We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Go-To Place in Duluth”

Black Woods Grill & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Black Woods Grill & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 285 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: This is fine dining for everyone. A place where you'll find a favorite dish and a dining experience that fits your personality. All Black Woods restaurants feature a full bar and Happy Hour specials. Visit us in Duluth, Proctor or Two Harbors.
Reviewed July 12, 2016

This is one of those go-to places for us in Duluth. The atmosphere is old-wood, supper club. It's a little dark in the bar and interior dining rooms, but ask for window seating and you'll find a fantastic view of Lake Superior. The one draw to the bar, however, is the working model train, winding around the room, past various North Shore attractions. The food and drinks at Black Woods are superb. The portions are large and the presentation is delightful. There is lots of variety, so everyone will find something to love.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank minicooper452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Woods Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2016

"A Go-To Place in Duluth" - thank you for this wonderful review! We are so happy that our locally-owned restaurant has become a "must- stop" at in Duluth for you and that you enjoy our atmosphere, views of Lake Superior, food, and drinks :-). We greatly appreciate your business to our Black Woods restaurant and hope to see you back in again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

486 - 490 of 1,329 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2016

Went there after work for a drink mmmmmm, the pineapple shot was great, should get a peace of pineapple with it :)

Date of visit: July 2016
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank maryjanezippy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Woods Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2016

Mary, thank you for your review! We are excited that you enjoyed our pineapple shot after a long work day :-). We appreciate your recommendation of putting some sliced pineapple with it and will definitely speak with our managers about it! Thank you for your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2016

My boyfriend and I ordered right when we sat down. The waitress didn't bring us our drink (waters) it wasn't till 10 to 15 mins later when I finally hadecided to We ordered right when we sat down. The for them. The food was good but my boyfriends was cold because when bring it out she forgot to grab mayo and the correct side that he paid for. After wait again about 10mins for her to come back so we could tell what we needed I finally went and asked the lady at the front desk if she could help and she was very nice and got our food very quickly.

Date of visit: July 2016
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Andrea Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Woods Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2016

Andrea, thank you for your honesty and your review. We are so disappointed to read of your service experience at our restaurant. This is not how our guests should be served when they are in to dine with us, so we are so sorry that this resulted in a negative experience. We would love to speak with you directly regarding your visit to learn more about it. Please send your name, phone number, and title of review to catherinec@blackwoods.com so that we can get in contact with you. We look forward to speaking with you and thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2016

The Lake Superior whitefish was "perched" atop a cup of mashed potatoes and a few thin sprigs of asparagus. The whole mass was swimming in some sort of sauce that was mostly melted butter. The potatoes were disintegrating into the grease. Release this catch!

Date of visit: July 2016
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank 619pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2016

Love the house beer every time I am at Duluth make a special time to stop at Black Woods and enjoy your beer !

Date of visit: July 2016
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank cpyeager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Woods Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2016

Wow - thank you so much for a five- star review! We LOVE to read that you make a point to stop in to see us every time you are in Duluth for a glass of our Black Woods Forest Ale :-). Cheers to you and thank you for your continued business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Woods Grill & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Black Woods Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing