We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very nice in the heart of the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Duluth Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
600 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Very nice in the heart of the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Sheraton Duluth was a nice place to stay for a recent business trip. The hotel was within walking distance to everything I needed to do and the room faced out on the Lake, which was fantastic. The staff was courteous, even offering to drive me a few blocks to pick up a pizza I had ordered since it was raining outside. I braved the elements without the ride, but I liked the fact they offered to drive me such a short distance. The room was clean and I liked the fact the desk faced out the window. Overall, the Sheraton Duluth made my stay much better than it could have been and I appreciate that.

Room Tip: Get a high room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank GoodFood88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, General Manager at Sheraton Duluth Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for the kind review GoodFood88!

Traveling for business sometimes can feel a little less than glamorous or rewarding, like a vacation can. I'm thrilled to hear you found the location and our associates to meet your business travel needs. I will be sharing your feedback with the front office team so they know, sometimes simply offering to help can make a difference to our guests. We look forward to seeing you on your next business trip and hope you keep us in mind when planning a vacation as well.

Warm Regards,
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    102
    38
    15
    14
See reviews for
72
103
20
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is a great hotel for the money. One of the better places to stay in Duluth--which is a city full of mainly so-so hotels. Everything was clean and new, the staff was helpful and the price was fair. I strongly recommend paying the extra $20 for the lake side view rooms. We stayed on the top floor. It provided an excellent view of Lake Superior, the pier lights and the Lift Bridge/Canal Park area. 301 is a good on-site restaurant.

Room Tip: Highest floor possible on the lake side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wx8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Traveling with my wife and two grown sons to do a watercolor demonstration at Duluth Pack Outfitters, we needed a room large enough to accommodate the four of us. This hotel more than provided that. Our room was very clean and nice with two queen beds and a pull out sofa. Starbucks coffee in the room, too.

For about $190.00 for the night I was very pleased.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spencer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmcdmc
Level Contributor
65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Nice spa feel to bath. Clean and comfy. Beds and bedding top quality, but small. Awesome military discount. Convenient location to downtown. Robe in room was nice touch. Starbucks coffee room a plus. Nice toiletries

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmcdmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Nebagamon, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Great room and great location for either downtown business or pleasure. Staff was very friendly and the room perfectly clean. What knocked it from 5 'stars' for me was that we purchased the 'breakfast for 2' package for $16. But that only covered the 'American' breakfast which was $8 each -- what a deal. (And the breakfast wasn't very good either.)

Room Tip: Lakeside, 'club' level provides a wonderful view of Lake Superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

All the Sheratons I have stayed at have been very much the same. Everything seems to be of good quality from the furnishings to the bedding. The location of this one is very good if you like to walk around the downtown area. The parking is good once you figure it out. There is a 15 min loading/unloading parking spot in front of the hotel and I recommend using this and going to the desk to check in first The front desk person will take the confusion out of parking in the parkade which turned out to be ok as long as you remember to get them to validate before you go out to your car. We stayed on the 6th floor lakeside which has a nice view. The only thing that was sub-par to the other Sheratons I have stayed in was the breakfast selection.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stuart m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed here for a wintery weekend in Duluth. The location is great for those who want to stick to downtown and its offerings. The hotel is right across the street and in the vicinity of a number of bars/restaurants (we really enjoyed Carmody's, right across the street) and a few blocks away from Fitger's. It's also a short walk to the lake and beaches, much of it on an off-street boardwalk away from the hustle and bustle of cars.

The rooms were clean and the beds very comfortable. I slept very well and did not even notice the fact that we were facing a commercial street. We also made use of the gym, which was small but well maintained, and included machines, weights and an assortment of exercise balls, stretching ropes, mats, etc.

The staff were also helpful and accommodating. Our flight into Duluth landed too late to take advantage of the hotel's free airport shuttle, but the front desk called a cab for us. They were also very accommodating on our last day, when we thought our flight had been cancelled on account of snow. They allowed us to book a room for an extra night and cancel the reservation at the last minute, no questions asked, once we found a way home.

One downside to this hotel, which is common to most (if not all) Sheratons, is that you have to pay for internet in your room (there are free options at kiosks within the hotel) and there is no free breakfast (although the hotel does have a restaurant/bar).

Overall I would recommend this hotel for those looking for a comfortable hotel right in downtown Duluth.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank actrombone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
1.2 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 345 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#5 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 676 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Duluth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Duluth Hotel

Property: Sheraton Duluth Hotel
Address: 301 E Superior St, Duluth, MN 55802-2119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Duluth Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Duluth Hotel is ideal for business, weekend getaways, or vacation. Connected via skyway to all four Essentia Health care buildings and minutes from the Duluth International Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Sheraton Duluth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Duluth
Duluth Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing