We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Enjoyable Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Ashland, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We enjoyed our stay during the Northshore Inline Marathon. The rooms are spacious and really quiet. The Hotel was full and we didn't hear a peep!
Clean, Great breakfast with Two Waffle Irons. Nice front desk people too.
Close to a yummy Australian steak house.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review on TripAdvisors. Hope your Inline was a success and look forward to seeing you again next year, the Inline is one of my favorite events in this area. I will definitely share your review with our mangement team and staff, thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    121
    36
    13
    10
See reviews for
207
89
11
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had a 5:45am flight out of Duluth Airport the next day, so we wanted to stay close to the airport. This place was great. When we walked thru the door, we were greeted immediately by front desk staff. The lobby was very nice and had coffee, tea and cookies for guests. This was a nice touch. Check-in was very fast. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Unfortunately, we were not able to take advantage of the breakfast since we had to be at the airport at 4:45am. We were very pleased with Country Inn and Suites and would definitely stay there again and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NyLbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on TripAdvisor, we greatly appreciate it. We were happy to hear about your positive experience and will definitely share this with our management team and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Service was very good. Breakfast was very good. Room was clean. These are all things we've come to expect from Country Inn, and we've never been disappointed. (They ran out of front-desk cookies, but I suppose that's just as well!)

The pool area was nice. Someone else on here thought that the staff too sternly enforced the water slide rules, which, before I saw the slide, I thought was maybe a little mean. But after seeing it, I can understand why they have the rules they do. It really is not made for small children.

My only complaint is that the HVAC unit in the bedroom is EXTREMELY LOUD. Every time it kicks on, it would wake me up. My sleep quality was terrible, especially the first night. Despite this, I would probably stay here again next time we visit Duluth.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globe199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honesty and will definitely express your concerns with our Maintenance Dept. Thank you again for staying with us at the Country Inn & Suites Duluth North.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Staff were very helpful when booking the room & when checking in...We asked for a playpen for the room for our daughter & it was brought up before we even made it in from the vehicle with our luggage...
Very clean hotel, the rooms are spacious & well kept.
We will be back!

Room Tip: The King Jacuzzi suite was good value for the money compared to other hotels in the area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roxtar19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a wonderful rewiew for us on TripAdvisor. We definiley appreciate your time and consideration for our property and personnel. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bethel, MN
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I go to Duluth on business at least a couple times a year. I have found this place to be consistently clean and comfortable. Always a nice chair to relax in, not just the office chair from the desk. I have to do hours of work on my computer in the room and they have wired and wireless internet. This morning at breakfast I had eggs benedict! And it was high quality food! Fresh cut fruit. Plus, of course all the normal breakfast things that most places have. The staff is very friendly. I can't recall ever having to call the front desk for anything, no can just count on everything being in good order. Duluth lodging can be pricey in the summer so if you're going to pay it, it's really nice to know you'll be happy with what you get.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNjohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for chosing us when your business travels bring you to Duluth. We loved your review and will definitley share it with our staff. Thank you again, for taking the time to write this great review on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We spent the weekend of August 16,17,and 18th with our two sons and families for a family wedding on the beach of Lake Superior. This location worked well for commuting to and from Park Point. The pool was the "hit" of the weekend with the kids and the slide was great fun!
I didn't expect a employee in the pool area to keep watch, but it was an added touch !
The breakfast foods were great and a real time saver for a busy weekend. Since our last names matched, we were given rooms within a few feet of each other which was great for the grandkids to visit back and forth. They loved that !! An added bonus for the parents too !

We would definitely stay here again, keep the Canal Park accommodations for those with lots of $$ to waste !!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marlys k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us while in the Duluth area. We will definitely share you comments with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkirk, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I booked a room at this Hotel heading out East on Aug 6th, 2013 and again Aug 15th, 2013 heading back.Great price and value. Exterior was well kept. Lobby was clean and staff were very friendly and efficient. Rooms were very clean. Beds were comfortable and very clean. Washrooms were clean and well supplied. Checked out pool - nice, exercise room - nice, lobby coffee and tea was convenient.
I would definintely stay here again and would recommned this hotel as a great value for your hard earned cash.

Breakfast was pretty good too.

Room Tip: you could ask to check out a room or two before comitting to a room but for us we ended up with dece...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 149BruceS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us such a great review on TripAdvisor. We love to hear all the positive comments and will definitely share this with our management team and staff. Again, thank you for the review and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
5.1 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 365 reviews
4.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#18 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 305 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
4.8 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Address: 4257 Haines Rd, Duluth, MN 55811-4135
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Duluth
#5 Family Hotel in Duluth
#7 Business Hotel in Duluth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Carlson, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Duluth North Hotel Duluth
Country Inn And Suites Duluth North
Country Inn Duluth
Duluth Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing