We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Solglimt Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend away”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We had an excellent time over the weekend we stayed here. We were having our last "getaway" before our 3rd child is born. Truly relaxing. Room was upgraded! Food was very delicious. We left feeling refreshed. We stayed in the Lake Superior Suite - great view! Hope to be back someday.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with a view - won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMVC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
72
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

So fun and so much character. This is a super unique property very close to Canal and right ont the lake! We really enjoyed our stay at Solglimt. Stayed in the Harbor View which had a great fire place to curl up and read by as well as a jet tub.

Very well kept and great service. Breakfast was phenomenal! Come cook for me, Mary! Check in was easy though we arrived after dinner time.

Even in the winter tundra it was warm and inviting. Can't wait to return in the summer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MB89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This was our first visit to Solglimt B&B. We will definitely be back! The rooms were modern and comfortable with a great view of Lake Superior. The innkeepers were very accommodating - even with a Gluten allergy, freshly baked, Gluten Free cookies were awaiting us upon arrival. The breakfast was also very tasty!

Room Tip: Beautiful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akhaugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This was our 2nd visit at Solglimt B & B and we loved it both times. Wonderful location, very clean, comfortable atmosphere, friendly people, and delicious food. We will definitely visit it again and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peggy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed December 5, 2013

My husband and I sent four nights here as a belated honeymoon, having gotten marries this summer. Neither of us had been to a bed and breakfast before. The breakfasts are delicious - couldn't ask for better food. The rooms are well kept and clean, and the owners are wonderful and very helpful. We stayed in the Harbor room and really enjoyed it. It was quiet, fun, and relaxing, just what we needed.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K_Rakoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Our first stay was in winter of 2012, so for our wedding anniversary we returned in fall. Our first trip we stayed in the loft, this time we splurged for the lake view suite. It was just wonderful. Two very comfortable chairs in front of a window overlooking Lake superior (right on the shore). We saw ships coming and going through the lift gate canal. On the warmer day we spent time on the beach sipping wine on a provided lawn chair. They also have a number of seating with tables on their porch, but visibility to the water is less. The be is king size and comfortable, bathroom very big with steam room.

Now the breakfast is start of the show, 3 course wonderfully prepared. Enjoyed time meeting other couples.

The owners were very accommodating and even served us breakfast an hour earlier than normal since we had to leave early.

I'm not a B&B person, but this place in an exception, highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tgbdp54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had a great stay at Solglimt in early September, beginning with a warm welcome from Mary and tour of the house and continuing through late night chocolate chip cookies and a wonderful breakfast the next morning. Our only regret was that we didn't have more time to spend - we enjoyed touring Duluth and the North Shore but found ourselves thinking how nice it would be to spend more time at the B&B itself... "this would be perfect for a hot July day we could spend near the water. But, you know, it would also be a great place to sit during a snow storm and watch the flakes fall on Lake Superior."

We stayed in the Lake Superior suite and highly recommend it. There's no fireplace or bathtub but the views of the lake, the high ceiling, the sitting nook (perfect for relaxing and reading) and steam generator more than make up for it. I'm sure the other rooms are great, too, but we'll certainly ask for the Lake Superior one next time we're back. I've often thought that the mark of a good B&B is the owners' attention to the little things, and Mary and Brian had definitely put time into all sorts of details. From the aforementioned delicious cookies waiting when we arrived (and again when we got back after dinner!) to the gorgeous gardens and well-stocked fridge and coffee/tea area, they clearly put a lot of time and effort into making Solglimt a welcoming place and it shows. We're looking forward to visiting again and have already started recommending it to friends and family looking for a getaway to Duluth!

Room Tip: Loved the Lake Superior Suite with amazing lake views, high ceilings and plenty of space to read and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrintiFiBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
495 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.1 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.5 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
1.1 mi away
Fitger's Inn
Fitger's Inn
#14 of 33 in Duluth
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solglimt Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solglimt Bed & Breakfast

Property: Solglimt Bed & Breakfast
Address: 828 S Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802-2404
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Duluth MN bed breakfasts offer a more intimate experience with Lake Superior's shores. Right here in Canal Park, Solglimt brings you as close to the Lake as you can get! Solglimt, is on a seven-mile strip of sand reaching out into Lake Superior’s clear blue. Relax in your perfectly appointed room and head down for a delicately prepared gourmet meal, then head out to explore our gardens, the shore, the ships and the city beyond. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing