We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Duluth
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveler rating
112
6
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
112
6
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam shower lift bridge nelson suite canal park large sink wonderful hosts bottled water weather permitting other guests the lake superior suite big lake short walk chocolate chip cookies each morning perfect stay ships coming and going close proximity
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 119 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2019

Wow! Unlike any B&B we have stay. You will love it too...

From the time we walked in, the love that Brian and Mary have put into their heavenly B&B was evident - beautiful care to preserve the history of the home, the artwork and decor and its location on Lake Superior were amazing. We were a little sad that the garden was trying to come to life since they had snow only a few weeks ago (it's an excuse to return when it is in full bloom). I imagine that it makes it even more magical. My wife and I felt like we were in a different world while staying the 3 nightly at Solglimt.

Check in process was great with Mary showing us around the Inn and the details of our room (Point Park suite). Wonderful hospitality. Our room (and the entire B&B was spotless). There is an Amazon echo in the room to listen to music, get the weather report, etc. The tub is air jetted and you can control the intensity of the bubbles which was so relaxing. The shower was great for me being 6'4" as it had a tall extension so there was no bending down - good hot water and pressure.

Breakfast was equally beautiful and delicious - 3 courses and very filling. Brian was a wonderful breakfast host. Fresh local ingredients. We looked forward to meeting the other couples each morning. Mary was able to provide an earlier breakfast our last morning so that we could get to our boat tour on time.

The view from our suite of the gardens and the Lake was beautiful. There was 2 chairs in the room for watching the sailboats race (Wednesday evenings all summer), oar boats or jet skis). There was many seating areas in the many different public spaces at the Inn. We especially liked the new roof top deck. Gave us nearly a 360 degree view of Lake Superior, the bridge, and the harbor.

We had a wonderful time and are already planning on when we can return. Thank you to Brian and Mary for the great hospitality and all the hours of love and sweat you have poured into the B&B. It certainly shows.

Room tip: Park Point room in newer addition and looks out to garden and lake. Has queen size bed, jetted tub and shower.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2019

This first class B&B is a very short walk over the bridge to many restaurants, shops and marina area. The B&B is right on the shore of Lake Superior so you can watch the big lake and ocean ships as they go into the shipping channel. Our room had a great view of the lake and gardens. There were many amenities in our room, including a fireplace, seating area, and a hot tub. Everything was top notch and clean. The whole house has wonderful art and there is a spacious common area, complete with fresh baked cookies! The hosts are excellent and our breakfast was delicious! This is what you look for when you are interested in staying at a real B&B.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2019

Our first experience at a B&B exceeded expectations! Mary and Brian are super hosts that created a welcoming and perfect stay in Duluth. The location is great as you can walk to all Canal Park restaurants and even the Amsoil Arena. We stayed in the Nelson suite which is closest to the front door and dining area but we had no issues with hearing noise from those areas or noise from the street as that is your room view. Breakfast at 9am sharp is provided by Mary & Brian and it's a delicious 3-course meal that keeps you full enough to skip lunch. They also note what you've eaten during your stay to try not to repeat for your next stay (said a fellow regular guest we met). I was hesitant to think the meal would be awkward to eat with other guests but it was great to rehash your day with them and get ideas of what else you can do or go out to eat in/around Duluth. They allow 3 cars in their lot and then street parking. While we went in the winter, the pictures of their gardens in the summer look impeccable. We will always try to stay here when we visit Duluth and highly recommend it to friends & family!

Room tip: All great. Nelson suite has view of the street so would try to get a room with lake view.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calrob9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2019

We were a little aprehensive booking here as it was our first experience with a B&B. I think we started with the best! From the hospitality of Mary and Brian, the fantastic food and the views being right on Lake Supeior this was first class all the way. We can't wait to be able to stay there again.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank sen22018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2018 via mobile

Fantastic place to stay in every way. Have been coming to Duluth since 70’s and have stayed in many nice places ,, I think we found our favorite. Excellent, friendly owners - Mary and Brian have been in this house for 40 years and running B&B for 18 and their attention to detail and their guests covers all.
Stayed in Lk Superior suite And what a fantastic room - large, clean, quiet, very comfortable king size bed with fabulous sheets and covers.. large 2 sink bathroom with incredible steam shower combination. Best view around - 2 large windows facing Lk Superior and lift bridge. All amenities provided from Aveda bath products to hair dryer.
Perfect location, 1/2 block from lift bridge - close to canal park or Bentleyville to walk or easy access anywhere else to drive but away from noise and congestion of Canal area.
Fantastic 3 course breakfast at 9 each morning with coffee or tea up by 7. Candies, cookies, soft drinks, water out for whenever the urge strikes.....
Rest of the house beautifully decorated and very interesting to investigate.
Owners very friendly/nice to talk to - know the area and will give all the help/suggestions needed. And as usually we find - great guests to share things to do - favorite restaurants/places.
Give this place a try, like us you won’t believe it took so long to find it.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank jimyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews