We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“2nd visit awesome, like the first” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Solglimt Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Solglimt Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“2nd visit awesome, like the first”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Our first stay was in winter of 2012, so for our wedding anniversary we returned in fall. Our first trip we stayed in the loft, this time we splurged for the lake view suite. It was just wonderful. Two very comfortable chairs in front of a window overlooking Lake superior (right on the shore). We saw ships coming and going through the lift gate canal. On the warmer day we spent time on the beach sipping wine on a provided lawn chair. They also have a number of seating with tables on their porch, but visibility to the water is less. The be is king size and comfortable, bathroom very big with steam room.

Now the breakfast is start of the show, 3 course wonderfully prepared. Enjoyed time meeting other couples.

The owners were very accommodating and even served us breakfast an hour earlier than normal since we had to leave early.

I'm not a B&B person, but this place in an exception, highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tgbdp54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
71
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had a great stay at Solglimt in early September, beginning with a warm welcome from Mary and tour of the house and continuing through late night chocolate chip cookies and a wonderful breakfast the next morning. Our only regret was that we didn't have more time to spend - we enjoyed touring Duluth and the North Shore but found ourselves thinking how nice it would be to spend more time at the B&B itself... "this would be perfect for a hot July day we could spend near the water. But, you know, it would also be a great place to sit during a snow storm and watch the flakes fall on Lake Superior."

We stayed in the Lake Superior suite and highly recommend it. There's no fireplace or bathtub but the views of the lake, the high ceiling, the sitting nook (perfect for relaxing and reading) and steam generator more than make up for it. I'm sure the other rooms are great, too, but we'll certainly ask for the Lake Superior one next time we're back. I've often thought that the mark of a good B&B is the owners' attention to the little things, and Mary and Brian had definitely put time into all sorts of details. From the aforementioned delicious cookies waiting when we arrived (and again when we got back after dinner!) to the gorgeous gardens and well-stocked fridge and coffee/tea area, they clearly put a lot of time and effort into making Solglimt a welcoming place and it shows. We're looking forward to visiting again and have already started recommending it to friends and family looking for a getaway to Duluth!

Room Tip: Loved the Lake Superior Suite with amazing lake views, high ceilings and plenty of space to read and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrintiFiBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was our second visit to Solglimit, the best B&B in Duluth. The lake views, the perfect suite and close proximity to Canal Park make this a great place to stay. Brian and Mary are most gracious hosts. You will enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulieGirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We loved having the view of the Lake and using the binoculars to check out the ships on the Lake. The steam shower was a treat. We could only enjoy one breakfast and it was a feast for the eyes and delicious too. Location perfect! everything wonderful.

Room Tip: Lake View worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, South Dakota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

This was our first B&B stay and it's going to be hard to beat Solglimt! The location is perfect, less than a 5 min walk to Canal Park, and right on the beach of Lake Superior. They have so many complimentary amenities available to guests including beach chairs, towels, and umbrellas to enjoy the beach, snacks, all sorts of coffee, tea, and beverages, cookies (the best ever!), and binoculars to view the harbor. The breakfasts were amazing; 3 course gourmet dishes. The weather allowed breakfast to be served on the outdoor patio overlooking the lake. We stayed in the Park Point suite and had an amazing view. Our room was very clean and spacious and included a huge soaker tub with air jets, a fireplace and an incredibly comfortable bed. Mary and Brian were so friendly and made sure we had everything we needed but gave us our privacy. As a young newly married couple, we weren't sure what to expect staying at a B&B but we loved it and can't wait to go back!! Such a great experience, I'd recommend Solglimt to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brighton, Minnesota
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

This B&B is on the water's edge. It truly has the best view of Lake Superior out of all the wonderful B&B's we have tried in Duluth. If it is views of the water, close access to Canal Park and a spot to relax this is the B&B for you. The rooms are clean, comfy and have TV if you desire access to media. The common rooms are cozy, offer a get away outside your room retreat. Don't miss the garden oasis. Sit in a secluded spot or gather with other guests your choice. Breakfast's are delicious and filling. The inn keepers friendly, willing to let you sit and relax or give advise on places to go and places to dine. A must see place for those who love Duluth.

Room Tip: If it is lake view you wish ask as you reserve your room. I don't believe their is a bad choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jayne-Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Mn
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We have stayed at this B&B about 6 times in 2 different rooms. We love the location (12 houses from the lift bridge!), the views from both sides of the house, the gardens, it's lake front location, and the fantastic breakfasts. Brian & Mary are great hosts, and the property is wonderful. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Duluth! It is as beautiful as the pictures on their website.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loangalsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
0.6 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#14 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solglimt Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solglimt Bed & Breakfast

Property: Solglimt Bed & Breakfast
Address: 828 S Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802-2404
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Duluth MN bed breakfasts offer a more intimate experience with Lake Superior's shores. Right here in Canal Park, Solglimt brings you as close to the Lake as you can get! Solglimt, is on a seven-mile strip of sand reaching out into Lake Superior’s clear blue. Relax in your perfectly appointed room and head down for a delicately prepared gourmet meal, then head out to explore our gardens, the shore, the ships and the city beyond. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing