We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great go-to place to stay anytime you're in Duluth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Marais, MN
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great go-to place to stay anytime you're in Duluth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

My husband and I live 2 hours up the shore in Grand Marais, MN and anytime we have to stay overnight in Duluth we stay at the Country Inn. When we flew in to Duluth from Arizona on New Years Eve (during a snowstorm) at 11pm. No other hotel park and fly would come and pick us up from the airport (or it would be over an hour wait). We called the Country Inn, and the guy at the front desk actually grabbed one of their vans and came to pick us up right away! We stay here again when we missed our flight to go on our honeymoon. We got a few fun nights at the hotel with the waterslide all to ourselves. Tons of fun. And comfortable. And super friendly staff. Oh, and the continental breakfast is great too. Highly recommended for anyone staying in Duluth!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chelogna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
We want to thank you for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your willingness to share your experience and truly look foward to seeing you again when your travels bring you to Duluth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    127
    38
    13
    10
See reviews for
229
92
13
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
132 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

The room was large and spacious. The bed was comfortable, and the room and bath were very clean. Only issue I had was the parking is somewhat limited, so tough to find a parking space when they are busy. Will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate your comments and will definitely share them with our staff. Thank you again, for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again when you travels bring you the the Duluth area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Good solid room, but the breakfasts were the worst i have ever had. Not enough selection, people were giving up on the toaster after 10 - 15 minutes. alot of complaints about the cold meat and frozen potatoes yes still frozen.

Adult time for the pool was adhered to by the staff which was commendable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Hogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Care at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
We're so glad to hear that the rest of your stay went well, however, we do want to apologize for the trouble you had with breakfast! Our complimentary "Be Our Guest" breakfast is certainly meant to be a bright start to your day. We regret to hear that this was not your experience. We will certainly document this for management so they can review what may have happened that morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill City, Oregon
Level Contributor
147 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

If you've got an early flight and need to stay over before heading to the airport, this is the closest Duluth hotel to the airport. My room was clean, sheets good, bed comfortable. I had the misfortune of being there on a very cold northern MN night and was stuck with a heater unit that "ticked" loudly all night long... thus not leading to a good night sleep for me, but that's probably just life in the winter in Duluth. Ironically, I had asked for a quiet room and the hotel didn't deliver due to the noisy heater. Otherwise, the hotel was fine. The front desk staff were very helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SelwaySteward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on TripAdvisor, we truly appreciate your comments and will use this to fine tune our property and personnel. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you when your travels bring you to the Duluth area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel on a visit with our daughter that attends UMD. We arrived at the person at the desk was very friendly and asked what the purpose was for our visit to Duluth. I said that we were visiting our daughter and he said that they had a special rate for parents of UMD students. It was a lower rate than what I had originally booked the room, so that was a pleasant surprise. He also upgraded our room. The room was very clean and the staff very friendly. We didn't stay for breakfast so I can't comment on that. Our experience has always been a good one at this hotel. We make this hotel our first choice when looking for a room for the night, but it fills up fast. It is close to many restaurants, Miller Hill Mall and other shopping. A great place to stay and good cookies.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Northshorelover88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate it and will definitely share it with our management team and staff. We look forward to seeing you again when in Duluth visiting your UMD student.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

The purpose of our visit was to go on our annual Christmas shopping trip with another couple. Location was extremely convenient for the shopping trip. Room was very clean and quiet. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amilina88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank You, Thank You, Thank You, we truely appreciate you taking the time to give us such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor, we will definitley share your comments with our management team and staff. We look forward to seeing you again when in the Duluth area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
66 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Nothing remarkable about this hotel or its location, but good value and convenient. The rooms were quiet, clean and comfortable. There are numerous restaurants in the area, and it is close to the airport, and a short drive to downtown Duluth. I would stay here again on another trip to the Duluth area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank texastech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on TripAdvisor. We thank you for staying with us and look forward to seeing you again when visiting Duluth. We will definitely share this with our management team and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
4.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
5.1 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#10 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
4.6 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Address: 4257 Haines Rd, Duluth, MN 55811-4135
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Duluth
#7 Business Hotel in Duluth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Duluth North Hotel Duluth
Country Inn And Suites Duluth North
Country Inn Duluth
Duluth Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing