We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
North Dakota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just fine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Hotel was in a nice location, close to shopping and basics. Gas station and an Outback restaurant on the same block. Only about 10-15 minutes from Canal park and the lake. We chose this hotel primarily because it was moderately priced compared with the extremely high prices within Duluth, and the fact that it was pet friendly. We were there to spend time near the lake and hiking in the parks.
The rooms were clean, but starting to show wear. There were stains on the carpet and furniture. The lobby was nice, with coffee, tea, and cookies available 24 hours.
The breakfast was nice the first day (french toast, sausage, oatmeal, fresh fruit, cereal, muffins) but went downhill after that. The second day they still had fresh fruit but the eggs were powdered instead of real. The third day it was more powdered eggs, and this time instead of fresh fruit it was canned fruit cocktail. We left and went to Perkins.
The staff was pleasant and location was nice. I would stay again if we travel with our dog. Otherwise I'd probably stay nearer the water.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soxchica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We look forward to seeing you again when in Duluth to take advantage of our Pet Friendly Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    127
    38
    13
    10
See reviews for
230
92
13
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
125 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel. My husband had a meeting at UMD which was about 10 minutes away. The reviews said it was clean and we found it to be very clean as well. The rooms in Canal Park are so high priced and staying here, you can be there in less than 15 minutes. It is just around the corner from the mall and other shopping. There are many options in the area for dining and it is right next to Gander Mountain.

The carpet was clean clear to the edges and it passed my white sock test with flying colors. There were lots of stains on the carpet and dust ruffle and tub and lots of scuffs on the walls and doors but it was clean. The air conditioner was difficult to regulate and our room was either too hot or too cold but we had it figured out by the time we went to bed. The pillows looked so nice and fluffy but squished to completely flat so my husband used 2 to make one. I travel with my own pillow so no problem for me. The bed was not very comfortable but we were only there one night. To us, clean is the main thing. Our room overlooked a very small pond - not one of MN"s 10,000 lakes but nice to look at just the same. They had a very good breakfast with a nice variety and the dining area was very clean. There was iced lemon water and coffee out in the lobby which they kept stocked.

Our only issue was the hotel shares a parking lot with Outback Steakhouse. The hotel also had a lot of groups using rooms for meetings. We got in after 7:00 and there was no parking. We had to park way across the parking lot behind Outback. The people at the front desk were not overly concerned and said we could just leave our car there for the night. But we didn't like that idea, because we knew when the restaurant closed and the meetings were over, our car would be all alone in the back of a dark parking lot. We waited a couple of hours for the meetings to be over and moved the car closer. If I were a woman traveling alone, I would not have been comfortable with this situation. They need to have clearly marked parking for guests who are staying there and insist local people using the hotel for meetings to park in Outback's parking lot. That was our only complaint. Everyone we met who worked there was very friendly. We would stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNClean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to give us a review on TripAdvisor. We have shared your comments with our team and will address all of your concerns so that your next visit with us will be a positive one. Thank you again for the review and see you next time your in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

The Country Inn Suites is better than the Econolodge. Both are located near the Duluth airport, and the cost is similar. Nicer facilities, nicer rooms (although starting to get dated). Neither one has a shuttle to get you anywhere, so you need a taxi if you don't have a car.

Room Tip: quiet rooms on 2nd floor far from elevator
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We truly appreciate that you took the time to write a review on TripAdvisor concerning your stay with us. We do look forward to your next stay with us so we can show you our property and personnel at 100% guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk River, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

I was in Duluth for work. Great experience at this country inn. Would definitely stay there again. The manager Janet was very friendly and helpful with some questions I had on my bill. The breakfast was very good. I thoroughly enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhabdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Your review was awesome and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with TripAdvisor. So happy we could answrer your questions while you were a guest with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLOOMINGTON
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very nice stay. Room was large. Bath large, counter large. Very clean. Heat/air worked very well. Check-in staff was very welcoming, very accommodating. Nice staff, nice large clean rooms, all the amenities, makes for a very nice stay. Will stay at this hotel again!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abbie320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We will definitely share your comments with our staff and look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We enjoyed our stay during the Northshore Inline Marathon. The rooms are spacious and really quiet. The Hotel was full and we didn't hear a peep!
Clean, Great breakfast with Two Waffle Irons. Nice front desk people too.
Close to a yummy Australian steak house.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review on TripAdvisors. Hope your Inline was a success and look forward to seeing you again next year, the Inline is one of my favorite events in this area. I will definitely share your review with our mangement team and staff, thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had a 5:45am flight out of Duluth Airport the next day, so we wanted to stay close to the airport. This place was great. When we walked thru the door, we were greeted immediately by front desk staff. The lobby was very nice and had coffee, tea and cookies for guests. This was a nice touch. Check-in was very fast. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Unfortunately, we were not able to take advantage of the breakfast since we had to be at the airport at 4:45am. We were very pleased with Country Inn and Suites and would definitely stay there again and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NyLbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on TripAdvisor, we greatly appreciate it. We were happy to hear about your positive experience and will definitely share this with our management team and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
4.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
5.1 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 32 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#11 of 32 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
4.6 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Address: 4257 Haines Rd, Duluth, MN 55811-4135
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Duluth
#7 Business Hotel in Duluth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Duluth North Hotel Duluth
Country Inn And Suites Duluth North
Country Inn Duluth
Duluth Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing