We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on our family vacation to Duluth. Check in was not to impressed with the guy was very soft spoken and didn't really explain anything to us like check out time where our room was things like that. Our room was very clean and nice. The swimming pool area was great I have a 3 year old and the small kiddy pool was great he had a blast playing in it. Nice area where it is located. It may not be right by the lake but it is way better priced then staying right by the lake. And it is not to far from down town Duluth.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank meko0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2014

You review was very much appreciated and will continue to strive for excellence with our personnel and property. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you and your family again when in Duluth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (575)
There are newer reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

432 - 438 of 575 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is a very clean property in a safe neighbourhood. You aren't close to downtown but you are close to the airport. The staff are super -friendly. This hotel is pet-friendly toward dogs. We needed early check in and they helped us out. It is a bit of a hike from the front desk to the elevators. The complimentary breakfast is better than average. There is plenty of shopping malls and big-box stores nearby as well as restaurants.

Room Tip: It's a hike from the front desk to the elevators. You might want to request a ground-floor room...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MJO_1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and we are happy to hear that you had a positive experience while a guest with us. We do hope to see you again when in the Duluth area to enjoy our property and surrounding area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

good hotel to stay at, staff was very accommodating to us as we were stuck in town with vehicle troubles and they got us a room early and with short notice. room was clean and well kept as was the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank M&B_Hall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Thank you for writing such a positive review on TripAdvisor. We are always happy to hear when someone has enjoyed our property. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

So, I was looking for a hotel in Duluth that was reasonably priced during summer. We had a rent a car so we didn't have to be in the "middle of it all". Very familiar with the Country Inn and Suites, because as a pilot, we stay at these places a lot. This time though, made here the choice even for a little mini vaca.

The price was very reasonable with a daily cancellation, with no fee, which is what we needed in case we couldn't make it. Most travel websites are "one and done" with charging you on the card right there. And, honestly we needed a little insurance that if we didn't make it, oh well.

Really nice property, right off of HWY 53 and Haines, so head east and your in downtown in about 10 min. Usual Country amenities, free breakfast, WIFI, cookies, coffee at all hours, and don't forget the waterslide (real waterslide, shot me out like a cannon!). And don't forget the service, from the initial call of "yeah, we can get you a good deal and cancel daily if you need", to the smiles every time I walked in the door. And to drop a name, Ryan was a great help to me and my family. My 6 year old daughter appreciated his attentiveness, because he helped her out one day enjoying the waterslide for the last time before we left to go back home.

Thanks buddy, I owe you!

So, yeah, don't want to pay 200+ in canal park and have a car? This is your place. Nice, reasonably priced, with amenities and multiple things to do for the kids and plenty of stores/restaurants in the area. Drop me a line if need be.

Room Tip: Always good to go high and outside. The elevators are in the middle.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank riveria-dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Thank you for such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We are always happy to hear when our guests have had a positive experience. I will definitely share your comments with Ryan and again thank you, and appreciate your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

I was pleased with the attention to details of staff at the desk and the cleanliness of my room. Modern facilities with fresh decorated rooms. A home away from home. Peaceful and restful sleep. Secure and safe.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
1  Thank Alice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate when our guests take the time to respond concerning theie stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again when in the Duluth area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Very Clean hotel, kids loved the slide, only problem was the strong chemicals used in pool. Hotel staff were great, loved the fact that we were on the third floor. The couch bed was very uncomfortable. Extra pillows and blankets were provided in the room without requesting. Breakfast was good, nice choices. Staff were great.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We will definitley discuss your review with our team and again want to thank you for your time writing this review and also for being our guest at the Country Inn & Suites Duluth North.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Good staff, service and food. The problem was with the air conditioning supplied through a vent across from, and above, the bed. Cold air loudly blasted at our heads when the AC was in the cooling mode. Maintenance could do nothing and all the rooms were full so we could not change--not that it would have been different. Luckily, the second night we could open the window for cool enough air.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
Thank edythew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We have taken a look at the AC/furnace in the room and have re-directed the air flow. We truly appreciate this information so we could fix the issue for our guests going forward. Thank you again and look forward to seeing you when in the Duluth area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
4.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
5.0 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#5 of 31 in Duluth
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 31 in Duluth
513 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
4.5 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North

Address: 4257 Haines Rd, Duluth, MN 55811-4135
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Duluth
#5 Family Hotel in Duluth
#6 Business Hotel in Duluth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range: $122 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Duluth North
Country Inn & Suites Duluth North Hotel Duluth
Country Inn Duluth
Duluth Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing