We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog intolerant not dog friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Reviewed April 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Duluth Sheraton on a Saturday evening in March due to the location in Downtown Duluth and being billed as "Dog Friendly". The room was by far more expensive than any other room in town, but we believed it to be worth it due to being dog friendly and offering amenities such as dog bowls and dog bed.

We requested a room away from the elevator to avoid voices and loud noises disturbing our very tired pup. The staff placed us on the "dog floor" directly across from the ice machine inside the hotel and the bus stop outside the hotel. Despite our requests for a quite room, we were placed in one of the loudest.

We briefly left our room with our 9lb pup safely kenneled and quickly received a call from the front desk that our dog was barking and was not to be left alone at any time while we were staying at the hotel (barking was unconfirmed as we returned to a sleeping dog). The front desk staff then made us complete a dog waiver, and treated us poorly even though they did not explain at check in nor did the hotel website detail that we were "never to leave the dog unattended".
None of the dog friendly amenities, or niceties were extended to us during our stay. I would not recomend this hotel when traveling with your pet.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ionx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug B, General Manager at Sheraton Duluth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear Ionx,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our hotel, I appreciate your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your experience did not meet, nor exceed your expectations.
We strive to provide a warm and comfortable stay for all of our guests, human and canine alike. It is regrettable that you did not receive your preferred room placement in the hotel, and that you did not receive your pet's amenities.
Please feel free to reach out to me directly at 218-336-2719, if you would like to discuss your experience further.
Thank you again for your comments, I hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back during your next visit to Duluth.

Warm Regards,

Doug Bremer
General Manager
Sheraton Duluth Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 372 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2014

A quick overnight business trip to Duluth. First time staying at this property.

Reasonable rate. Excellent accommodations. Friendly staff who helped me navigate to the hotel from the airport when my GPS wasn't properly functioning. Appreciated the Starwood Club floor and the warm and inviting 6th Floor Club Room, which had an adequate complimentary continental breakfast selection. The short duration of my visit did not allow for utilizing any other onsite amenities such as fitness center or restaurant, so cannot comment or rate those.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 515travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We went as a last minute trip which we booked while in the USA Beautiful and clean room with good view from the front staff very welcoming bar area very comfortable and restaurant enjoyable but pool area could have do with a little more tlc

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallyall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Old dated rooms, untrained staff, no hot water in the room and a surprise "security deposit" charge of $300 on your visa when you get home. To make it worse, when you call to question the "surprise" charge that they never mentioned at check in, you get a person trying to explain it away that the bank decides how much to take????? To be fair, they did move us because they had no hot water in the room,but what a pain to pack up and move after you are all settled and trying to get to a dinner reservation. And, we had to move ourselves....

Room Tip: somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GordW1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This is my favorite hotel in Duluth. Rooms are clean and updated. I also really like the area downtown for this hotel. Many good eating and drinking establishments within walking distance. I like it much better than the canal park area which also has many hotels. The health club is very nice and well maintained. Lobby bar and restaurant are very good as well.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank jim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel with great amenities in an outstanding location. The hotel is in the center of downtown Duluth and has easy access to everything Duluth has to offer. Our room was exactly what I would expect from a 4 star hotel except for the noise level. We were in a room near the elevator and even though people weren't being obnoxiously loud we could hear every group that got on or off that elevator, when you are trying to relax or sleep that can be very annoying! We have stayed in 4 star hotels all over the world and this one was definitely the noisiest!

Room Tip: As far from the elevator as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7ContinentsExplored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

By far the best place to stay in Duluth. I've stayed many times both for business and pleasure. Very clean and modern accommodations along with very friendly staff. When traveling with my family for pleasure- we make it a point to stay there. My family consists of my wife and two German Shepherds- YES- this place is VERY dog friendly and my pooches always get a warm reception from the staff. Keep up the great work!!

Room Tip: Try to get the lakeside rooms for obvious reasons- the "city" view room consist of looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tool578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug B, General Manager at Sheraton Duluth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Tool578,
Thank you for your very kind review of our hotel. We will look forward to welcoming you, your wife, and your two German Shepherds back during your next visit to Duluth!

Warm regards,

Doug Bremer
General Manager
Sheraton Duluth Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
2.5 mi away
Residence Inn Duluth
Residence Inn Duluth
#12 of 31 in Duluth
260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fitger's Inn
Fitger's Inn
#13 of 31 in Duluth
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#8 of 31 in Duluth
900 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Duluth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Duluth Hotel

Address: 301 E Superior St, Duluth, MN 55802-2119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range: $142 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Duluth Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Duluth Hotel is ideal for business, weekend getaways, or vacation. Connected via skyway to all four Essentia Health care buildings and minutes from the Duluth International Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Duluth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Duluth
Duluth Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing