We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice place to stay for a family retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay for a family retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Pros: Location, quiet, breakfast.
Cons: It was difficult to maintain a constant temperature in the room.

Checking in was a breeze - the front desk gave a courtesy call a few hours later to see if all was well (nice touch). Housekeeping were courteous and friendly - a smile goes a long way! Complementary breakfast had a nice selection to choose from, food that was suppose to be hot was hot, cold things were kept cold. Room was clean, dusted fairly well, air filter in HVAC unit is being maintained (not clogged up). Fridge and microwave were clean and functional. Bed linens were in good shape, towels were OK. WiFi was good, though a bit slow during peak times. Modern TV with good selection of channels (no HD programming - not a big deal for us). Pool was a bit too cool, hot tub was fine. Pool towels were clean, but pretty wore out.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Copper_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice letter concerning our hotel. We do try hard to make our guests feel comfortable and relaxed. Thank you again for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor and look forward to seeing you again when you are visiting the Duluth area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    115
    33
    13
    8
See reviews for
181
86
10
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Twin Cities, MN
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This isn't the finest place I've stayed but it was so darn nice on the inside. Fireplace in the lobby, seen many hotels with that but this one was really cozy. Had a pool, no big deal but I loved it. I know I sound like a total rube who hasn't gone anywhere but that doesn't mean this wasn't a nice place. Oh, no fans in the bathroom. Good place for pets and families.

Room Tip: No views to speak of unless you're into Gander Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twinswin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
We want to thank you for thaking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We will definitely share this with our staff and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our property. We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you to Duluth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, ON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

This is where our family stays regularly. They accept pets and have a good size pet walking area. The free breakfast is great, hot and cold items, and a wide variety. Staff is always friendly and accommodating. Pool area is great for the kids. Hotel is in great location, close to all the shopping and restaurants on the hill :)

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank KLM85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a positive review on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate your comments and do try our best to make all of our guests feel like they are at home when away from home. Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again when in Duluth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Marais, MN
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

My husband and I live 2 hours up the shore in Grand Marais, MN and anytime we have to stay overnight in Duluth we stay at the Country Inn. When we flew in to Duluth from Arizona on New Years Eve (during a snowstorm) at 11pm. No other hotel park and fly would come and pick us up from the airport (or it would be over an hour wait). We called the Country Inn, and the guy at the front desk actually grabbed one of their vans and came to pick us up right away! We stay here again when we missed our flight to go on our honeymoon. We got a few fun nights at the hotel with the waterslide all to ourselves. Tons of fun. And comfortable. And super friendly staff. Oh, and the continental breakfast is great too. Highly recommended for anyone staying in Duluth!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chelogna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
We want to thank you for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your willingness to share your experience and truly look foward to seeing you again when your travels bring you to Duluth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
126 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

The room was large and spacious. The bed was comfortable, and the room and bath were very clean. Only issue I had was the parking is somewhat limited, so tough to find a parking space when they are busy. Will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate your comments and will definitely share them with our staff. Thank you again, for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again when you travels bring you the the Duluth area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Good solid room, but the breakfasts were the worst i have ever had. Not enough selection, people were giving up on the toaster after 10 - 15 minutes. alot of complaints about the cold meat and frozen potatoes yes still frozen.

Adult time for the pool was adhered to by the staff which was commendable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Hogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Care at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
We're so glad to hear that the rest of your stay went well, however, we do want to apologize for the trouble you had with breakfast! Our complimentary "Be Our Guest" breakfast is certainly meant to be a bright start to your day. We regret to hear that this was not your experience. We will certainly document this for management so they can review what may have happened that morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill City, Oregon
Level Contributor
140 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

If you've got an early flight and need to stay over before heading to the airport, this is the closest Duluth hotel to the airport. My room was clean, sheets good, bed comfortable. I had the misfortune of being there on a very cold northern MN night and was stuck with a heater unit that "ticked" loudly all night long... thus not leading to a good night sleep for me, but that's probably just life in the winter in Duluth. Ironically, I had asked for a quiet room and the hotel didn't deliver due to the noisy heater. Otherwise, the hotel was fine. The front desk staff were very helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SelwaySteward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on TripAdvisor, we truly appreciate your comments and will use this to fine tune our property and personnel. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you when your travels bring you to the Duluth area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
4.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
5.1 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 316 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
4.8 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
5.0 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#13 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Address: 4257 Haines Road, Duluth, MN 55811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Duluth
#5 Family Hotel in Duluth
#7 Business Hotel in Duluth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Carlson, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Duluth North
Country Inn & Suites Duluth North Hotel Duluth
Country Inn Duluth
Duluth Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing