We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Winter Getaway.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solglimt Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Solglimt Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Solglimt Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
Lake Elmo, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Winter Getaway.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I brought my wife here to celebrate her January birthday and it was perfect! We have been to several B&Bs over the last 14 years, one several times and several once only - we plan to come back to Solglimt! The accommodations were spacious, comfortable and we felt completely at home. Brian and Mary provided us with delicious gourmet breakfasts and they were wonderful hosts with tips for things to see and do and they had good local dining advice. The location is fantastic for watching the ever-changing scenery on Lake Superior, especially at sunrise. It is in walking distance to shopping, dining, the Lake Superior Maritime Visitor Center and the Lakewalk area just across the Aerial Lift Bridge. We had good timing on the second day there, as we caught the lift bridge going up and watched all of the excitement as the Arthur M. Anderson Cargo Ship passed through the canal. I asked Mary to have Roses in the room for my wife, and she was happy to do that for me. My wife and I had a great time at Solglimt and in Duluth and look forward to our next stay with Brian and Mary.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Aerial Bridge Suite which was fantastic - very comfortable bed, relaxing air jet tu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brianinlakeelmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
67
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We had an excellent time over the weekend we stayed here. We were having our last "getaway" before our 3rd child is born. Truly relaxing. Room was upgraded! Food was very delicious. We left feeling refreshed. We stayed in the Lake Superior Suite - great view! Hope to be back someday.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with a view - won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMVC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

So fun and so much character. This is a super unique property very close to Canal and right ont the lake! We really enjoyed our stay at Solglimt. Stayed in the Harbor View which had a great fire place to curl up and read by as well as a jet tub.

Very well kept and great service. Breakfast was phenomenal! Come cook for me, Mary! Check in was easy though we arrived after dinner time.

Even in the winter tundra it was warm and inviting. Can't wait to return in the summer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MB89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This was our first visit to Solglimt B&B. We will definitely be back! The rooms were modern and comfortable with a great view of Lake Superior. The innkeepers were very accommodating - even with a Gluten allergy, freshly baked, Gluten Free cookies were awaiting us upon arrival. The breakfast was also very tasty!

Room Tip: Beautiful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akhaugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This was our 2nd visit at Solglimt B & B and we loved it both times. Wonderful location, very clean, comfortable atmosphere, friendly people, and delicious food. We will definitely visit it again and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peggy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

My husband and I sent four nights here as a belated honeymoon, having gotten marries this summer. Neither of us had been to a bed and breakfast before. The breakfasts are delicious - couldn't ask for better food. The rooms are well kept and clean, and the owners are wonderful and very helpful. We stayed in the Harbor room and really enjoyed it. It was quiet, fun, and relaxing, just what we needed.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K_Rakoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Our first stay was in winter of 2012, so for our wedding anniversary we returned in fall. Our first trip we stayed in the loft, this time we splurged for the lake view suite. It was just wonderful. Two very comfortable chairs in front of a window overlooking Lake superior (right on the shore). We saw ships coming and going through the lift gate canal. On the warmer day we spent time on the beach sipping wine on a provided lawn chair. They also have a number of seating with tables on their porch, but visibility to the water is less. The be is king size and comfortable, bathroom very big with steam room.

Now the breakfast is start of the show, 3 course wonderfully prepared. Enjoyed time meeting other couples.

The owners were very accommodating and even served us breakfast an hour earlier than normal since we had to leave early.

I'm not a B&B person, but this place in an exception, highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tgbdp54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.1 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#5 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 653 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
1.1 mi away
Fitger's Inn
Fitger's Inn
#11 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solglimt Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solglimt Bed & Breakfast

Property: Solglimt Bed & Breakfast
Address: 828 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Duluth MN bed breakfasts offer a more intimate experience with Lake Superior's shores. Right here in Canal Park, Solglimt brings you as close to the Lake as you can get! Solglimt, is on a seven-mile strip of sand reaching out into Lake Superior’s clear blue. Relax in your perfectly appointed room and head down for a delicately prepared gourmet meal, then head out to explore our gardens, the shore, the ships and the city beyond. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing