We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“This place is always pure fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canal Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canal Park Lodge
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“This place is always pure fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Everything you'd expect from a great hotel ... clean, nice rooms - beautiful lobby with wonderful breakfast, very friendly and accommodating staff (considering whenever I'm there, there are usually about 100 noisy teenage female hockey players running around). Boohoo, it's our last year there for youth hockey - I shall miss you Canal Park Lodge (plus the shopping in Canal Park is always worth a look).

Room Tip: you can choose between a view of Lake Superior or the city .. whichever you prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank red728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    93
    21
    10
    2
See reviews for
126
123
14
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The hotel is situated right in Canal Park which makes all that the area has to offer within walking distance. We had a room overlooking Lake Superior and a balcony. The room was spacious, clean and stocked with necessities. We happened to stay on a weekend that Duluth was hosting a huge girls hockey tourney and I was pleasantly surprised how quiet our room was with a couple hundred teen girls running around. The staff is nice, check-in fast and parking good. We were impressed with the hotel breakfast. A nice stay to be near the Canal Park area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minnesota1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

What a great place! Absolute best bath tub I've ever soaked in a hotel. Super comfy bed, quiet night (maybe 'cause it was -20!). One thing I really appreciated was the black out curtains and a lack of devices emitting light. I hate staying in hotels with things glowing and blinking everywhere. Breakfast was certainly generous, too.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doneyroney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We made our sort of annual New Years weekend in Duluth again, and thought we'd try the Canal Park Lodge. Turned out to be a good choice. New Years eve can be a bit of a crap shoot with noisier guests and under staffing but this hotel seems to have it figured it out. Staff was friendly, attentive, rooms were tidy and clean and above all, this was by far the quietest hotel we have ever stayed at. No banging doors, no thumping floors, no squeaky fans or radiators, just quiet. And there were a fair number of families with kids there, many skiers judging by the boots and boards streaming through the lobby.
Location is great - easy walking to several restaurants, shopping, the shipping canal.hot breakfast was good, better selection than most others we've seen. And they have Real Coffee (caribou) which is a rarity in Minnesota or North Dakota hotels! Thank you Thank you Thank you Thank you..lol didn't have a change to try the cash bar, although it looked well stocked and had a pleasant sitting area attached. Pool and hot tub were standard fare.
The Canal Park Lodge moved to the top of our Duluth hotels list. And did i mention REAL COFFEE... :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beaker13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Nice view of the water, great location to canal park, beds comfortable, heat was quite! Staff were helpful! The power was off for 1 hour no fault of the hotel. The staff went room to room to ensure that the guest were ok!

Room Tip: Ask for water front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0604sherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

This is now our hotel of choice after staying at the Inn on Lake Superior several times a year for many years. We love the lodge because it's cleaner, has a nicer pool, better parking, the rooms are in better shape and a superior breakfast. However this is our third stay in 2012 and again the wifi and wired Internet is terrible on our Apple devices, including a new MacBook Air and iPhone 5. It seems to be an issue with their hardware but has yet to be resolved. We originally brought the issue to their attention in June of 2012 and again in September. Hopefully they will have it fixed early in 2013.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank digerati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I stayed here in July, 2012. I had wanted to stay here for a long time because of how it looks on the outside-very nice grounds, clean, and right on the Lake's edge. I stayed in a room with 2 queen beds and a balcony. the bathroom was large and very nice, modern. The patio had a small table and a couple of chairs and our view of Lake Superior was great! I had requested a rollaway bed, which was not in our room apun arrival. I did have to call down to the desk and they said they would bring it up to the room. We were leaving, but said that was fine if they brought it when we were out. They did not deliver the rollaway, so we had to call again and they brought it right up to us, so not really that big of a deal. They also did not charge us for the rollaway since the room description shows that it sleeps 5 people, but there were only 2 beds. The inside of the hotel is beautiful and clean. There are bikes right out front that can be rented. The breakfast was great and there was plenty of variety. It is also within walking distance of all the fun things to do in Canal Park. It was a bit pricey, but so are all of the other hotels in canal park. I would love to stay here again! I do not think there is a restaurant on site, but it is close to many restaurants. I gave it an excellent review in the restaurant category because the breakfast was so good and they have complimentary Caribou coofee in the lobby.

Room Tip: Beautiful view from the lake side of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chopperkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.9 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 321 reviews
0.5 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#5 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 653 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Park Lodge

Property: Canal Park Lodge
Address: 250 Canal Park Dr, Duluth, MN 55802-2314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#8 Family Hotel in Duluth
#9 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Canal Park Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
116 Upscale units in Duluth's Canal Park. This Newest Lakeshore Duluth Hotel features 100% smoke free guest rooms and meeting space, overlooking beautiful Lake Superior on one side, and is the gateway to the famous Canal Park on the other. Canal Park Lodge also provides easy access to the downtown area and the Lake Walk, with miles of scenic walking, running, or biking giving you a truly scenic view of the Duluth MN area. Great dining and shopping, the famous Grandma's restaurants are nearby, a timeless and local Duluth favorite. The Canal Park Brewing Company is located right next door for convenient dinning and the best pint of beer in the Twin Ports. We also feature an impressive lobby, complimentary hot breakfast, and a unique pool area. Enjoy a remarkable view of Duluth from one of our balcony suites. Our hotel is situated in the heart of Canal Park and at the end of the chain of hotels along Lake Superior, to offer you maximum comfort and privacy. We also offer great accommodations for groups or conferences in Duluth with meeting space, and food catered by Bellisio's & Grandmas Restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Canal Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Park Hotel Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing