We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay if you are going to Duluth to do some shopping.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Thunder Bay
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay if you are going to Duluth to do some shopping.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

The location is great in regards to the shopping (mall, kohls, target, SAMs etc). There are lots of restaurants around and the complementary breakfast in the morning is great!! The staff are friendly and helpful. The pool is great for the kids. The rooms are spacious and clean. Comfy beds. What more do you need?

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ibucourtney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We couldn't agree with you more, we think we have a wonderful hotel and are pleased to be able to supply our guests with a great product and quality service. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    136
    45
    15
    10
See reviews for
260
97
14
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Four of us stayed here for one night recently on the way home to Ontario from Florida, so we arrived late and left early but all of us thought the hotel was excellent value for the money ($117 total, including taxes). The hotel room was clean and comfortable, but it's the breakfast that all of us appreciated. There is fresh fruit salad and yogurt, a big pot of made-from-scratch oatmeal and fresh make-it-yourself waffles, along with the standard breakfast cereals and bagels. And best of all there isn't a disposable dish in sight (although they are available on request). Very much a 5 star breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank writingwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a great review on Trip Advisor, we truly apprciate it. We were also very happy to hear that you had a positive experience and look forward to seeing you again when you travels bring you back to Duluth. Thank you agin for choising the Country Inn & Suites Duluth North for you hotel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night, just to have a springtime getaway. We got a call a day before our check-in to tell us the water slide would be out of order. It was a disappointment, because that's part of why we chose this facility, but we appreciated the notification. Then when we got there, we were pleasantly surprised to find that the waterslide was fixed. The facility was clean, all the staff members we dealt with were very friendly and helpful, and my advance request to have a room in a quiet part of the hotel was honored--we had a peaceful night. The only downside was that the pillows had definitely seen better days, and the mattresses are close to ready for replacement. Other than that, it was a great stay, and the service was excellent. We'll be back again someday.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank P J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review with TripAdvisor concerning your stay with us. We sill definitely share this with our staff and hope to see you again in the future when a "Getaway" is calling.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

I spent a week at this hotel and my stay was absolutely wonderful. I had a one bedroom suite on the third floor. It was very quite and spacious. The room was well lit and furnished nicely. The breakfast was very nice and had hot items that would change every day. The staff at this hotel is some of the best I have seen.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dugan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a great review on TripAdvisor, we truly appreciate it. Was happy to hear your experience was positive, and yes, we do have the best staff around. They all work extremely hard to making our property and personnel a 100% guest satisfaction experiennce. Thank you again, and hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Duluth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
148 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed overnight after flying into Duluth. Really close to the airport and other shops and services. Great hospitality and they make you feel welcome. My room had a microwave and fridge which is really nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsalot35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for the vote of confidence. Our goal is to make all of our guests feel like they are at "Home away from Home". We look forward to your next visit with us, and again, thank you for stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The people next to us spent most of the night making a lot of noise. I complained three times. Each time, the front desk person spoke with them. It did not solve the problem, and I did not sleep. Since it is not a cheap hotel and no discount was offered, I was not happy with the stay. I did complain privately, but the response was that they had done their best. What do other hotels do? Do people have a right to be so loud that others cannot possibly sleep?

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank tiredDuluth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your review concerning your stay with us. We take customer service very seriously and try to improve upon our guest satisfaction with our property and personnel whenever we can. We do apologize for your concerns and feel that all feedback is important be it good or bad and will use this to improve our performance, we again, do apologize for the inconveniences you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We go to Duluth to shop a few times a year. His is by far the best place we have stayed. The suites offer that extra room that is needed. Service was great and the breakfast was first class. I am recommending it to all my friends who travel to Duluth!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your story and experiene with Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing you again when in Duluth. We will definitely share your comments with our staff, the ones that made your stay a memorable one, and the ones that make us who we are.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
4.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
5.1 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
4.5 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#9 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Address: 4257 Haines Road, Duluth, MN 55811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Duluth
#5 Family Hotel in Duluth
#7 Business Hotel in Duluth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Duluth North Hotel Duluth
Country Inn And Suites Duluth North
Country Inn Duluth
Duluth Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing