We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2011

The hotel was very nice. We had a room with a hot tub which was was a plus. Everything was clean. Hotel staff wasn't very friendly but they were efficient. The pool area has a water slide and a kiddie pool. Breakfast was great!

Room Tip: Book on the radisson website. They always have good deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mshoppus182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (592)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

555 - 561 of 592 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2011

There really isn't too much to talk to about the hotel. The is cordial and they place is exactly what you would expect from the hotel chain. Breakfast for free is a plus, has a good selection. The fridge and microwave in the room is also a bonus. Was there on a Fall color tour so we didn't spend much time in the hotel. The hot tub is nice and big and worked great after a day of hiking. I would come to the hotel again, but I would insist that it have to be this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elgmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Stayed here because of close proximity to airport. (Stayed 3 nights out of a 12 day vacation at beginning and end) Got in after 11pm, the hotel paid for cab from airport. Breakfast was great, wide variety of foods. Staff very pleasant. Nice quite business office for internet access with laser printer. Great for printing boarding passes etc.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lf479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Stayed for two nights at this hotel. The room was clean, bed comfortable, and pool area hot tub nice and big. I did find the cost a little high, ($169 USD per night during the week), given the distance from downtown. Proximity to Gander Mountain was nice, and Outback Restaurant is across the parking lot if you want to indulge and not worry about driving.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trickygoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Had a Crowdcut deal to use, the kids had never been up to Duluth so decided to spend a day there and stay overnight.

The front desk girl didnt really know the best way to get there. I was on my way, following my gps and i called to make sure i was going the right way and she had no idea where i was... I asked, are you at the top of the hill, and she goes, "what hill"!!! 75% of the damn city seems like its located on a hill and she doesnt realize she is on a hill. well i got frustrated, and turned around, coming "down the hill" (that i wasnt on)--according to her, there is not hill in Duluth... she had us go through downtown, and around and "up the hills" other side i figured out. I get there and she tells me she had no idea where we were. Oh yea, i meant to mention she asked me if we were in Duluth at one point while giving me directions, and yea, thats when i got frustrated. No... we are in Wisconsin Dells...Anyway, So we finally make it there, and check in and i find a map to see where we were, and come to find out we were actually on the street the hotel was on,--as our gps said, we just had to follow it up the hill and we would have hit it. I guess she goes to work and home, never explores any other part of the cit. which is a block away, so she doesnt know that she is actually on a hill or that there is more than one way to get to the hotel.

The pool is really shallow, as i had read on other reviews, how do you have a slide that lands you in 4feet of water? Ends up just being a fancy slip n slide.. another complaint i had read was about the chloring, they definitely overuse the chlorine it seems.. Eyes burned all nite--even after leaving the pool. And you couldnt even stay sittin in the hot tub, it felt like someone was pouring the chlorine in your eyes over there.

Breakfast was good, had more than i expected. Eggs, and cheese and some kind of meat.

The suite was a little dissapointing, i thought there was a separate bdrm according to the picture, but there wasnt. it was the bathroom in the pic. Other than that, it was a nice clean room.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ldybug252000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

This hotel is located about 10 minutes from downtown duluth. It is located by miller hill mall. the hotel was very clean, quiet.breakfast was very good, has nice workout area (small), pool area has a water slide, pool itself a little small. The bed was very comfortable (king standard room), pillows were even ok. The shampoos and lotion given to you were name brand shampoos and lotion. Elevator, ice machine, vending machine I believe are on each floor. Second floor for sure.
I would for sure stay here again and not pay full price in Canal Park.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brillo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel. Both stays were nice. It is conveniently located far enough off the highway to not hear any traffic. The construction of the building also helps keep the noise down. The hotel and our rooms were clean. Breakfast was on par for these types of hotels. The breakfast area was congested the Sunday morning we were there. No complaints or unwanted surprises. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
4.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
5.0 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#3 of 31 in Duluth
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 31 in Duluth
524 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
4.5 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North

Address: 4257 Haines Rd, Duluth, MN 55811-4135
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Duluth
#6 Business Hotel in Duluth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range: $117 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Duluth North
Country Inn & Suites Duluth North Hotel Duluth
Country Inn Duluth
Duluth Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing