We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Very friendly staff. One of the main bridges connecting Duluth to Superior was closed to repairs and the desk clerk explained how we would need to detour etc. Really appreciated this. Slept great. Nice and quiet - good breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marchand197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    115
    33
    13
    8
See reviews for
183
86
10
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
281 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is a great place to stay. The staff are friendly, professional, and do their jobs well. My room was in outstanding condition as the property is only a year old. Can't quite understand previous review stating room was outdated. Nice little laundry area. Cozy fireplace in lobby and breakfast wait staff really hustle. If I ever get this far north again, will stay here a second time.

Room Tip: I was on the front facing parking and highway and still very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Motion22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your complimentary review that you posted on Tripadvisor. We opened our doors in October of 2004 and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team truely tries to make each and every one of our guest feel like they are at home away from home. We look forward to seeing you again in the future when your travels bring you back to Duluth.

Sincerely
Janet Broin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel and it;s staff understand the value of taking care of it's customers. The condition of the property is outstanding. The only miss was that the girl working the breakfast on Sunday Aug 26 was late in meeting their advertised 7 AM start time. Consequently tthe oatmeal was half cooked and everthing else was 10 to 15 minutes late. The fruit entry consisted of fruit cocktail...no apples or bananas offered.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roseyswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Hotel is a little dated, but clean. Rooms were nice and staff very friendly. The room charge was a little high at $149 per nite. But great access to Duluth airport. The shuttle starts later in the morning so they hire a taxi at no charge to take you to the airport. The outback steakhouse is across the parking lot, and a convenience store within walking distance.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2012dae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Il
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Just returned from a five-night stay at this hotel (8/5 through 8/12/2012). Would highly recommend; hotel is conveniently located. Entire hotel is spotless, staff pleasant and accommodating. Breakfast choices varied and breakfast staff made sure tables were clean and food replenished as needed. We will definitely stay at this hotel on our next visit. We don't usually sleep very well in hotels but the mattress was great and we got a good night sleep each night. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Overall a good stay. The first night the tv & internet service was down for several hours, & internet was still out the next day. So we couldn't plan our day activities. The front desk seemed irritated when questioned & I think they could have offered a small discount for the inconvenience.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank birdie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

When travelling through Duluth or taking a flight out we always stay here. The whole staff makes you feel very welcome. Make sure that you take advantage of the awesome breakfast provided by Kim from Monday to Friday (breakfast is also available on the weekend but Kim is not there). She does a fantastic job and is such a wonderful and friendly person. The Outback Steakhouse across the parking lot never fails to be great every time we eat in or get our meal "to go" to eat in our room. This hotel is also pet friendly which is an added bonus as my husband and I travel with our two dogs and they are always welcome here. The "pet friendly" rooms are extremely clean and well kept.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJC6031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
4.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
5.1 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 321 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
4.8 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
5.0 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#14 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Address: 4257 Haines Rd, Duluth, MN 55811-4135
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Duluth
#5 Family Hotel in Duluth
#7 Business Hotel in Duluth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Duluth North
Country Inn & Suites Duluth North Hotel Duluth
Country Inn Duluth
Duluth Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing