We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Out of the Way, but Worth the Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Marshfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Out of the Way, but Worth the Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

This was my first time staying here. I would go back in a heartbeat. The rooms are very comfortable and quiet. Never heard anyone else in the building during my entire stay. The check in/out staff wonderful and very friendly. I could not have asked for a better place to stay.

The only reason I say this is a little out of the way is that it is on the north side of Duluth and I thought a bit hard to find. Nothing that my GPS couldn't help me out with.

There are many restaurants, a grocery store and shopping nearby.

I was in town for a class at the College of St. Scholastica. The hotel is about a 5-10 minute drive from both UMD and the College of St. Scholastica. Close enough without being in the middle of college housing. Because I wasn't in town long, I didn't get a chance to use the pool or eat breakfast but both looked (and smelled, in the case of breakfast) great.

I will definitely be back here the next time I am in Duluth.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to have a room on the parking lot side. The night I stayed, I never heard anythi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about us on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate you staying with us and am very happy to hear that it was a positive one. The staff at the Country Inn & Suites Duluth North gives 100%,and was, again, happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to seeing you agian when your travels bring you back to Duluth MN.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    132
    43
    15
    10
See reviews for
244
95
14
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cass Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Clean, comfortable and friendly - What more can you ask for? I was able to enjoy the fitness center, have a quick breakfast all before work. Easy access to many resturants and shopping. I will deffinetly chose to stay here again for my next trip!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tlhendry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for the great review on Trip Advisor. Our business clients are very importmant to us and very happy that we could fill your needs while on the road and away from home. Look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times, whether it be for a visit to Duluth or to stay overnight before I fly out the next day. It is in a great location, one mile away from the airport. Very comfy beds, front desk staff is nice, just a great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to respond on TripAdvisor concerning your stay with us at the Country Inn & Suites Duluth North. We were happy to hear that you had a positive experience and look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back to Duluth, Mn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Nice clean hotel; very quiet. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Hotel is close to shopping and many restaurants; Outback Steakhouse shares the same parking lot as the hotel. Good selection for breakfast. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northshorelover88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to submitt a review on TripAdvisor concerning your stay with us at the Country Inn & Suites Duluth North. We have a great team and try very hard to give all of our guests a 100% with our property and personnel. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you in the future when your plans bring you back to Duluth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

The Minnesota Area Lutheran Marriage Encounter has been booking weekends at this location for years. We have been involved for only two years but every time we are on the presenting team and stay here we are impressed. The staff is friendly, the breakfast is great, and the rooms are clean and comfortable. We held a weekend recently at the Holiday Inn in Alexandria and experienced a conference room that was not ready for us, cold (and late) food, and a multitude of other issues. We will NOT be returning to that location. Thank you to the entire staff of this fine lodge for another outstanding weekend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMEsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to respond to Trip Advisor, we do know how valuable your time is and it is always a pleasure to have your group come and stay with us, we truly enjoy it. We again, thankyou for staying with us and look forward to see you and your group again in October.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

The location is great in regards to the shopping (mall, kohls, target, SAMs etc). There are lots of restaurants around and the complementary breakfast in the morning is great!! The staff are friendly and helpful. The pool is great for the kids. The rooms are spacious and clean. Comfy beds. What more do you need?

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ibucourtney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We couldn't agree with you more, we think we have a wonderful hotel and are pleased to be able to supply our guests with a great product and quality service. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Four of us stayed here for one night recently on the way home to Ontario from Florida, so we arrived late and left early but all of us thought the hotel was excellent value for the money ($117 total, including taxes). The hotel room was clean and comfortable, but it's the breakfast that all of us appreciated. There is fresh fruit salad and yogurt, a big pot of made-from-scratch oatmeal and fresh make-it-yourself waffles, along with the standard breakfast cereals and bagels. And best of all there isn't a disposable dish in sight (although they are available on request). Very much a 5 star breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank writingwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a great review on Trip Advisor, we truly apprciate it. We were also very happy to hear that you had a positive experience and look forward to seeing you again when you travels bring you back to Duluth. Thank you agin for choising the Country Inn & Suites Duluth North for you hotel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
4.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
5.1 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 32 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
4.8 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
4.6 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Address: 4257 Haines Road, Duluth, MN 55811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Duluth
#7 Business Hotel in Duluth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Duluth North Hotel Duluth
Country Inn And Suites Duluth North
Country Inn Duluth
Duluth Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing