We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inexpensive, Great Beer, Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Burrito Union

Burrito Union
Ranked #91 of 254 Restaurants in Duluth
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Inexpensive, Great Beer, Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

I've spent about 10 days of my life in Duluth and ate here about 8 times. Great beer selection (mostly from local brewer Fitgers). Food portions are huge and inexpensive. Salsa options are incredible.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bezus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    23
    18
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
108 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Late night taco and beer special!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I don't live in Duluth anymore but when we come back to visit we always hit up Burrito Union for the Late Night Beer and Taco special. It's two taco's and a pint for $5 (and the beer is Brew House beer!). It's one of the best deals around, in my opinion. I've seen people comment on the service being bad, which it can be, but you gotta try and look though that. When my friends and I go we are more interested in hanging out for a while and not really worrying about when we get our food. :) Yes, I've had bad service here before but it never stopped me from coming back to enjoy the food and atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill City, Oregon
Level Contributor
165 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“I really wanted to like it, but the service was so bad it ruined our visit”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

The setting is attractive and it is well set up to be a fun atmosphere with good food. But, the service was so bad, it runied our visit. When I finally got my burrito it was good, but not the best I've ever had. I'll try this place again and hope for a better outcome.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SelwaySteward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, MN
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for a Burrito!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

I love this place.....great food and Brewhouse beer. Yum, yum is all I can say...eat or drink at this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
161 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Poor service, average food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Burrito Union does have one "best of" title in Duluth: "best worst service in Duluth." Seriously, it's bad. I've not returned to this place in over a year. I only went to check it out since I've heard so many wonderful things from my oft-incorrect hipster friends.

First of all, it took forever for a hostess to even seat us. After we were seated, it took forever for someone to come around and get our drink order. Then, after almost 40 minutes (seriously), I flagged down a waitress to order. When our food did arrive in an acceptable amount of time (nice work on that one, at least), my chicken burrito didn't have chicken.

When we finally got our bill, we had squandered almost two hours for what Chipotle does in five minutes. I know they have a decent beer selection, but I only got to try one because of the horrid service. I won't return, no matter what my friends say. I honestly can't think of a place that has had worse service than this...and I've been in a restaurant where a dude brought a gun into it (long story, and it wasn't in Duluth.)

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fonixmunkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Burrito Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing