We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
North Shore Cottages
Nearby Hotels
$220
$198
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $232/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Park Point Marina Inn(Duluth)(Great Value!)
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn West(Duluth)(Great Value!)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of $154/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $223/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park(Duluth)(Great Value!)
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$138
$100
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canal Park Lodge(Duluth)
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveler rating
11
11
4
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
11
4
0
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 27 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We have mixed feelings about our stay here. At first glance, we were happy to be in these old fashioned little cabins. The good news is that we slept well and the shower was hot. On the other hand, the entire property seems to be in disrepair. The cabins are just falling apart - sagging roofs, chipping paint, even the sink handles didn't match and were on backwards! That's just a bit too much. The whole place needs some TLC. We don't mind rustic, and actually wanted it to be rustic but expecterd some homey touches. We couldn't wait to leave and wouldn't come back here unless the property was kept up better. A bit of paint and TLC would go a long way. The location is good if you want a great lake view though.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank AdirondackTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Based on the review I'd read here on TripAdvisor, as well as the photos on North Shore Cottages website, I anticipated the lodgings to be small, a bit dated, but clean, quaint, and well maintained. And they were, in fact, all of those things, with the exception of well maintained. Chipping paint and water stained and drooping ceilings were difficult to overlook. The deck was very small, and the shower in the bathroom was just a plastic stall shower.

None of this was enough to make me want to demand my money back or anything, but I was a bit disappointed. I was expected the cottages to be kept up more than they were. That being said, the owner was very pleasant, the bed was comfortable, and the location was great. Not sure that I'd recommend this to anybody for the price that we paid for it, and I probably wouldn't stay here again, but it wasn't a total dive.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GabeKline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

I love these cottages. They are small and simple, and exactly what I want. Unobstructed views of Lake Superior, quiet, comfy beds. Bathrooms are small but hot water is instantaneous. Coffee maker, fridge, microwave...what else do you need? Quick drive into Duluth, but you feel away from it all. A great bargain!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank celesteandrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

We stayed here because - fortunately - hotels right in Duluth were full (for the Tall Ships event). This was wonderfully lucky. I echo all of the observations of earlier reviews. Each cabin looks like a duplex - but on the inside, it is a bedroom, a "living room", and a bathroom and tiny kitchen set-up (i.e., frig, microwave, sink) in between. We didn't get to try the fire pit but noted the free firewood still available. The TV is digital reception; I had to use the remote and have the TV rescan the airwaves to get the half-dozen or so channels, so that is basic but the TV is flatscreen. Better is the fact that a DVD player is attached and about a dozen DVD movies were stashed in the TV stand for free guest use. There is also a basket of magazines to leaf through. The living area had a couch and an easy chair. The bed was very comfortable. Lovely stay. I hope to come back. (It looked like maybe the place is up for sale...hope new owners keep it as well maintained.)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kosmo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

The cabins are cute, clean, and just a all around nice place to stay.
The owners are there IF you need/want anything but they let you relax and just enjoy.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Northshoreaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews