immediately and mailed it to me. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    93
    21
    10
    2
See reviews for
126
123
14
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at the Canal Park Lodge will on vacation in Duluth. It is one of the cleanest rooms I have ever stayed in. They offer a wonderful hot and cold breakfast. They have the most amazing aroma as you enter their lobby, which is a really inviting atmosphere with comfy couches and a warm fireplace. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
88 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I stayed here for three nights during the winter and was very impressed with the hotel. The staff is extremely friendly and accommodating and the hotel has a very warm and welcoming feel to it. The breakfast offered a good selection, as well as good complimentary coffee throughout the day. There are several good restaurants within walking distance, my favorite of which was Amazing Graces Bakery and Cafe, their lunch is amazing. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mwall722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I've stayed here a few times in the past couple of years with my husband, and it's been great each time. The location is about perfect--it's within walking distance to shops, activities, and the lift bridge. The staff members have been friendly, and the cash bar is very convenient. Sadly the've been out of the appetizers when we've been there, but no big deal! The views of Lake Superior are fantastic, and typically you can hear the waves crashing into the shore from your lake-view balcony. So relaxing! The only thing I dislike is an unpleasant odor in the rooms (we've stayed in a couple of rooms and the odor has always been there). My husband doesn't notice it, but I do. I did mention this to the front desk awhile back but they weren't sure where the odor was coming from. Overall, this is a great place to stay in Duluth!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank britt_6135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Everything you'd expect from a great hotel ... clean, nice rooms - beautiful lobby with wonderful breakfast, very friendly and accommodating staff (considering whenever I'm there, there are usually about 100 noisy teenage female hockey players running around). Boohoo, it's our last year there for youth hockey - I shall miss you Canal Park Lodge (plus the shopping in Canal Park is always worth a look).

Room Tip: you can choose between a view of Lake Superior or the city .. whichever you prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank red728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The hotel is situated right in Canal Park which makes all that the area has to offer within walking distance. We had a room overlooking Lake Superior and a balcony. The room was spacious, clean and stocked with necessities. We happened to stay on a weekend that Duluth was hosting a huge girls hockey tourney and I was pleasantly surprised how quiet our room was with a couple hundred teen girls running around. The staff is nice, check-in fast and parking good. We were impressed with the hotel breakfast. A nice stay to be near the Canal Park area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minnesota1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

What a great place! Absolute best bath tub I've ever soaked in a hotel. Super comfy bed, quiet night (maybe 'cause it was -20!). One thing I really appreciated was the black out curtains and a lack of devices emitting light. I hate staying in hotels with things glowing and blinking everywhere. Breakfast was certainly generous, too.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doneyroney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.9 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 321 reviews
0.5 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#5 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 653 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Park Lodge

Property: Canal Park Lodge
Address: 250 Canal Park Dr, Duluth, MN 55802-2314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#8 Family Hotel in Duluth
#9 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Canal Park Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
116 Upscale units in Duluth's Canal Park. This Newest Lakeshore Duluth Hotel features 100% smoke free guest rooms and meeting space, overlooking beautiful Lake Superior on one side, and is the gateway to the famous Canal Park on the other. Canal Park Lodge also provides easy access to the downtown area and the Lake Walk, with miles of scenic walking, running, or biking giving you a truly scenic view of the Duluth MN area. Great dining and shopping, the famous Grandma's restaurants are nearby, a timeless and local Duluth favorite. The Canal Park Brewing Company is located right next door for convenient dinning and the best pint of beer in the Twin Ports. We also feature an impressive lobby, complimentary hot breakfast, and a unique pool area. Enjoy a remarkable view of Duluth from one of our balcony suites. Our hotel is situated in the heart of Canal Park and at the end of the chain of hotels along Lake Superior, to offer you maximum comfort and privacy. We also offer great accommodations for groups or conferences in Duluth with meeting space, and food catered by Bellisio's & Grandmas Restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Canal Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Park Hotel Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing