We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night; to attend a family birthday party in Duluth. We didn't use the pool area since it was such a short stay, but we were very pleased with our stay. I am difficult to please, and all the important things to me were taken care of. The hotel staff was very friendly. We used the shuttle service and that went well. Our room was clean, smelled nice and the heat worked well (not noisy like some hotels are). The bed was very comforable and there were multiple pillows - nice size. The breakfast and coffee were very good. There were cold cereal choices, some hot choices (make-your-own waffles, eggs, sausage, biscuits, etc) as well as coffee, milk, juice. We went to the Outback for dinner - right across the parking lot which was convenient. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MinnesotaRedrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We will continue to give all of our guests a warm and welcoming experience at the Country Inn & Suites Duluth North.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (602)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

475 - 481 of 602 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2014

Pros: Location, quiet, breakfast.
Cons: It was difficult to maintain a constant temperature in the room.

Checking in was a breeze - the front desk gave a courtesy call a few hours later to see if all was well (nice touch). Housekeeping were courteous and friendly - a smile goes a long way! Complementary breakfast had a nice selection to choose from, food that was suppose to be hot was hot, cold things were kept cold. Room was clean, dusted fairly well, air filter in HVAC unit is being maintained (not clogged up). Fridge and microwave were clean and functional. Bed linens were in good shape, towels were OK. WiFi was good, though a bit slow during peak times. Modern TV with good selection of channels (no HD programming - not a big deal for us). Pool was a bit too cool, hot tub was fine. Pool towels were clean, but pretty wore out.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Copper_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice letter concerning our hotel. We do try hard to make our guests feel comfortable and relaxed. Thank you again for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor and look forward to seeing you again when you are visiting the Duluth area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This isn't the finest place I've stayed but it was so darn nice on the inside. Fireplace in the lobby, seen many hotels with that but this one was really cozy. Had a pool, no big deal but I loved it. I know I sound like a total rube who hasn't gone anywhere but that doesn't mean this wasn't a nice place. Oh, no fans in the bathroom. Good place for pets and families.

Room Tip: No views to speak of unless you're into Gander Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twinswin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

We want to thank you for thaking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We will definitely share this with our staff and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our property. We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you to Duluth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

This is where our family stays regularly. They accept pets and have a good size pet walking area. The free breakfast is great, hot and cold items, and a wide variety. Staff is always friendly and accommodating. Pool area is great for the kids. Hotel is in great location, close to all the shopping and restaurants on the hill :)

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank KLM85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a positive review on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate your comments and do try our best to make all of our guests feel like they are at home when away from home. Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again when in Duluth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

My husband and I live 2 hours up the shore in Grand Marais, MN and anytime we have to stay overnight in Duluth we stay at the Country Inn. When we flew in to Duluth from Arizona on New Years Eve (during a snowstorm) at 11pm. No other hotel park and fly would come and pick us up from the airport (or it would be over an hour wait). We called the Country Inn, and the guy at the front desk actually grabbed one of their vans and came to pick us up right away! We stay here again when we missed our flight to go on our honeymoon. We got a few fun nights at the hotel with the waterslide all to ourselves. Tons of fun. And comfortable. And super friendly staff. Oh, and the continental breakfast is great too. Highly recommended for anyone staying in Duluth!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chelogna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

We want to thank you for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your willingness to share your experience and truly look foward to seeing you again when your travels bring you to Duluth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

The room was large and spacious. The bed was comfortable, and the room and bath were very clean. Only issue I had was the parking is somewhat limited, so tough to find a parking space when they are busy. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate your comments and will definitely share them with our staff. Thank you again, for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again when you travels bring you the the Duluth area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Good solid room, but the breakfasts were the worst i have ever had. Not enough selection, people were giving up on the toaster after 10 - 15 minutes. alot of complaints about the cold meat and frozen potatoes yes still frozen.

Adult time for the pool was adhered to by the staff which was commendable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1Hogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Care at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

We're so glad to hear that the rest of your stay went well, however, we do want to apologize for the trouble you had with breakfast! Our complimentary "Be Our Guest" breakfast is certainly meant to be a bright start to your day. We regret to hear that this was not your experience. We will certainly document this for management so they can review what may have happened that morning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
4.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
5.0 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#3 of 31 in Duluth
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
5.1 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 31 in Duluth
530 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North

Address: 4257 Haines Rd, Duluth, MN 55811-4135
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Duluth
#6 Business Hotel in Duluth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range: $114 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Duluth North
Country Inn & Suites Duluth North Hotel Duluth
Country Inn Duluth
Duluth Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing